Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Old 04-25-2019, 02:45 PM   #1
go_go_gadget88

Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS ABM 6M
New to tuning - what do I need to get started?

Hey guys. I have decided I want to take the leap and start getting my feet wet in the world of tuning. I have a lot of vehicle knowledge in general, but virtually none of it involves tuning. My car is currently tuned by a local buddy of mine, but with life getting in the way, it can be really hard to meet up with him and spend much time on it. I am still having some issues, and while he will still help sometimes (and said he could certainly offer advice to some questions I had). I plan on doing a lot of mods over the years..so being self sufficient with tuning would be the end goal for me. Being someone who loves cars, and is a computer systems analyst by day, I don't think it is out of the realm of possibility that I can do this. Albeit, I am sure it's one hell of a learning curve.

Admittedly though, I am getting lost just trying to figure out what all I will need to get started. I was looking at the MPVI2, but it has some options and I am not sure what is needed vs what is extra. It says bundle with VCM suite (editor and scanner?), but I don't see the suite mentioned elsewhere. Is the software just downloaded elsewhere or does it come with the MPVI2?