Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Old 06-12-2014, 06:07 PM   #1
joeg112

Drives: 2014 Camaro SS
Replacing Factory speakers in SS

Hey all I am a Camaro newbie. I just bought a 2014 Camaro SS1 and was hoping to do some minor upgrades for starters.

What are the front speaker sizes? Looks like a 1" Tweeter and 6.5" round speakers and the rear speakers look like 6x9's but just curious if anyone knows for sure. Also i see that the rear speakers have harnesses, does anyone know if all the speakers are harness in so all i have to do is buy new speakers and reattach new/old harness. I will eventually add a amplifier but since i am just starting out. I am curious what is behind the panels before i start going crazy. SO any information will be helpful. I am searching this forum like crazy for answers so im sorry if this seems like a repost.

And finally

I would like to add the backup camera but wasnt sure if the factory mylink system has a output in the back of it. Or if it is even a option. Could someone tell me if its possible? I know my dealer had a upgrade available for a few 100$ but was hoping to do it myself. Can it be hooked to the mylink or do i have to goto the rearview camera. I would like to avoid buying a new headunit and dash kit for now.

I have some knowledge and love a challenge.
joeg112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 06:23 PM   #2
Camaroshark

Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS RJT, 6speed
********.com is your friend.

The search engine here is your friend. There's a ton of threads on replacement of the factory door speakers and the rear speakers. The doors are 6.5 with 1 inch tweeters. The rears are 6x9.

There are also a ton of threads about amp replacement in the boston equipped cars.