Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro Z/28 Forum - Z/28 Specific Topics


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2017, 09:02 AM   #15
Richard0nee

 
Richard0nee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 SS M6, NPP
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Hawthorne, CA
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat_t View Post
Nope, short of having access to a GM calibration engineer I don't think it's doable.

I ended up retrofitting the original occupancy sensor mat under the seat cushion of the new Sparco Grid II race seats on the passenger side.

I positioned the passenger airborne control module under the seat and coiled and tucked away all the other non-required wiring (seat motor, seat airbag)

This way you get no errors or warning lights.

It all looks and works great now! Big improvement:


See my project thread for a few more pictures
Thanks buddy. So I'm guessing with the airbags in the seat deleted, there will need to be a 2-4ohm resistor needed for both sides and the occupancy sensor transferred from the OEM seat to the Sparco seats..

What a pain in the butt but it's worth doing it right so all airbags will deploy if an collision occurs.
Richard0nee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 09:14 AM   #16
pat_t
 
pat_t's Avatar
 
Drives: #238 Z/28
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard0nee View Post
Thanks buddy. So I'm guessing with the airbags in the seat deleted, there will need to be a 2-4ohm resistor needed for both sides and the occupancy sensor transferred from the OEM seat to the Sparco seats..

What a pain in the butt but it's worth doing it right so all airbags will deploy if an collision occurs.
Yep, I used 3.3 Ohm resistors. Good luck! Post some pictures when you're done
__________________
pat_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 10:38 AM   #17
Sakudog
Street Baller
 
Sakudog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Twin Turbo ZL1
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: The 512
Posts: 685
Pat_T / I sent you a DM asking some questions, looking forward to your feedback.
__________________
Sakudog
2018 ZL1 A10
Sakudog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 01:35 PM   #18
POINTBY
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28, 2018 ZL1 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 212
Is this the correct harness for the driver side?

http://m.ebay.com/itm/oem-gm-camaro-...257Ciid%253A10
POINTBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 01:40 PM   #19
Sakudog
Street Baller
 
Sakudog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Twin Turbo ZL1
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: The 512
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by POINTBY View Post
Is this the correct harness for the driver side?

http://m.ebay.com/itm/oem-gm-camaro-...257Ciid%253A10
So to be certian, I will be writing a DIY on how to bypass the airbag system in the coming weeks. However, because you need the Passenger Occapancy sensor out of the passenger seat and the driver side airborne sensor I "think" (unless you want to find two junk yard base seats) you should just use your existing harnesses.

- Airbag Systems Air Bag Simulator x2
- Passenger Airborn Sensor (from driver side)
- Passenger Occpancy Sensor and Harness (from passenger seat)

When you are done, you should be able to put everything back into the OEM seat....but I have base seats, if I had Recaros I'd go get a OEM base seat from a pick and pull.
__________________
Sakudog
2018 ZL1 A10
Sakudog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 01:45 PM   #20
POINTBY
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28, 2018 ZL1 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 212
I have the Recaro seats (Z/28) and would like to keep them untouched.

Will that harness on eBay work? For the driver side? What are my options for the passenger side?

Thanks
POINTBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 01:47 PM   #21
Sakudog
Street Baller
 
Sakudog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Twin Turbo ZL1
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: The 512
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by POINTBY View Post
I have the Recaro seats (Z/28) and would like to keep them untouched.

Will that harness on eBay work? For the driver side? What are my options for the passenger side?

Thanks
Ok, but what I'm trying to signal to you is you need more than the harness. What I wrote above is very accurate to what you will need PLUS the two harnesses. In your situation, two Camaro base seats would be a good investment .
__________________
Sakudog
2018 ZL1 A10
Sakudog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 02:11 PM   #22
POINTBY
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28, 2018 ZL1 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 212
10-4. Thanks.
POINTBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 07:53 PM   #23
POINTBY
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28, 2018 ZL1 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 212
Is there any way to "code out" the seat airbags using HP Tuners??
POINTBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 08:12 PM   #24
Sakudog
Street Baller
 
Sakudog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Twin Turbo ZL1
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: The 512
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by POINTBY View Post
Is there any way to "code out" the seat airbags using HP Tuners??


No. Additionally, there is no way "know" to turn these systems off via GM.

However, I think you still want the remaining airbags to deploy, 4-5-6 point + HANs or not, just more protection.

The way it is done properly essentially retains all of the functionality, minus the seat bags. That's a good thing.
__________________
Sakudog
2018 ZL1 A10
Sakudog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 09:00 PM   #25
POINTBY
 
Drives: 2015 Z/28, 2018 ZL1 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakudog View Post
No. Additionally, there is no way "know" to turn these systems off via GM.

However, I think you still want the remaining airbags to deploy, 4-5-6 point + HANs or not, just more protection.

The way it is done properly essentially retains all of the functionality, minus the seat bags. That's a good thing.
On the track, give me a 6 point and a HANS and I don't care about an airbag. With that said, I'll just ignore the light on the dash.

However, on the street, it would be nice to have the front airbags still functional. So, I'll go through the pain of making them still work.
POINTBY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 09:04 PM   #26
Sakudog
Street Baller
 
Sakudog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Twin Turbo ZL1
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: The 512
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by POINTBY View Post
On the track, give me a 6 point and a HANS and I don't care about an airbag. With that said, I'll just ignore the light on the dash.

However, on the street, it would be nice to have the front airbags still functional. So, I'll go through the pain of making them still work.


Right, don't disagree. I'm going to be using a 3-point and mostly street in this car. The S2000 is my track car right now.

The light isn't that annoying and you only have to clear the error code at startup.
__________________
Sakudog
2018 ZL1 A10
Sakudog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2017, 12:14 PM   #27
pat_t
 
pat_t's Avatar
 
Drives: #238 Z/28
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 328
bump thread.

Does anyone have any info on defeat for the steering wheel airbag?

I'm seeing 4 wires, 2 into each connector on the back of the airbag. Anyone know which to run the resistor across?
__________________
pat_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 01:55 PM   #28
aris
 
Drives: Z/28
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakudog View Post
So to be certian, I will be writing a DIY on how to bypass the airbag system in the coming weeks. However, because you need the Passenger Occapancy sensor out of the passenger seat and the driver side airborne sensor I "think" (unless you want to find two junk yard base seats) you should just use your existing harnesses.

- Airbag Systems Air Bag Simulator x2
- Passenger Airborn Sensor (from driver side)
- Passenger Occpancy Sensor and Harness (from passenger seat)

When you are done, you should be able to put everything back into the OEM seat....but I have base seats, if I had Recaros I'd go get a OEM base seat from a pick and pull.
Thanks for doing that - subscribing for future updates.

I just placed an order for a set of buckets and want to make sure I do this right. If it's not too much to ask, do you think you'd be able to include OEM part numbers for the necessary sensors?
aris is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.