Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=148)
-   -   Reduced power mode service stabilitrac (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=497229)

bingster223 06-03-2017 05:30 PM

Reduced power mode service stabilitrac
 
Less than a mile from home i went into reduced power mode with a service message for stabilitrac and 3 c.e.l.'s . I tried restarting car still had all the messages i turned off both traction control and stabilitrac it was drivable but still had check engine light, i mentioned this to my wife she reminded me of her Subaru doing the same thing and it was her gas cap being loose so i checked mine it seemed good but i took it off and put it back on started up the car and everything cleared up and went away. Been driving all day no issues

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Kenny Camaro 06-03-2017 09:20 PM

Do you have a throttle control? If you do try unplugging it.

bingster223 06-03-2017 10:34 PM

Yes i do. It all went back to normal after i put the gas cap back on but I'll try that too.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk

Rskx 08-09-2017 11:24 PM

I had same issues with throttle control.

Lacpac 08-10-2017 09:31 AM

I got the check engine light and the codes were for gas cap and something in emmissions so I ordered a new gas cap with new black o ring and replaced my o ring on the Elite Catch can. Disconnected battery a while to clear codes and hoping this does it. Light has come on 3x this year. Thinking the o rings are causing the pressure leaks and codes. Anybody have issues with Catch can seals causing a check engine code?

SSEssence 08-10-2017 10:20 AM

It's from the throttle controller. Reset battery by unbolting wire and wait 15 minutes to hook it back up. You will have to reprogram the windows up/down and should be good to go from there.

Lacpac 08-31-2017 09:26 AM

It's been almost 3 weeks since I replaced the gas cap and o ring on Elite Catch Can. They sent me 6 or so free of charge. No codes since. I know it could be the throttle controller but it's only happened 2-3 times in the last year. I'll keep an eye on it.

bingster223 09-03-2017 05:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lacpac (Post 9888649)
It's been almost 3 weeks since I replaced the gas cap and o ring on Elite Catch Can. They sent me 6 or so free of charge. No codes since. I know it could be the throttle controller but it's only happened 2-3 times in the last year. I'll keep an eye on it.

I've had it happen 3 times since the original time and I'm sure it's the throttle control. All I do when it happens is turn off car go open my gas cap then close it, that takes away the service stabili track message and the 2 traction control and stability lights. The check engine light stays on but the next time I start the car that goes away also. I'm going to get the car tuned soon and take out the throttle control https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...a8847e6472.jpg

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Machinehead 09-04-2017 02:23 AM

one time i had a stabilitrak error cuz i almost stalled but didnt then i went into limp mode and almost got hit by a big rig

bingster223 09-04-2017 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SSEssence (Post 9859655)
It's from the throttle controller. Reset battery by unbolting wire and wait 15 minutes to hook it back up. You will have to reprogram the windows up/down and should be good to go from there.

Is it easy to reset the windows? And which wire do I unbolt? Thanks for a solution I had the reduced power pop up today again. I mean I goes away just by opening the gas cap and the c.e.l. goes away later the same day but that's about 5 time or more now. Eventually I'm going to get a tune and take the throttle control off

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Lacpac 09-12-2017 10:52 AM

Got the Check engine light again, and the stabilitrac limp mode for the first time when I tried to floor it from about 15 mph. Pulled over to the side of the road, restarted twice and was out of limp mode. Engine light still on, but I just bought a OBDII reader for $21 on Amazon and reset it. Recalibrated TC. One more time this happens and the Throttle controller comes off! I'm only running in SP4... this shouldn't happen.

bingster223 09-12-2017 11:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lacpac (Post 9902478)
Got the Check engine light again, and the stabilitrac limp mode for the first time when I tried to floor it from about 15 mph. Pulled over to the side of the road, restarted twice and was out of limp mode. Engine light still on, but I just bought a OBDII reader for $21 on Amazon and reset it. Recalibrated TC. One more time this happens and the Throttle controller comes off! I'm only running in SP4... this shouldn't happen.

I have the same issue I've been opening my gas cap then close it then restart your car and it goes away the cel stays but after a couple restarts it clears. I have a post up about it. i was advised that by disconnecting the battery or a wire on the battery for a few minutes will reset it but the you need to reprogram your windows. Once i find out how im going to try this.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

bingster223 09-12-2017 11:05 AM

Dang i did notice this wad in my post lol

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Jazzzed 09-13-2017 12:29 AM

I don't see how the gas cap can fix an issue with the throttle controller. Lol. There is no relation. Your recurring problem most likely has something to do with an emissions sensor.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.