Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 09-18-2018, 11:17 AM   #1
GodWentPunk

Drives: 2015 2SS White Convertible CE/INDY
Mods and Tune

In March of 2019 I'll looking to get some long-tube headers, high-flow cats, and some type of cat back exhaust (with x-pipe) for my 2015 SS (L99). I'm rather new to the "tune" concept so I was hoping that maybe someone could explain a little more why I need a tune and what it will accomplish. I do know that I'll be disabling my AFM but other then that, I sorta left hanging. I will be getting a professional tune but I just like to know beforehand what I should be expecting.

thanks!

joe...
Old 09-18-2018, 12:49 PM   #2
acammer
GPI Sales Consultant

Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS SGM
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodWentPunk View Post
In March of 2019 I'll looking to get some long-tube headers, high-flow cats, and some type of cat back exhaust (with x-pipe) for my 2015 SS (L99). I'm rather new to the "tune" concept so I was hoping that maybe someone could explain a little more why I need a tune and what it will accomplish. I do know that I'll be disabling my AFM but other then that, I sorta left hanging. I will be getting a professional tune but I just like to know beforehand what I should be expecting.

thanks!

joe...
Joe - your engine is basically a big air pump, and when you change the way that the air flows through it (such as with an exhaust like you've described) it will impact the calibration. In simple terms, the amount of fuel required by the engine changes with the changes in airflow, and the tune will adjust for those changes.