Homepage Garage Wiki Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
#Camaro6
Go Back   CAMARO6 > CAMARO6.com General Forums > Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers

Phastek Performance

Old 10-07-2016, 11:20 AM   #1
Ant

Drives: 2017 Camaro 1LT/RS (V6)
Are 84-month loans a bad idea?

So, I'm a new college graduate that's been DYING for a new Camaro. I can finally get a great deal on a stock one my dealer has, and it's pretty much the exact one I want and more.

I'm trying to keep my payments as low as possible and the only money I have to put down would be the $3500 toward the taxes. I don't have any extra to put down on the car itself.

For the sake of keeping payments low, I was thinking of doing an 84 month loan from PenFed at 2.99% APR and maybe refinancing in the future.

Bad idea or should I just go for it?
Ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2016, 11:30 AM   #2
MovieGuy

Drives: 2016 Camaro 1LT
Only you, knowing your own situation, can decide if it is a good or bad idea. Keep in mind you pay most of your interest toward the beginning of the loan. And the car will be depreciating faster than you are paying on it. You will be upside down in your payments for about 3 years or so (that means owing more than the car is worth). For this reason don't do this without gap insurance. Also this could possibly make refinancing in the future difficult. If you did this, rather than refinancing, I would suggest just paying more aggressively when you can afford to do so.