Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ADM PERFORMANCE
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > Off-topic Discussions

Off-topic Discussions Discuss any off-topic subjects with other members.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2010, 08:31 PM   #1
2ndgenz28
Thread Killer
 
2ndgenz28's Avatar
 
Drives: All Black
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NWO Toledo Area
Posts: 4,761
Send a message via ICQ to 2ndgenz28 Send a message via AIM to 2ndgenz28 Send a message via Yahoo to 2ndgenz28
Finally after all these year I bought a APC UPS and you should too if you don't have

Finally after all these year I bought a APC UPS and you should too if you don't have one yet.

Only cost $60 at bestbuy and I got 32mins of run time plus voltage drops n surge protection.

model ES 550

Being summer time we get those power drops more often, so quick at time the TV and such doesn't even flicker but enough to shut off the computer.

Now no more of that which I know has to piss it off.

$60 well spent, cheaper then computer parts or data recovery.
2ndgenz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 08:33 PM   #2
SlingShot


 
SlingShot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 - #670
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seminole, Fl.
Posts: 7,009
I've got six of them, and all were a buzzing today but did what they were made to do ...
__________________
SlingShot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 09:10 PM   #3
2ndgenz28
Thread Killer
 
2ndgenz28's Avatar
 
Drives: All Black
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NWO Toledo Area
Posts: 4,761
Send a message via ICQ to 2ndgenz28 Send a message via AIM to 2ndgenz28 Send a message via Yahoo to 2ndgenz28
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlingShot View Post
I've got six of them, and all were a buzzing today but did what they were made to do ...
6?

-------

Though should add that I got the 32min of run time by only having the computer and external HD plugged into the back up side.

The moniter n other junk is just on the surge side.

If Im home and its more then a few min's I can plug the monitor in and power off as needed. If not it will it wll do its own thing anyways.

With everything I got on the power side it was only 15min...
[big CRT monitor]
2ndgenz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 12:40 AM   #4
2ndgenz28
Thread Killer
 
2ndgenz28's Avatar
 
Drives: All Black
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NWO Toledo Area
Posts: 4,761
Send a message via ICQ to 2ndgenz28 Send a message via AIM to 2ndgenz28 Send a message via Yahoo to 2ndgenz28
WOOT had my first beep today, was neat, whole place goes dark for a few sec, TV goes off, sec later the monitor which isn't on back up come back alive and all my work was still there, like nothing had ever happened
2ndgenz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 01:17 AM   #5
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 #705
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 26,320
dang...we never have issues like that
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:10 AM   #6
monstertodd


 
monstertodd's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Grey Metallic 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tega Cay, South Carolina
Posts: 4,007
The UPS we use on our ground control station's are gigantic and weigh like 150lbs. They give us maybe 45 minutes of power in case our generators go out.

They are nice to have though in case the lights go out.
__________________
monstertodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:21 AM   #7
2ndgenz28
Thread Killer
 
2ndgenz28's Avatar
 
Drives: All Black
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NWO Toledo Area
Posts: 4,761
Send a message via ICQ to 2ndgenz28 Send a message via AIM to 2ndgenz28 Send a message via Yahoo to 2ndgenz28
Quote:
Originally Posted by TAG UR IT View Post
dang...we never have issues like that
I am lucky that the local power company is just a few miles down the road and a nuke power plant about 15 the other direction so we never have long power outtages but in the summer months I assume from all the AC use we get flickers.

And those flickers really suck when ya got a bunch of stuff open.

------
monstertodd

Yep those things can be super heavy yet sitll small, messed up my back helping lift one out of a car at my last computer job, done roofing, and shipping jobs but not till I got a sit down computer job did I ever hurt myself.
It was so small and wasn't ready for the weight of it. Bought the size of a home PC but weighed 999lbs.
2ndgenz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:36 AM   #8
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
I have one at home best thing I ever did.

Happens to me at work however way more often, I am thinking of buying one to use in my office!
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.