Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro 1LE Forum (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=149)
-   -   Mods (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=526936)

firehead 04-23-2018 01:37 PM

Mods

I'm currently working on installing some kooks headers, a FAST intake manifold, and a 102mm Throttle body from Nick Williams. Out of curiosity, will my stock transmission be able to handle the increase the new torque output? The only other mod that is on this vehicle is a Borla Atak exhaust and a cold air intake from CAI. I'm fairly new to modding so I don't want to screw it up. :thanks:

2014white2ssrs1le 04-23-2018 02:57 PM

Should be fine...some guys have said their stock clutch worked fine up to around 600rwtq

firehead 04-24-2018 05:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2014white2ssrs1le (Post 10159444)
Should be fine...some guys have said their stock clutch worked fine up to around 600rwtq

Awesome, I was just looking around on the chevy perfomance site and saw that the stock trans was technically only rated for 440 ft/lbs of torque. I don't exactly want to be replacing that yet!

Olddudesrule 04-24-2018 08:21 AM

Absolutely.....If you treat the trans/clutch right, it will last a long time. You can kill the clutch with stock power if you really wanted to.

firehead 04-25-2018 05:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Olddudesrule (Post 10160256)
Absolutely.....If you treat the trans/clutch right, it will last a long time. You can kill the clutch with stock power if you really wanted to.

Very true

Andoskyy 04-25-2018 07:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by firehead (Post 10159324)