Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro Convertible Forum (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=133)
-   -   Convertible Top Recall (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=216202)

owensmat 04-12-2012 10:12 PM

Convertible Top Recall

Hello All,
First off, disclaimers here. I'm no expert, mechanic, engineer, or definitive source of knowlege here. I can only simply share the experience that I had today and hope that sharing the information helps. It may already be out there, but I didn't see it from tertiary searches. Anyway, took my car to the dealer today on a follow up from a recent visit where they were checking my first to second shift. While there last time, I mentioned that I'd heard a lot of problems with tops rubbing, etc. The service rep ordered some sort of shim parts to fix rubbing issues, etc. The parts were on order, so I had to bring my car back today for the repair. I hadn't noticed any particular issues yet, but the thought was that this would be a preventative fix. So today when I took my car in for the scheduled appt., the dealer said that over the past week, GM issued a recall on this issue and they have newly developed parts to put on the car that will eliminate the problem. Going back next week. Like I said, this may have been covered already, but if not, hopefully this news helps and perhaps someone more in the know can provide detail to this. The service rep was unable to describe what the recall repair entailed, outside of it being newly developed parts to fix the problem.

fshog 04-12-2012 10:49 PM

I was just informed of this recall as well this week. My dealer couldn't give any details either as it was just released to them as well????

pnyklr 04-13-2012 02:00 AM

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=213980

-Funk

TiffBiff 04-13-2012 03:54 AM