Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2019, 06:12 PM   #1
Maroon 6.2L SS
 
Maroon 6.2L SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS A6
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 88
Keep losing power???

Hey all. I've got something going on here and don't understand what it is.

I've got a 2010 Camaro SS A6 with most basic bolt-ons with suspension parts and drag radials. No headers or cam or stall converter though.

My first run in mid April was 12.72 with a 1.89 60'. Runs after that until now have been slowly getting worse and worse and worse. Today I ran a 2.11 60' with a 13.4. I've kept everything the same, tire pressure, burnouts, same drag strip, changed lanes, monitored DA, same weight and fuel amounts etc...etc...I talked to a couple guys there and they thought something was wrong. I haven't thrown a CEL either. I have a custom tune from Jannetty. One guy had mentioned compression loss?

One thing that I did notice happening over the last month or so, is, when I start the car up cold, it does a little bit of a miss/hiccup before it actually runs smooth.
Maroon 6.2L SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:37 PM   #2
Joe M 2012 2SS

 
Joe M 2012 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Shelby NC
Posts: 2,239
Times will be worse now due to density altitude, or DA. I'm sure it was cooler in April when you ran 12.7, so running 13.4 now in much warmer air is quite normal for a naturally aspirated car.

Since you have a tune from Jannetty, I'm assuming you have an SCTX4?, record a cold start and e-mail it to them. Maybe your idle just needs adjusting.

I would also record a pass at the dragstrip and send it to them, e-mail tunes are limited versus dyno tunes because on the dyno, the tuner can see exactly what the car is doing, by sending the recorded data back to them, they can see exactly what the car is doing and then make any necessary adjustments.

I don't use Jannetty, but I use Dynosteve at RDP. I have had to send several passes to him so he can see what is going on to make necessary adjustments to my tune. He always gets it right eventually. But I can't expect him to do it without the recorded data being sent to him. I'm sure Ted's tunes are good as well, but just like Steve, he can only work with the data you give him.
__________________


Roto-Fab intake, SW 1 7/8" LT w/hi flow cats, Flowmaster outlaw exhaust, UDP, 160* stat, Circle D 3200, Moroso catch can, TCI line lock, Zex Nitrous 125 shot, 3.91 gear, Eaton True-trac, DSS 1000hp axles..... Tuned via SCTX4 by Dynosteve at RDP.
Joe M 2012 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 10:01 PM   #3
Dylan1214
 
Dylan1214's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro SS L99
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 204
Check your plugs
__________________
MODS: GPI MAX Package Cam (229/250,111 LSA) LS7 Ported&Milled heads,Johnson 2110 Lifters,BTR .660 Springs,CHE Trunnions,C5R chain,DSX Flex Fuel kit,Bosch 62lb Injectors,ZL1 Fuel Pump,MAMO Ported MSD Intake manifold,BOWhite ported Throttle body,25% UDP,CAI Intake,Intake Scoop,Kooks 1 7/8 headers,Borla attak cat back,Elite catch can,BMR Motor Mounts,CircleD 5C 4000-4200 Torque converter,ADM trans cooler,Jannetty Trans dipstick,DSS Aluminum Driveshaft,3.91 Gears,Eaton TrueTrac,JRE Billet caps,BMR Trailing arms,BMR Toe rods,BMR rear sway bar,Pegasus Solid sub frame bushings.
Dylan1214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 04:22 AM   #4
StingrayblueSS
 
StingrayblueSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan1214 View Post
Check your plugs
I had a wire come off during a pass and I thought I broke something. Bad vibration and sounded like shit.
StingrayblueSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 09:22 AM   #5
Vegas Bound
 
Drives: 2013 Sparkly Red One
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Landed in Vegas
Posts: 671
Replace your battery, seems to be the go to solution around here for everything. And check all your grounds.
__________________
Lots of bolt on stuff
1.36 60'
6.29 1/8 mile
TBD 1/4 mile
Vegas Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.