Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   L99 cam question. (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123943)

Milkman20 01-12-2011 08:06 PM

L99 cam question.
 
so, i've been thinking about getting a cam for my L99 but i was told that i need a stall converter, which im guessing is a stall torque converter which ive never heard of. someone tell me if this is right, or whats the deal with installing a cam on an L99. thanks for the help. :help:

,Steve

Camaro_Custom_Painted 01-12-2011 08:41 PM

You do not need a stall torque converter. You can have a cam make to suite your driving and power needs.

klatterblast 01-12-2011 09:04 PM

i have a blower cam in my L99 with a stock converter, and it drives just fine.
comp cam 223-236/.610-.608 117+4 its got a little lope too. of course it has been converted to an LS3.
call shane at thunder racing he will hook you up.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=igb4M1WMlk0

klatterblast 01-12-2011 09:23 PM

sorry i did not answer your second question about putting a cam in the L99 , in case you dont know its i little more complicated to just put a cam in the L99 and more expensive than the manual transmission LS3. the valve train has to be converted to the same configuration as the LS3. or get a vvt cam.

Dangeruss 01-12-2011 09:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Milkman20 (Post 2724210)
so, i've been thinking about getting a cam for my L99 but i was told that i need a stall converter, which im guessing is a stall torque converter which ive never heard of. someone tell me if this is right, or whats the deal with installing a cam on an L99. thanks for the help. :help:

,Steve

CCP is correct. A stall is not required for a cam. If you want a really big cam, you'll want to do an LS3 conversion. You can also go with a VVT cam, which won't make as much power, but will still give you that great sound and is a cheaper install.

Also consider whether or not you're going to buy a blower in the future. If so, I'd recommend waiting and choosing the right cam for the SC.

Dangeruss 01-12-2011 10:00 PM

BTW...I noticed in your signature you have a diablosport tuner listed. If you're running a canned tune with your headers you're probably leaving power on the table. Also, you're definitely going to need a dyno tune with a cam.

mlee 01-12-2011 10:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Milkman20 (Post 2724210)
so, i've been thinking about getting a cam for my L99 but i was told that i need a stall converter, which im guessing is a stall torque converter which ive never heard of. someone tell me if this is right, or whats the deal with installing a cam on an L99. thanks for the help. :help:

,Steve

Swapping out the Torque Convertor in your Auto Transmission for a higher stall RPM is needed so the idle can be raised up to keep your car from stalling out. If you didn't change the TC you would have to stand on the brake at stop lights to keep the car from moving forward as the idle will be set shigher.

As some said you can get a small cam and keep the stock convertor, but I would recommend getting one. Even without a cam a TC is the best bang for your buck in the L99. Also your Diablo is pretty much worthless on an L99 since it will not tune the transmission and that's the best part of an L99 tune.

Hope this helps...

Milkman20 01-12-2011 10:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dangeruss (Post 2724634)
BTW...I noticed in your signature you have a diablosport tuner listed. If you're running a canned tune with your headers you're probably leaving power on the table. Also, you're definitely going to need a dyno tune with a cam.

yea that was kind of a waste to buy cause i don't use it, i got it professionally tuned before i put my headers on. if you look in my sig there is a video of me getting it professionally tuned and he didn't use the diablosport. he did a really good tune also, but i got headers so i have to get it retuned, but i think ill wait for my cam for a year or so i can get the best one for whatever SC ill buy.

Milkman20 01-12-2011 10:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mlee (Post 2724712)
Swapping out the Torque Convertor in your Auto Transmission for a higher stall RPM is needed so the idle can be raised up to keep your car from stalling out. If you didn't change the TC you would have to stand on the brake at stop lights to keep the car from moving forward as the idle will be set shigher.

As some said you can get a small cam and keep the stock convertor, but I would recommend getting one. Even without a cam a TC is the best bang for your buck in the L99. Also your Diablo is pretty much worthless on an L99 since it will not tune the transmission and that's the best part of an L99 tune.

Hope this helps...

thanks, it does help, but do you a good place where i could buy a higher stall converter.

Dangeruss 01-12-2011 10:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Milkman20 (Post 2724725)
yea that was kind of a waste to buy cause i don't use it, i got it professionally tuned before i put my headers on. if you look in my sig there is a video of me getting it professionally tuned and he didn't use the diablosport. he did a really good tune also, but i got headers so i have to get it retuned, but i think ill wait for my cam for a year or so i can get the best one for whatever SC ill buy.

I think that's a good call. I had my cam installed at the same time as my blower.

Also, don't think that I was preaching against a stall. I was just saying that it's not required. Mlee was exactly right about all the benefits, and as you can see in my sig I have one as well. I actually installed mine before my SC, as it is definitely the best bang for the buck.

Dangeruss 01-12-2011 10:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Milkman20 (Post 2724745)
thanks, it does help, but do you a good place where i could buy a higher stall converter.

Mlee and I both bought the Circle D torque converter (3200 stall). You can order it directly from their site.

http://www.circledspecialties.com/p-...converter.aspx

Milkman20 01-12-2011 10:52 PM

Thank you @Dangeruss, @mlee and @klatterblast. Also the cam i was thinking about getting is the MTI stage 2 cam http://mtiracing.com/Purchase/New-20...10-Camaro.html. so if i were to get that cam would the torque converter be the only thing id have to do?

mlee 01-13-2011 06:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Milkman20 (Post 2724859)
Thank you @Dangeruss, @mlee and @klatterblast. Also the cam i was thinking about getting is the MTI stage 2 cam http://mtiracing.com/Purchase/New-20...10-Camaro.html. so if i were to get that cam would the torque converter be the only thing id have to do?

Since you have an L99 you would need to swap out the DOD (displacement on demand) lifters with that cam. There are cams specifically made for keeping your lifters called VVT (variable valve timing). This would save pulling your heads. There are pros and cons to both... just do a search on VVT and you will find lots of info... my preference is to get rid if the lifters it's the weak point even in a stock L99.

As with any cam install, springs and pushrods are an easy swap also

Awesome_SS 01-13-2011 01:30 PM

This might help you some. I also have the L99

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=123470


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.