Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Best way to launch with manual transmission? (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25166)

Foglin 06-01-2009 12:38 AM

Best way to launch with manual transmission?

Hi,
Just wondering, what is the best way to launch with the manual transmission on the strip (without launch control)?
I have some experience with auto :sm0:! That is just limiting the wheel spin with your foot (street tires)!!
I've read that the launch control is not the quickest way. Should one use more or less rpm off the line? I mean on a prepared drag strip, not on the street, but still with street tires.
Somebody give hint, because I need a time slip.

Camaro_Corvette 06-01-2009 12:39 AM

Release clutch, mash gas. :iono:

Disclaimer: I don't recommend listening to anything that I say since I don't know what I'm talking about.

qbert48 06-01-2009 12:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by camaro_corvette (Post 538470)
Release clutch, mash gas. :iono:

Disclaimer: I don't recommend listening to anything that I say since I don't know what I'm talking about.

yep+1

2SSJIM 06-01-2009 03:13 AM

Practice... practice and more practice till you get it right! Every clutch is different so the only thing you can do is learn your car!

Camaro123 06-01-2009 03:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2SSJIM (Post 538580)
Practice... practice and more practice till you get it right! Every clutch is different so the only thing you can do it learn your car!

Absolutely correct, you have to learn your car as every launch will be deferent depending on the tiers, asphalt, temperature, etc.

Good luck practicing :headbang:

lordfriday2 06-01-2009 04:34 AM

don't launch at 4k at the track.... I learned that the hard way