Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   ebrake - wiring (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=223280)

montej23 05-12-2012 11:06 AM

ebrake - wiring
 
Ok I need some help where is the ebrake wiring as I need to tap into it for my nav system does anyone know? Please help

The Stig 05-12-2012 11:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by montej23 (Post 4950995)
Ok I need some help where is the ebrake wiring as I need to tap into it for my nav system does anyone know? Please help

There is no wiring. It's a steel cable that runs from the lever to the rear brakes. Also, it's not an E-brake. It's a parking brake.

montej23 05-12-2012 11:42 AM

There has to be a power wire sensor to tap into shouldnt there be

The Stig 05-12-2012 11:47 AM

Not that I know of. What are you looking to power? The 12V outlet is hot whenever the key is in the car.

montej23 05-12-2012 11:54 AM

To finish my nav install and it says to detect parked status

The Stig 05-12-2012 11:58 AM

I honestly dont know. My M6 has never once told me that the parking brake was engaged.

montej23 05-12-2012 12:03 PM

Yeah my m6 is the same but my pioneer Avic-z140bh meets it to enable all functions

The Stig 05-12-2012 12:15 PM

OK this is an easy fix then. So basically if that wire has power than none of the functions in you head unit work, did I get that right?

If so just leave it disconnected.

FLYNNZL1 05-12-2012 12:20 PM

You can google how to bypass that, I believe you just ground it to anougher cable, there is a video on utube.

SUX2BU 05-12-2012 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by montej23 (Post 4950995)
Ok I need some help where is the ebrake wiring as I need to tap into it for my nav system does anyone know? Please help

I haven't taken the 5th gen center console apart, but the plug should be at the base of the parking brake lever just like the 4th gen.
Quote:

Originally Posted by stieger (Post 4951137)
I honestly dont know. My M6 has never once told me that the parking brake was engaged.

Your car must be broke then, LOL. If you apply the parking brake you should get the word "BRAKE" light up right under your speedo needle. Also, the parking brake switch activates your headlights to come on at night when you put your parking brake lever down.

Here is a couple of pics with the "BRAKE" light on and off.

http://www.wreckedmagazine.com/image...oSS.Drive8.jpg

http://media.caranddriver.com/images...s-1280x782.jpg

The Stig 05-12-2012 12:28 PM

Huh, guess I need to take a closer look at my speedo then. Maybe it's a vert thing? Because I saw that the second pic was of an auto.

SS King 05-12-2012 12:33 PM

i got the coupe and i got brake warning lights by speedo and DIC

SUX2BU 05-12-2012 12:33 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by stieger (Post 4951212)
Huh, guess I need to take a closer look at my speedo then. Maybe it's a vert thing? Because I saw that the second pic was of an auto.

Those are just random pics I Googled, they are probably both coupes.

The Stig 05-12-2012 12:36 PM

OK. Guess I need to be more observant.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.