Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2016, 03:15 PM   #1
MoeIv
 
MoeIv's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Qatar
Posts: 644
Exclamation TH400 reverse lights - HELP

I've recently done a 6l80e to a th400 swap, Im using a jakes level 3 trans and a b&m outlaw shifter.
Cars starts up fine, speedo works but the reverse lights don't come on when the shifter is in the R position.

Any help out there??
MoeIv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 04:41 PM   #2
LS7 427
10.11 @ 136.32
 
LS7 427's Avatar
 
Drives: Black & Yellow 2SS/RS LPE LS7 427
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Redcliff, Alberta
Posts: 958
That issue has been beat to death with all of us who have done the 6L80 to TH400 swap. No fix out there that I'm aware of. No reverse lights and no cruise control are the two functions missing with this swap.
__________________
My Build Journal

Built, Tuned and Maintained By........
LS7 427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 05:50 PM   #3
pancherj
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Central PA
Posts: 427
Can't you just wire the reverse lights separately from the stock harness? All they need is power and a ground. Ground can be through a switch on the shifter. Just a thought...
pancherj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 07:14 PM   #4
camarosspower

 
camarosspower's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Port Arthur, Tx
Posts: 1,858
Mine doesn't work either. The guys that done the swap said they could install a switch but I'll do that if it won't pass inspection. Also no cc and speedometer works but not accurate. Stock trans gauge doesn't work either
camarosspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 02:43 AM   #5
MoeIv
 
MoeIv's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Qatar
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarosspower View Post
Mine doesn't work either. The guys that done the swap said they could install a switch but I'll do that if it won't pass inspection. Also no cc and speedometer works but not accurate. Stock trans gauge doesn't work either
I don't mind the others not working I just need the reverse lights to pass inspection
MoeIv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 02:46 AM   #6
MoeIv
 
MoeIv's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Qatar
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by pancherj View Post
Can't you just wire the reverse lights separately from the stock harness? All they need is power and a ground. Ground can be through a switch on the shifter. Just a thought...
I'll give that a try but I think that only works with the m6 to th400 swap. I heard somewhere that it messes with the canbus for us auto guys
MoeIv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 03:04 AM   #7
MoeIv
 
MoeIv's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Qatar
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS7 427 View Post
That issue has been beat to death with all of us who have done the 6L80 to TH400 swap. No fix out there that I'm aware of. No reverse lights and no cruise control are the two functions missing with this swap.
All the threads I've looked at were around a year old so I figured that there might be a solution for that by now. I've looked around in the g8 forums as well, one guy seemed to get the reverse lights working but that thread died and no response from the op
MoeIv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 07:53 AM   #8
pancherj
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Central PA
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoeIv View Post
I'll give that a try but I think that only works with the m6 to th400 swap. I heard somewhere that it messes with the canbus for us auto guys
I think if you bypass the stock harness altogether and run a new ground (from your switch on the shifter) and a new power, it should work. It's worth a try anyway. You may have to unhook the stock plug from the reverse light (not just splice into it).

Those of us who swapped from a TR6060 are definitely spoiled!!
pancherj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 08:26 AM   #9
MoeIv
 
MoeIv's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Qatar
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by pancherj View Post
I think if you bypass the stock harness altogether and run a new ground (from your switch on the shifter) and a new power, it should work. It's worth a try anyway. You may have to unhook the stock plug from the reverse light (not just splice into it).

Those of us who swapped from a TR6060 are definitely spoiled!!
You're definitely spoiled! I was thinking of doing somerhing like that
Attached Images
 
MoeIv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2016, 10:21 AM   #10
pancherj
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Central PA
Posts: 427
That's exactly what I had envisioned for your car. Use the reverse-detent microswitch to ground one side of the circuit and power the other side from the fuse panel. I would unhook the stock connector at the reverse light and not even mess with it. That way it shouldn't mess with the canbus at all.

On my car, I haven't wired the neutral-detent microswitch up yet to control the neutral lock out. So, my car will technically try to start in any gear.
pancherj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 05:16 PM   #11
MoeIv
 
MoeIv's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Qatar
Posts: 644
UPDATE: Reverse lights finally work using pancherj's method, pretty straight forward really.
However you'll need a microswitch if you haven't gotten one already
MoeIv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2016, 11:02 PM   #12
pancherj
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Central PA
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoeIv View Post
UPDATE: Reverse lights finally work using pancherj's method, pretty straight forward really.
However you'll need a microswitch if you haven't gotten one already
Glad it worked for you!
pancherj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 09:47 AM   #13
LS7 427
10.11 @ 136.32
 
LS7 427's Avatar
 
Drives: Black & Yellow 2SS/RS LPE LS7 427
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Redcliff, Alberta
Posts: 958
Nice job guys. I installed the microswitch when I did my swap but never hooked up the reverse lights Any chance you could elaborate on exactly where your wiring is running to/from? Possibly pictures?
__________________
My Build Journal

Built, Tuned and Maintained By........
LS7 427 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2016, 11:13 AM   #14
MoeIv
 
MoeIv's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Qatar
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS7 427 View Post
Nice job guys. I installed the microswitch when I did my swap but never hooked up the reverse lights Any chance you could elaborate on exactly where your wiring is running to/from? Possibly pictures?
I'm not able to give you the exact details because I explained the process to my local electrician and had him do the work. However you should locate the reverse light wires from the back and hook them up to the switch itself then run a relay because the switch can't handle two reverse lights.

I have some pics I hope they'll help I'll try to get more later on if needed
Attached Images
 
MoeIv is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.