Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-2020, 03:52 PM   #1
daytripr69
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: lakeland fl
Posts: 6
hvac control module location

been dealing with ac issues for a while now, compressor grenaded on my wifes 2010 lt. replaced compressor, condenser, expansion valve and pressure switch and flushed the lines before installing new parts. hooked up gauges and added r134 until i had approx 40psi in the system. start car compressor wont engage. bypass relay and comp engages, charge system remove jumper and still no ac clutch engagement. put scanner on car and the ac request stays on no when turning on or off at the switch. ordered new climate control head but im afraid ill need the module and have no idea where it at and google sucks. cant be having my wife and kid in a black car in fl in the summer with no ac, help! its either fix it or burn it and the wife likes the car so....
daytripr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 04:41 PM   #2
InFiD3ViL


 
InFiD3ViL's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2SS LS3 Swapped A6
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 3,000
Here is a blown up view of the entire interior HVAC system with the parts listed. Component number 5 is the HVAC Control Module. So in the car it would look to be behind the glove box or in that location, as in that diagram the arrow is facing the engine.
Attached Images
   
__________________
2010 CGM Camaro 2SS LS3 Swap A6 - GPI SS1 .646/.637, (224/237, 112 +4) 8620 core, Melling HV 10296, CHE trunnions, heads milled .015, TSP longtubes (Catless), X-Pipe, FM Outlaw axle back, Stage 2 ported throttle body, Vararam OTR CAI, Mike Norris Gen 2 catch can + GM 1LE clean side separator, Hinson wires/NGK TR6IX plugs, 160º stat, Vitesse TC, slotted/cross drilled rotors w/Hawk performance ceramic pads, ZL1 leather steering wheel swap, ZL1 Add-Ons wicker bill spoiler, SLP front splitter - Megan Racing adjustable coilovers, Firestone Firehawk Indy 500s - Tuned by Ryan @ GPI
InFiD3ViL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 05:11 PM   #3
TommyTheCat
SHKE BKE
 
TommyTheCat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro
Join Date: May 2014
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,055
i might be reading this wrong but... you bypass the relay and then the A/C engages normally? might just be a bad relay? swap it with another if you haven't already just for a quick test

also keep in mind that if you need to replace that module you will need to program it with a scan tool also
TommyTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 08:23 AM   #4
Badbubba
GrINned & JUICEd
 
Badbubba's Avatar
 
Drives: 15STI, 10Expy, 10 2SS/RS M6, 47KB1
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 973
Not related to your issue, but did you add the correct amount of oil to the system?
__________________
N.O. Plate(dedicated fuel tank, progressive, fuel hose upgrade, remote opener, heater, console switches), LNC2000, CTAP, ARH 1 7/8" LTs/gutted cats/X pipe/mufflers, Jet Hot coated LTs, JRE SCT Tune, CAI, Scoop, Rx Catch Can, Gates heater hose relocation, Remote clutch & auto brake res, Metco loop, Momentum Tunnel Brace, TSW Nurb 18" 555 & 555R, Pfadt trailing arms & toe rods, Autometer WB, Fesler Pillar Pod, LED strips (int), Lloyds floor & trunk mats, LED DRL/front turn & license plate, DRL harness, VLEDs tail lights, Plasticoat Bowties. Ord: Oct 5, 2009 Rec: Nov 19, 2009 13.17@112.6 stock
Badbubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 07:22 AM   #5
daytripr69
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: lakeland fl
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyTheCat View Post
i might be reading this wrong but... you bypass the relay and then the A/C engages normally? might just be a bad relay? swap it with another if you haven't already just for a quick test

also keep in mind that if you need to replace that module you will need to program it with a scan tool also
already tried that. when on the scanner the request for the ac was never recieved. ordered new switches from a salvage yard as everywhere else says no longer available. had one ordered from gmpartswarehouse.com but they canceled the order and refunded my money.
daytripr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 07:23 AM   #6
daytripr69
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: lakeland fl
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badbubba View Post
Not related to your issue, but did you add the correct amount of oil to the system?
yes dont remember the exact amount the car takes but comp was shipped with 2oz in it and i added more to bring it up to the total required.
daytripr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 12:53 PM   #7
CamaroBarb
 
Drives: cheby Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: usa
Posts: 564
Quote:
Originally Posted by daytripr69 View Post
already tried that. when on the scanner the request for the ac was never recieved. ordered new switches from a salvage yard as everywhere else says no longer available. had one ordered from gmpartswarehouse.com but they canceled the order and refunded my money.
What switches are not available?
CamaroBarb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2020, 01:49 PM   #8
daytripr69
 
Drives: 2010 RS
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: lakeland fl
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroBarb View Post
What switches are not available?
im guessing not, havent called a dealer. was waiting on the bucket of lube to get here first.
daytripr69 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.