Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Old 11-06-2009, 02:46 AM   #1
Supermans
Camaro & Stang Enthusiast

Drives: 2011 Mustang 5.0 in Kona Blue
"misaligned steering wheel"

Quick question to everyone who owns a Camaro SS. When you sit in front of the steering wheel in your 2010 Camaro SS.. Is it perfectly aligned to your body or is the right side of the wheel close to you and the left further away? If you tie a string from one end of the passenger door to the drivers side from the same location on the doors touching the steering wheel, is it touching both sides of the wheel equally?

Well, mine definitely is misaligned and although I've been driving it for about three months now, I am contemplating whether or not I should get it fixed if possible, or if this is an issue with many Camaro's off the line and I shouldn't worry about it.

I know there was one thread where someone took pictures and did the string test, however I can't seem to find it in the search. I am wondering if that Camaro owner did anything about the issue or if he discovered others with the problem.

BTW, I did take my car today for all those recall items like the HVAC programming.. It was the first Camaro brought back for such a thing at the Miami dealer so I was a bit worried. They did re tighten the spoiler bolts with loctite even though I had tightened them all up from day one myself. (yes they were all loose and the dealer missed checking). I did notice the car was shifting smoother after the re-programing of the computer.. However the gurgling noise from behind the dash was still there.. So perhaps they did not do that fix correctly. I'll be going back to finish it Monday.

Anyone who can help with the steering wheel issue chime in.
Old 11-06-2009, 12:09 PM   #2
HeavyD