Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Camaro Z/28 Forum - Z/28 Specific Topics (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=136)
-   -   Storing a Z for winter (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=582960)

Cvargz4589 10-11-2020 09:54 AM

Storing a Z for winter

Hi everyone! I’m not sure if there was a thread on this topic yet or not since I’m a newbie to the forum & a newbie Z owner. Just cleaned it up as the first step for hibernation. I have a ctek battery tender & stabil fuel stabilizer on order from Amazon. Also, bought the GM fitted indoor car cover to keep her covered up. It will be in a heated garage. Since the battery is in the trunk, any tips to keeping the trunk light from staying on while the battery is hooked up? Or do you recommend taking the battery out completely? Anymore recommendations for storing a Z for winter or an extended period of time in general?

Thanks!

0stones0 10-11-2020 10:14 AM

You can hook the tender up under the hood. Have a look see and you’ll find a jumper post for the positive. At least, there is on mine.

SIM GhostrdrZ 10-11-2020 10:15 AM

No worries on trunk light. It’s on a timer as is all other systems to turn off as not to drain the battery. So hook up tender and I just set trunk down but don’t latch it and I have a hole in car cover for tender cable so it doesn’t touch car body. Do something as not to flat spot your tires, park on rubber flooring, carpet pieces or some put up in the air via stands or a lift. Change oil/filter before storage or before you drive it in the spring(depends on whom you ask).

SIM GhostrdrZ 10-11-2020 10:31 AM

The under hood posts are probably good to use as well. I just have an old habit of charging directly to battery or battery removed. My reasoning is not to burn out sensitive computer modules or wiring.