Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=76)
-   -   Driving the MN6? (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=37842)

WySS 08-17-2009 03:05 PM

Driving the MN6?

Ok im 26 and a total noob at driving a manual car and I took delivery of my first one on tuesday, a 2SS with the MN6. Any tips for driving it? How do i get a smooth start? I think i have had 2 in a week. I'm shifting by the sound of the engine but what are your guys' average shift speeds so i can see how i compare? How do i smooth out my shifts? Should i try the 1-3-5 shifting that a few are talking about on here? At lights does it hurt to leave the clutch fully depressed? How do I start on hills? What about downshifting, half the people i talk to say do it the others say brakes are cheaper than a trans. Sorry for all the questions but i really want to get better at this. Thanks in advance for your advice. :bow:

Camar0wn3d 08-17-2009 03:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by WySS (Post 808733)
How do i get a smooth start?

practice, practice. I start by giving a small amount of gas (like 5% throttle or less), then for every inch I bring the clutch out I give about 1/2" throttle. But it comes with practice.
Quote:

I'm shifting by the sound of the engine but what are your guys' average shift speeds so i can see how i compare?
I do it by the sound too, but for everyday driving I shift around 2,000 RPMs. If I want to make myself smile, I shift around 6,000.
Quote:

How do i smooth out my shifts?
don't take your foot off the gas all at once and then shift. Ease off the gas a little and then push in clutch, shift, then ease off the clutch (meaning, take about 1/2 second or so to go from clutch in to clutch out).
Quote: