Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/index.php)
-   Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   drag strip after fuse pull (https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45836)

AntiVnm 10-04-2009 08:02 PM

drag strip after fuse pull
 
well after an inital showing a couple weeks ago and alot of smack talking to my dad my best was a 13.93 at 103 and his was a 13.2 not sure the mph. i pulled the fuses and managed a 13.30 @ 106 to his 13.23 at 109. I was skeptical about the fuse pull but after i did it i tried to hit it at about 15-20 mph and started going sideways. the car feels much stronger. i put the first tank of gas in and have only used 93 octane. it had almost a half tank from delivery though and i think this was my problem. anyway im not talking any trash now but feel alot better...ps dad has a 2010 chally srt8. on this pass i took the rpm up to about 1800 and nailed it. got some spin. my 60' was 2.02. i had a best of 1.99 for the day. :thumbup:

not sure if this will work but here is a link to the vid

http://s244.photobucket.com/albums/g...t=CLIP0006.flv

Infern0 10-07-2009 09:35 AM

What fuse? What did I miss?

You in a M6 or auto?

GrnMchin 10-07-2009 09:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Infern0 (Post 1015168)
What fuse? What did I miss?

You in a M6 or auto?

This should explain it for you.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...highlight=fuse

wrek 10-07-2009 10:05 AM

I put 93 in when I was at half a tank from the dealer (they filled it) and another half tank of 93 recently so I need to burn most of my gas out before I pull the fuse I think as there could still potentially be 25% of whatever octane they put in.

joelster 10-07-2009 10:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AntiVnm (Post 1004222)
well after an inital showing a couple weeks ago and alot of smack talking to my dad my best was a 13.93 at 103 and his was a 13.2 not sure the mph. i pulled the fuses and managed a 13.30 @ 106 to his 13.23 at 109. I was skeptical about the fuse pull but after i did it i tried to hit it at about 15-20 mph and started going sideways. the car feels much stronger. i put the first tank of gas in and have only used 93 octane. it had almost a half tank from delivery though and i think this was my problem. anyway im not talking any trash now but feel alot better...ps dad has a 2010 chally srt8. on this pass i took the rpm up to about 1800 and nailed it. got some spin. my 60' was 2.02. i had a best of 1.99 for the day. :thumbup:

not sure if this will work but here is a link to the vid

http://s244.photobucket.com/albums/g...t=CLIP0006.flv

You have no right to talk trash. Your old man can drive better than you! LMAO! Get to the track and practice some more, before he tells you something like..."let me show you how it's done at the track" .....AGAIN!

Infern0 10-07-2009 11:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrnMchin (Post 1015244)

Oh perfect! Thanks for the link. Good read all the way through. I have to work later tonight though to make up for the time I lost track of through the thread though hahah. Gonna do it on my LS3 tonight just in case I ended up with regular gas from dealer. If not, no harm done either way.

AntiVnm 10-07-2009 12:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by joelster (Post 1015297)
You have no right to talk trash. Your old man can drive better than you! LMAO! Get to the track and practice some more, before he tells you something like..."let me show you how it's done at the track" .....AGAIN!

His 13.2 is in his 2010 chally srt-8. He took the camaro down the track and turned a 13.34 to my 13.30. so that shoots that theory out of the water but thanks.

joelster 10-07-2009 12:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AntiVnm (Post 1015888)
His 13.2 is in his 2010 chally srt-8. He took the camaro down the track and turned a 13.34 to my 13.30. so that shoots that theory out of the water but thanks.

I would hope that you can drive your own car down the track better than him. Don't take everything so harshly, I was just playing around. Go get a CAI and a tune and walk right by him!

AntiVnm 10-07-2009 12:43 PM

no i understood what you were saying i just realized i forgot to state it was two different cars. And as far as the CAI and tune goes he said anything you can do i can do better hehe. this will go back and forth with us until one of us die. anyway thanks again for the input

Carlos Garza 10-07-2009 02:22 PM

Most mags and car shows that have tested the camaro ss say that the car is either a 12.90 or a 13 flat car. So what is wrong with our Camaros that we need the fuse pull to get low 13s. I think that either the guys driving the cars at the driving test are awesome drivers and we all suck or the Camaros that were tasted are not normal... What do you guys think...

SGOS252382 10-07-2009 04:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carlos Garza (Post 1016379)
Most mags and car shows that have tested the camaro ss say that the car is either a 12.90 or a 13 flat car. So what is wrong with our Camaros that we need the fuse pull to get low 13s. I think that either the guys driving the cars at the driving test are awesome drivers and we all suck or the Camaros that were tasted are not normal... What do you guys think...



Two main reasons for times slower than the magazine tests.

1. Summer - (warm weather = slower times)
2. Bad L99 low octane tune.

And you are correct about having to pull a fuse to run low 13s. Even running the low octane tune, the L99 should be able to run low 13s with good driving and excellent track conditions. But for whatever reason, the low octane tune is really bad on the L99s. In additions, some of the cars are delivered to customers with low octane gas and they seem to be stuck in low octane tune mode. These cars need the fuse pull mod to reset the computer to get back to high octane mode (why? - I don't think anyone knows).

But the facts are, with good driving and good track conditons, the LS3 M6 and L99 A6 are very capable of running high 12s. As the weather cools off across the country, we should see more times in the high 12s - low 13s.

chappy48 10-07-2009 06:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SGOS252382 (Post 1016899)
Two main reasons for times slower than the magazine tests.

1. Summer - (warm weather = slower times)
2. Bad L99 low octane tune.

And you are correct about having to pull a fuse to run low 13s. Even running the low octane tune, the L99 should be able to run low 13s with good driving and excellent track conditions. But for whatever reason, the low octane tune is really bad on the L99s. In additions, some of the cars are delivered to customers with low octane gas and they seem to be stuck in low octane tune mode. These cars need the fuse pull mod to reset the computer to get back to high octane mode (why? - I don't think anyone knows).

But the facts are, with good driving and good track conditons, the LS3 M6 and L99 A6 are very capable of running high 12s. As the weather cools off across the country, we should see more times in the high 12s - low 13s.

What he said...If I remember correctly when edmunds.com tested the camaro's and got 13.0 for m6 and 13.1 for the a6 it was 30-40 degrees out.

Kms 11-01-2009 05:44 PM

Milan Raceway
 
I definately think the driver brings it out of the car.

We took our SS to the track today. My husbands best run was 13.92 at 103.4however it's the first time he ever ran the dragway. We have 1500 miles on the car and only run 93 octane gas. Only mod is a muffler delete.

Getting a cold air intake put in from GM and will run it again in the Spring.

He said the only issue was he had a hard time getting it into 3rd gear and thought he could of done better. So we'll see!!!

I guess my question is 12.9- How many miles were on the car and how experienced was the driver?

JBsC6 11-01-2009 06:03 PM

I'd bet it has more to do with elevation or the lack of that seperates the times by a few tenths...

Just an opinion though...

As far as the fuse pull concept..

why wouldn't the computer just relearn the better gas and that would be it?

bad gas....lower state of tune..

Good gas ....and the pcm reverts back to higher state of tune.

doesn't the pcm reset on anything over 8 gallons put in the gas tank?

At least thats what I had heard..

13.2 is awesome..

congrats.

JB


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.