Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Specific Models / Packages > Camaro Convertible Forum

Old 04-21-2012, 09:51 PM   #1
TripleBlack20112SS

Drives: 2011 Triple Black 2SS Convertible
Squeaks from the top when it's down

OK I am a newbie here and a newbie to owning a Camaro but I love it!! 2011 2SS Conv. Triple black. Got a great end of year deal on it in December. Great vehicle for the money. However, I'm finding some concerns as I go along.

First, the right rear window makes a grinding noise going up and down. The window functions fine but the noise is disconcerting.

Second, the left dash vent buzzes and vibrates at highway speeds and higher. Very annoying.

Lastly and probably most concerning, the top seems to squeak when it's down. Pretty consistently but does require some movement/vibration from the road. Doesn't have to be a big bump. But it definitely squeaks and only with the top down. Sounds like it's coming from drivers side, somewhere in the trunk. With the top up I get no squeak but sometimes a rattle, again on the drivers side.

The dealer said they could work on the window and the vent but told me that the top was just going to be that way. Given that it went 4 months with no issues and then suddenly squeaking, I don't agree that it's normal.

I'd appreciate thoughts from more experienced owners.
TripleBlack20112SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 11:39 PM   #2
Justification

Drives: Red 2SS/RS Convertible
With the top up take a look at the rubber "donut" that goes from the back of the top against the front side of the trunk.
That donut should be tight forming a seal. If it isn't your fifth bow has bent and is causing that squeaking noise.