Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-2019, 02:13 PM   #1
SSick1le
 
Drives: 2015 SS 1LE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 73
LSA conversion with LSA drive

I will be doing an LSA conversion on my car in the near future. I already have the supercharger, injectors and CAI. I’ve been debating doing the ADM conversion or switching over to the LSA accessories to have an 8rib setup. My question is to anyone who has done this, what all needs to be changed from an LS3 to have LSA set up? Is the AC compressor different? Appreciate any input
__________________
2015 SS 1LE- ESS V3 supercharged, ID850, Corsa extreme catback, Stainless Power 1 7/8 LT, ADM FPCM, JMS BAP

Last edited by SSick1le; 05-26-2019 at 07:41 AM.
SSick1le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 07:32 AM   #2
JANNETTYRACING

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 14,988
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSick1le View Post
I will be doing an LSA conversion on my car in the near future. I already have the supercharger, injectors and CAI. Iíve been debating doing the ADM conversion or switching over to the LSA accessories to have an 8rib setup. My question is to anyone who has done this, what all needs to be changed from an LS3 to have LSA set up? Is the AC compressor different? Appreciate any input
It is the more expensive option but is the best option to have a dedicated 8 rib drive system for your supercharger.

Pretty much everything is different, and specific to the LSA Pace Perfromance stocks the LSA front accessory system.

Ted.
__________________
www.jannettyracing.com
Celebrating 34 years Performance parts, Installation, Fabrication, Dyno tuning, Remote custom tuning, and alignments. 203-753-7223 Waterbury CT. 06705
email tedj@jannettyracing.com
JANNETTYRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 01:53 PM   #3
QUICRNU

 
QUICRNU's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 ABM SS/RS A6
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,242
I did this conversion using the 3belt LSA setup, I have had 0 belt slip issues with 8.66 lower and 2.55 upper (thats my max ive ran and only with some higher octane precaution based on 13.4psi and SBE) i run 3.04 or 2.75 upper normally/street.

As Jannetty said, it is more expensive and all accessories including water pump are replaced, and the A/C condenser infront of radiator. Perhaps they make adaptors for the stock one, but I just replaced it and the lines to the ZL1.

Make sure you plan to push the blower ratio (boost) high enough for this to matter. If not, then go ADM maybe.

Keep in mind, last I heard, it is bad to change the speed of the accessory belt, so you cant change the lower pulley to add boost (with the same level of expected accessory life) if that same belt powers the accessories. So your only option is a small upper pulley, which promotes belt slip.

The 3rd belt provides freedom from that, and larger lower is still better as then a bigger pulley can be used up top.


Etc Etc.... Its not too hard, but does require some fabricating ingenuity, you can see some of what I did in my build thread.

Good Luck, Boost is addicting!!
__________________
2010 ABM A6 w/Mojave seats!

Best : 9.926 ET @ 137.67mph with a 1.401 60 ft

Current: Apex focused.

Build Thread - http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=481043
QUICRNU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 06:25 PM   #4
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,478
I've done both ways. I actually bought the 3 drive adapter kit from ADM and kept my accessories! Ck with Andy. He may still have them...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 07:56 PM   #5
SSick1le
 
Drives: 2015 SS 1LE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammdo View Post
I've done both ways. I actually bought the 3 drive adapter kit from ADM and kept my accessories! Ck with Andy. He may still have them...

-Don
I will look into this. Did the adapter kit just include different brackets for the compressor and alternator.?
__________________
2015 SS 1LE- ESS V3 supercharged, ID850, Corsa extreme catback, Stainless Power 1 7/8 LT, ADM FPCM, JMS BAP
SSick1le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 09:12 PM   #6
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,478
Yep, and harmonic balancer/bolt with belts...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 02:58 PM   #7
SSick1le
 
Drives: 2015 SS 1LE
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Longwood, FL
Posts: 73
Reviving my old thread to ask a question regarding the conversion.

Are the injector clips/retainers the same when swapping from the LS3 to LSA fuel rail? Iím getting different part numbers online but havenít read of anyone needing to buy different ones. Thanks.
__________________
2015 SS 1LE- ESS V3 supercharged, ID850, Corsa extreme catback, Stainless Power 1 7/8 LT, ADM FPCM, JMS BAP
SSick1le is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.