Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2011, 12:20 AM   #1
BloodUSMC
Blood Sucking War Machine
 
Drives: Black 2011 Camaro 2LT/RS - A6
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern, NJ
Posts: 661
Tire pressure monitor mixing tires sides?

I was putting air in my front left tire today and it read 38. so I released some air and it seems like its registering on the tire pressure monitor the right tire.

so I deflate the left tire a little and the right side on the car dashboard is going down.

Could this be when I took off my rims I switched them from one side to the other?
__________________
BLACK 2011 2LT/RS COUPE. Roto Fab Intake, MRT 1.0, OBX LT Headers, Magnaflow resonated x pipe, Trifecta Tune
BloodUSMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:30 AM   #2
The IOM Ninja
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 10' IOM 2SS/RS, 13' GB Shelby GT500
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 2,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodUSMC View Post
I was putting air in my front left tire today and it read 38. so I released some air and it seems like its registering on the tire pressure monitor the right tire.

so I deflate the left tire a little and the right side on the car dashboard is going down.

Could this be when I took off my rims I switched them from one side to the other?
Did you recalibrate the TPMS after you switched the tires?
The IOM Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:31 AM   #3
BloodUSMC
Blood Sucking War Machine
 
Drives: Black 2011 Camaro 2LT/RS - A6
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern, NJ
Posts: 661
No I didn't. how do I do that?
__________________
BLACK 2011 2LT/RS COUPE. Roto Fab Intake, MRT 1.0, OBX LT Headers, Magnaflow resonated x pipe, Trifecta Tune
BloodUSMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:35 AM   #4
The IOM Ninja
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 10' IOM 2SS/RS, 13' GB Shelby GT500
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 2,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodUSMC View Post
No I didn't. how do I do that?
Go into the DIC Tire Pressure Menu and Hold the button on the side of the Turn Signal Handle thing Until you hear a horn noise, then it will ask you if you're sure you want to reset. Then the turn signal on the that corresponds to the place on the Camaro you must start at will light up solid. Front Driver, Front Passenger, Rear Driver, Rear Passenger. In that order, Starting with the Front Driver tire either release air or fill the tire until the car honks at you, then move to the next one.
The IOM Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:37 AM   #5
BloodUSMC
Blood Sucking War Machine
 
Drives: Black 2011 Camaro 2LT/RS - A6
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northern, NJ
Posts: 661
wow, thanks
__________________
BLACK 2011 2LT/RS COUPE. Roto Fab Intake, MRT 1.0, OBX LT Headers, Magnaflow resonated x pipe, Trifecta Tune
BloodUSMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 12:38 AM   #6
The IOM Ninja
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 10' IOM 2SS/RS, 13' GB Shelby GT500
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sherwood Park, AB
Posts: 2,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by BloodUSMC View Post
wow, thanks
No problem
The IOM Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 06:19 AM   #7
HDRDTD


 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 Vert M6 ECF
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Trenton, Michigan
Posts: 5,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by The IOM Ninja View Post
Go into the DIC Tire Pressure Menu and Hold the button on the side of the Turn Signal Handle thing Until you hear a horn noise, then it will ask you if you're sure you want to reset. Then the turn signal on the that corresponds to the place on the Camaro you must start at will light up solid. Front Driver, Front Passenger, Rear Driver, Rear Passenger. In that order, Starting with the Front Driver tire either release air or fill the tire until the car honks at you, then move to the next one.
That method works on my 08 Malibu. but it does NOT work on my 11 Vert.
On the new car, it actually requires a special hand-held device that you hold next to each tire in sequence till the car beeps acknowledging it's read that tire.
Only th edealer has the special hand-held gadget. When th edealer did my TPMS for me when I bought new wheels/tires, I told him i'll buy one of thos e gadgets, but he told me even though they have come out with a new smaller version of the gadget, the one they use would sell for around $600.
The goo snews is, the dealer told me that any time I change wheels/tires, just stop by and they'll re-calibrate the new setup for free.
It only takes about 5 min to do all 4 wheels.
HDRDTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:44 AM   #8
JWood
RJT 2LT is a blast
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2004 Tahoe
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRDTD View Post
That method works on my 08 Malibu. but it does NOT work on my 11 Vert
.
Check your owners manual, it works on my 2010.
__________________
2LT RJT M6 No RS No Sunroof
2000 Order Accepted by GM (10-19-09)
3000 Order Accepted by Production (10-26-09)
TPW (11-09-09)
3300 Order Scheduled for Production (10-27-09)
3400 Order Broadcast (11-03-09)
3800 Order Produced (11-06-09)
VIN 2G1FG1EV1A9165197
Avialable to ship (11-09-09)
Shipped (11-12-09) Rail car ETTX 852949
Delivered (11-25-09)
JWood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:45 AM   #9
ponbigi
 
ponbigi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CAMARO LS
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDRDTD View Post
That method works on my 08 Malibu. but it does NOT work on my 11 Vert.
On the new car, it actually requires a special hand-held device that you hold next to each tire in sequence till the car beeps acknowledging it's read that tire.
Only th edealer has the special hand-held gadget. When th edealer did my TPMS for me when I bought new wheels/tires, I told him i'll buy one of thos e gadgets, but he told me even though they have come out with a new smaller version of the gadget, the one they use would sell for around $600.
The goo snews is, the dealer told me that any time I change wheels/tires, just stop by and they'll re-calibrate the new setup for free.
It only takes about 5 min to do all 4 wheels.
Read your owners manual
ponbigi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:56 AM   #10
VR Baron
SoCal Camaro5 Race Team
 
VR Baron's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 VR 2SS RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SO CAL
Posts: 13,537
Had that that happen on my 2010 also but never did adjsut it before Itraded it in. Thanks for the input.
VR Baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:56 AM   #11
djb525
 
djb525's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS M6 Black
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 226
Worked on my 11 with stock and snow tires.
djb525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:03 AM   #12
Papa T
 
Papa T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT RJT, 6A, 19" polished
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 747
Works on my 2011 both stock rims and my snow tire rims TPMS from the Tire Rack.
But I believe the sequence is Dr Front, Pass Front, Pass rear, Dr Rear.
Check the manual.

Here is the link to down load the manual from the Chevy site.
http://www.chevrolet.com/owners/chevy-manuals/

You need to do this each time you rotate or swap out rims.
__________________

Last edited by Papa T; 10-23-2011 at 09:17 AM.
Papa T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:24 AM   #13
Papa T
 
Papa T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2LT RJT, 6A, 19" polished
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 747

Looks like either method will work???
Using tool or letting air out of the tire.
Or maybe there is a cut off date/VIN?????



OK this is from the 2011 Manual I just downloaded. (NOTE: Is different from my printed 2011 Manual [section 10-61 10-62])
Section 10-64 and 10-65
The TPMS matching process is:
1. Set the parking brake.
2. Turn the ignition to ON/RUN with
the engine off.
3. Go to the TPM vehicle
information screen on the DIC.
See Driver Information Center
(DIC) on page 5‑26. Press set to
relearn the sensors. The horn
sounds twice to signal the
receiver is in relearn mode
and TIRE LEARNING ACTIVE
message displays on the DIC
screen.
4. Start with the driver side
front tire.
5. Place the relearn tool against
the tire sidewall, near the valve
stem. Then press the button
to activate the TPMS sensor.
A horn chirp confirms that the
sensor identification code has
been matched to this tire and
wheel position.
6. Proceed to the passenger
side front tire, and repeat the
procedure in Step 5.
7. Proceed to the passenger
side rear tire, and repeat the
procedure in Step 5.
8. Proceed to the driver side rear
tire, and repeat the procedure in
Step 5.
9. After hearing the confirming horn
chirp for the driver side rear tire,
the horn sounds two more times
to signal the tire learning mode
is no longer active. Turn the
ignition to LOCK/OFF.
10. Set all four tires to the
recommended air pressure
level as indicated on the Tire
and Loading Information label.
The tires air pressure will not
appear on the screen until driving
begins.

I just did this ~4 days ago and it worked fine
__________________

Last edited by Papa T; 10-23-2011 at 12:06 PM.
Papa T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 09:47 AM   #14
suplex

 
suplex's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Coupe, 1LT, A6, No RS Package.
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Freehold, NJ. 07728
Posts: 1,039
One thing that puzzles me, is if you want all four tires to be the same pressure, wouldn't it not matter where the tires were placed?

I would completely understand this if you had different size wheels in the front versus the back and they took different pressures, then I wouldn't even question it at all.

I have a 1LT without the RS package and I have 18" Wheels/Tires that require 35psi all the way around. As long as their all set correctly to 35psi, wouldn't it not matter what position each tire was in?
__________________
Never Underestimate The Power of Forums
suplex is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to program your new TPM Tire Pressure Monitor sensors patrickt Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 29 10-22-2013 05:10 PM
CEL - P1682 PSU SS Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 4 09-29-2011 07:27 PM
Phony low pressure tire warnings. Ivas Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 16 03-28-2011 03:19 PM
Max Tire Pressure when Autocrossing on Stock Tires? Arachnyd Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 0 03-04-2011 10:28 AM
I think i'm done waiting. pinkcamaro10 Off-topic Discussions 332 05-13-2009 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.