Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2017, 07:01 PM   #1
NWRedRock
 
NWRedRock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro LS
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7
Unclear about adding remote start

My vehicle: 2015 LS, Automatic, key fob does not have the remote start button, only unlock, lock, trunk and horn/panic.

I have reached out to 2 local dealers and they cannot confirm if my car has the remote start module/transmitter already installed or not based on my VIN. It does have remote keyless entry as well as the "black box" mounted at the top of the windshield, next to the rear view mirror.

I am wondering if there are specific RPO codes that I would be looking for on my car that would confirm whether or not the remote start module is already installed.

If the module is installed, what would be required to activate this feature?

If the module is not installed, can an OEM remote start system be installed?

Not that it makes any difference, but my VIN starts with a "2", which I understand indicates it was made/assembled in Canada. I have read enough about this that I am dangerously confused.

I appreciate any assistance.
NWRedRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 07:06 PM   #2
jrhagen
Banned
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 2,713
I had it added to a 2015 Silverado. Any dealership can do it.
But it will not work on the phone app if it wasn't factory installed.
jrhagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 07:29 PM   #3
CamaroFred


 
CamaroFred's Avatar
 
Drives: Miss Con Ception
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,551
If you have remote start then your Camaro should have the 5 button remote.

I thought all automatics came with it, but the LS doesn't have all the features that LTs and SSs have.

The dealer can find out by running your VIN. They do that when ordering a windshield. I guess they find the build sheet.
You can ask Matthew9440 for one; Anybody need a build sheet?
__________________
2011 1SS/RS LS3 CGM
CamaroFred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 11:55 PM   #4
splashlog48
 
splashlog48's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Green SS M6
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: CleveBurbs Ohio
Posts: 649
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrhagen View Post
I had it added to a 2015 Silverado. Any dealership can do it.
But it will not work on the phone app if it wasn't factory installed.
I had it done on my '14 Silverado too-- Remote start with lock/unlock.
It cost $200 at a local truck & car accessory shop.
__________________
Edelbrock EForce Blower, RDP custom grind cam with upgrades,Stainless Power Headers with HighFlow Cats, Stainless Power Retro catback, DSS halfshafts, CAI brand CAI, Tuned ON the Dyno by Steve at RDP. SLP rims,All vinyl stripes removed and painted on, custom hand painted pinstriping, Custom leather seats, Lloyds mats,windows tinted, Sparks emblems, Hurst Billit shifter, and too many small items to list.
splashlog48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 08:51 AM   #5
ron123

 
ron123's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 989
Back a few years ago there is a thread that documents the process for the early Gen5.
Depending on steps they did themselves, or helpful dealer, cost $125 ish.
Thread Here: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=111701
Excerpt here:
Attached Images
 
__________________
2014 2SS/RS, Z28 CAI and High Wing Spoiler, ZL1 5.1:1 Ratio Short-Throw Shifter, ZL1 Pedals, ZL1 splash guards, NPP Dual-mode quad tip exhaust, Z28 strut tower brace, Camaro LED Cup-holders with footwell Lighting option, Leather visors, and Leather E-brake boot. Chevy dealer sponsored 67 retro SS nose stripe package.
ron123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 09:22 AM   #6
DvKillar

 
DvKillar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Chevy Camaro 2LS
Join Date: May 2017
Location: MWC, OK
Posts: 802
Great idea! I have same setup on my 2LS. same box by mirror. With winter coming, I would love to have that! keep us posted on what you do!
DvKillar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 12:19 PM   #7
NWRedRock
 
NWRedRock's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro LS
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7
So, I just got confirmation from 2 dealers that, based on my VIN, my car does not have the module needed for remote start and it is not available from GM to add to my car. I wish this were not the case...so it sounds like my option at this point would be aftermarket. :|
NWRedRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 03:32 PM   #8
MurderedLS3
 
MurderedLS3's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 M6 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 14
Has anyone here ever put a Remote Start on a M6? really thinking about doing that if i can,
tired of walking out an starting it at work to get it warmed out

Just a Lazy Kid Wondering Thanks!
MurderedLS3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.