Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-2015, 11:59 AM   #1
sterlingRPI
 
sterlingRPI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS Victory Red
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Albany NY
Posts: 63
How to replace AC belt

Here is a DIY video made by my wife and me on how to replace the stretch fit belt for V8 camaros. The belts are a one time use, and if yours is squeaking or coming off you'll need a new one The belt was a GATES K040373SF and the stretch fit tool is a GATES 91030. Both are cheap online. Its a very easy job, just have to know the trick on how to use the stretch fit tool.

Hope this is helpful to some. Enjoy!

sterlingRPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 08:31 PM   #2
Johnnyrod
 
Johnnyrod's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 ecs SS
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ca
Posts: 34
Nice DIY thanks
Johnnyrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 08:08 AM   #3
BLU DUCE


 
BLU DUCE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1SS/RS IBM Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chittenango, NY, USA
Posts: 7,043
One other thing you should do before you put the belt on. Take a steel wire brush & clean up the belt wheel. I'm not mocking the person but that wheel is really rusty. A 1in. socket slips on the nut on my v-8. And I have every socket all the way up to a 38mm.
They don't make a 25mm that I know of in all my large sockets they made a 23-24-26-27 and up but skipped the 25mm. for what reason I have no idea. And I have been everywhere looking for the 25mm and no one has it.

Any ideas out there.
__________________
BLU DUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 09:49 AM   #4
Red2014SS


 
Red2014SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 2,421
http://www.lowes.com/pd_338072-25428...ductId=3388876

25mm Lowe's
__________________
2014 2SS/RS, L99, SW LTH w/HF Cats, GMPP Ex. Z/28 CAI, FR41s in PVD Black Chrome, Recaros, Pfadt Sway
377hp, 383tq 12.739@110.44 MPH
Red2014SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 11:53 AM   #5
Sickness91Z28
Reaper Crew
 
Sickness91Z28's Avatar
 
Drives: Blown 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 985
Just replaced mine.....disappeared one day! I went ahead and used a zip tie, don't even need the tool
__________________

2010 Camaro SS
SLP TVS2300 Blower, Blower Cam, Lingenfelter Heads, Meth Injected, 5lbs of Boost@700 BHP
Pedders XA Coilovers
Sickness91Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 05:13 PM   #6
BLU DUCE


 
BLU DUCE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1SS/RS IBM Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chittenango, NY, USA
Posts: 7,043
Found a 25mm ordered it today. But I didn't order the deep one. I wanted the shallow one.
__________________
BLU DUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 10:47 PM   #7
olblue75


 
olblue75's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clarksville Tennesse.
Posts: 5,793
Snap On makes a 25mm in 6 an 12 point 1/2 drive...
olblue75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2015, 07:40 PM   #8
BLU DUCE


 
BLU DUCE's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1SS/RS IBM Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chittenango, NY, USA
Posts: 7,043
Your write up for the DIY is spot on. I see you have a 2SS. I took the CAI tube off then the drive belt off then cut the A/C belt off. Went to put the stretch belt tool on and it keep hitting something behind the pully wheel.

So I got my 4 books 1,000 pages of manual for these 5thh Camaros. Started reading the next step just to find out. I have the RPO L99 so it is necessary to loosen and reposition or remove the camshaft position sensor/actuator wire harness bracket for belt installation. This just made it a big pain in the rear. Took me a little over an hour.
And I used a 15/16 deep socket 1/2 drive it fit the tightest. Better than a 25mm or 1 in. socket.
__________________
BLU DUCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 07:45 PM   #9
Stephen12ZL1


 
Stephen12ZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: '21 ZLE A10
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 6,650
the GM harmonic balancer bolt is 24mm not 25mm. If you have an ARP balancer bolt, it is 1 1/16" 12 point.
__________________
'21 ZLE A10 Wild Cherry PDR 2:00.78 VIR Full
'17 ZL1 A10 Mosaic Black PDR/Nav 2:03.08 VIR Full 11.003@129.2 1.75 (sold)
'15 Z/28 #325 Black a/c & stereo. 2:10.1 VIR Full (sold)
'12 ZL1 A6 Black 10.52@131 1.55 60' 2:13 VIR Full (sold)
Stephen12ZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 08:57 AM   #10
LSX Camaro
Master ASE, GM, LSX Tech.
 
LSX Camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,034
It is not necessary to use the installation tool or remove the cam sensor. I install these belts all the time. Takes less than 5 minutes to swap out both belts.
__________________
2010 2SSRS A6, Custom Pat G. Cam, WCCH Cylinder Heads, Kooks Headers/Exhaust, BTR Valvetrain, Fluidampr 25% UDP, All Engine ARP bolts, Flex-a-lite radiator/Trans cooler, Yank converter, PFADT Suspension, ADM Race Intake/Scoop, Torq tow hook, CFD auto shifter, Dynojet AFR gauge, Aeroforce scan gauge, Brake Performance rotors/pads
Prothane bushings, ZL1 wheels, spoiler, Z/28 wickerbill, 1LE Aero/Suspension Package, Anderson Composites COPO Carbon Fiber Hood, LED lighting, Elite Catch Can, Improved Racing oil pan baffle, crank scraper, windage tray
480 RWHP 452 RWTQ + Nitrous Express 150 Shot
LSX Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 09:14 AM   #11
KGoddard
 
KGoddard's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NOVA
Posts: 351
I know im reviving a dead thread, but today I went to replace my AC belt and everything went well except for this...



Is there a way to get the belt to jump back on track on the compressor or am I going to have to buy a new belt?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
__________________
12.3 @113MPH - Full Bolt-Ons w/ Nitto 555r on 18" wheel
KGoddard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2017, 02:08 PM   #12
fastbroshi
 
fastbroshi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mesquite
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSX Camaro View Post
It is not necessary to use the installation tool or remove the cam sensor. I install these belts all the time. Takes less than 5 minutes to swap out both belts.
Would you share your method with us?
fastbroshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 10:41 PM   #13
blue-bayou
 
blue-bayou's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM SS/RS/Stick
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Holler
Posts: 231
Well I’m on my second a/c belt and decided to do it myself when I came across this thread. I let the dealership do it the first time since I was too afraid of doing it wrong and I didn’t have the tool. Well they didn’t align the belt correctly and two months later it was half gone. Fast forward 60k miles and a broken valve spring, I still don’t have the tool and figured I couldn’t do any worse than the dealership. Approached like putting a chain on a bicycle and it worked like a charm. I think it was easier than putting on the main belt. I put it behind the balancer, aligned the belt on the a/c pulley, routed it over the balancer as far as I could by hand then rotated the engine a couple turns and that was that.
__________________
blue-bayou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2018, 05:39 AM   #14
KGoddard
 
KGoddard's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NOVA
Posts: 351
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue-bayou View Post
Well Iím on my second a/c belt and decided to do it myself when I came across this thread. I let the dealership do it the first time since I was too afraid of doing it wrong and I didnít have the tool. Well they didnít align the belt correctly and two months later it was half gone. Fast forward 60k miles and a broken valve spring, I still donít have the tool and figured I couldnít do any worse than the dealership. Approached like putting a chain on a bicycle and it worked like a charm. I think it was easier than putting on the main belt. I put it behind the balancer, aligned the belt on the a/c pulley, routed it over the balancer as far as I could by hand then rotated the engine a couple turns and that was that.
Was your broken valve spring related to them not putting the AC belt on correctly???

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
__________________
12.3 @113MPH - Full Bolt-Ons w/ Nitto 555r on 18" wheel
KGoddard is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
ac belt, belt, belt replacement, chirpping, squeaking

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.