Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2012, 12:06 PM   #1
camarolover911
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 6
2010 camaro v6 p062b, p0300, p0301,

So i have a 2010 camaro RS and I put an Airaide intake on it and flowmaster exhaust. Everything was fine and then it began to sputter and throw p0300 and p0301 (misfires). It stopped for a while (6 months). Now it started again and I changed my mass flow to a jet mass flow and put hypertech programming on it. It started doing the same codes as before except every single time I drove the car to the point where I had to park it. Also, it had p062b which is ENGINE CONTROL MODULE (ECM) INTERNAL CIRCUIT MALFUNCTION. I have no idea what to do with it because there are so many things it could be. So far I have resealed my intake to make sure there are no air leaks. Also, I went ahead and tried disconnecting my battery for the 3 hours, but as soon as 100 miles passed it threw the p062b code again. The only thing I can think of thats left is injectors, O2 sensors, AFE sensor, and plugs. Anyone encountered this problem yet and know how to fix it? So far Chevy has been absolutely worthless when I took it in. So far they have told me "We see the codes it threw but we don't know why". Thanks in adavance for any advice.
camarolover911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 12:49 PM   #2
67 GTO
13.453 @ 101.90
 
67 GTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT Rally Yellow
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Pa.
Posts: 1,877
Quote:
Originally Posted by camarolover911 View Post
So i have a 2010 camaro RS and I put an Airaide intake on it and flowmaster exhaust. Everything was fine and then it began to sputter and throw p0300 and p0301 (misfires). It stopped for a while (6 months). Now it started again and I changed my mass flow to a jet mass flow and put hypertech programming on it. It started doing the same codes as before except every single time I drove the car to the point where I had to park it. Also, it had p062b which is ENGINE CONTROL MODULE (ECM) INTERNAL CIRCUIT MALFUNCTION. I have no idea what to do with it because there are so many things it could be. So far I have resealed my intake to make sure there are no air leaks. Also, I went ahead and tried disconnecting my battery for the 3 hours, but as soon as 100 miles passed it threw the p062b code again. The only thing I can think of thats left is injectors, O2 sensors, AFE sensor, and plugs. Anyone encountered this problem yet and know how to fix it? So far Chevy has been absolutely worthless when I took it in. So far they have told me "We see the codes it threw but we don't know why". Thanks in adavance for any advice.
Did you remove the Hypertech tune and reflash back to stock?
__________________


GMPP exhaust/JBA shorties/Vararam CAI/VMax TB/SLP Pulley/VMax IM isolator/MACE Ported IM +Plenum Spacer/IPF Tuned
67 GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 12:59 PM   #3
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,064
I would swap the jet back out......try that and let us know. The Bosch ECU is very touchy when it comes to the MAF.
SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 01:44 PM   #4
camarolover911
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 6
I have not removed the tune since it was doing most of this before... I'll try removing the mass flow and see if that makes any difference... I talked to someone today who builds drag cars and they said that they would upgrade the injectors. I don't think that would be a solution but I'll let you know what happens with the stock Mass flow back in
camarolover911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 10:55 AM   #5
SC2150
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RS, RX supercharged
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 6,064
I thinkk the person you talked to does not have experiance with the 2400 PSI pressure of the direct injection motors. Wehold divisional, national, and world championships in both NHRA & IHRA and dont know of any classes that ron DI motors.

You really have no choice to upgrade injectors.

Pull the JET out and I am willing to bet you will be fine. I know of no suitable replacement for the OEM Bosch unit on these 3.6 motors that will work.
SC2150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2012, 01:13 PM   #6
camarolover911
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 6
I did thanks for the advice.. It seems better now so hopefully it won't do it again. Thanks again
camarolover911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:34 PM   #7
camarolover911
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 6
hey thought it was fixed but all those same codes just came back up even with the factory mass flow in... any other advice on what it might be? at this point i'm completely clueless.. thanks in advance!
camarolover911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:57 PM   #8
SmokeJ
 
SmokeJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2LT RS Auto
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Alamogordo, NM
Posts: 50
Send a message via Skype™ to SmokeJ
hey, i had this very same problem for a while now. my 2010 v6 rs is all stock, ecu is updated to the latest 'patch' and they already replaced one injector (coz of the p0301 code) but it didnt help a lot, now after a couple months its just back to square one...

also from me, any help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
IOM 2LT RS Automatic
ORDERED 08.07.09
PICKED UP 11.18.09
GIGGITY!
SmokeJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 05:10 PM   #9
camarolover911
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro RS
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 6
after a lot of fighting with chevy i still have gotten absolutely nothing back from them other than its a circuit malfunction and they have claimed to not be able to fix it...very unhappy...
camarolover911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2021, 03:15 AM   #10
AlanRubin
 
Drives: 2010 LS
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Pgh
Posts: 96
Any updates on this P062B code? I came to an abrupt stop last night, and it has
gotten 100% worse, and persistent. Did an oil change, and trans fluid and filter
change, and as soon as I left the shop, it misfired all the way home, about 16
miles. When I came to that stop, as soon as I accelerated, the CEL began to
blink, and misfires on #4 and #6 began. Usually, I can clear the DTCs while driving
and it resets and runs okay, till it starts again. I can put the car in Neutral, key off
and restart and it was good for 30 miles or so. Now, as soon as I get above 2000
RPMs, it starts.

When I got home from the shop, I keyed off and on a few times, and it was still
misfiring. Then, it smoothed out at idle. However, as I indicated, it has gotten
so much worse since that abrupt stop.
AlanRubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2021, 09:39 PM   #11
predatorftfw
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Kansas
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanRubin View Post
Any updates on this P062B code? I came to an abrupt stop last night, and it has
gotten 100% worse, and persistent. Did an oil change, and trans fluid and filter
change, and as soon as I left the shop, it misfired all the way home, about 16
miles. When I came to that stop, as soon as I accelerated, the CEL began to
blink, and misfires on #4 and #6 began. Usually, I can clear the DTCs while driving
and it resets and runs okay, till it starts again. I can put the car in Neutral, key off
and restart and it was good for 30 miles or so. Now, as soon as I get above 2000
RPMs, it starts.

When I got home from the shop, I keyed off and on a few times, and it was still
misfiring. Then, it smoothed out at idle. However, as I indicated, it has gotten
so much worse since that abrupt stop.
Replying so I can come back and see where this goes. I also have a similar issue just not that code. My obd2 scanner thinks it's a misfire on 6 but the car isn't throwing a code for it. Same thing being fine at idle, intermittent, & 2k rpms almost exactly.
predatorftfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2021, 02:30 AM   #12
AlanRubin
 
Drives: 2010 LS
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Pgh
Posts: 96
Rev the engine above 2500 RPM, it should throw the code for #6 injector circuit.

Mine would not throw the code till I revved it long enough.

I found the problem, finally. I should have gone with my gut feeling from the
very beginning rather than let someone poke into the X2 connector with test
leads, and try and clean the pins and plug with freeking PB Blaster...

It's the X2 connector at the ECU, the longer one.

Beforehand, I had all the injectors tested from the X2 connector, for shorts,
and resistance. They were all at 1.5 to 1.7 ohms, which is normal. I believe
the test pins spread the contacts inside the plug out farther, because the severity
of the misfires got worse immediately afterwards, and has misfires on cylinders
that never had them. So, I had an idea....

When the engine was running, I used my thumb and index finger to put torque on
it to the right, a twisting torque at the connector. The engine stumbled and
recovered with the misfire spreading to #3, #5, which I NEVER had an issue with.
I now had a misfire on, #5 and #6, but no longer #4. I did this by putting the
my thumb on the right bottom corner, and index finger on the top left corner,
and just applied some clockwise torque on the connector.

I then put a twist on it to the left, the engine stumbled, knocked, and got so
bad I had to shut the engine off. One time it shut down on it's own. I had misfires
on #2, #3, #5, and #6. It got all pissed off...

So, what I did was, I used a flat head screw-driver, and stuck it down between
the left row of pins. I carefully spread the pins apart from each other, but did not
go all the way down towards the X1 plug, I thought all the injector control lines
were up at the top. I plugged the header back in, and now only had ONE code,
for #6, I think it was P0206, and #5 was now firing, it had fuel.

I pulled the X2 connector again, and spread the pins at the 3 & 4 area. Plugged
X2 back in, and VOILA! The engine was now running! No misfires.

My ECU is loose in the bracket, it vibrates, and flops side to side on turns. That
must apply just enough torque to the X2 connector, with engine torque, that is
lightly twists the connector by the wire bundle going out to the motor, like a
tether.

So, as of now, it's running, and there are no codes.

FI pins on X2 are:
#6: 2 & 3
#3: 26 & 27
#5: 28 & 29
#4: 50 & 74
#1: 51 & 75
#2: 52 & 53


The rows of pins look like rows of IDE or SCSI pins. You put the flat head screw driver
in between the left row of pins, and gently swing the handle to side to side, to spread
the pins apart from each other. move down, again, move down, again. They
do not need to move away from each other more than 1mm.

The problem is loss of contact in X2 female receptacles. This is a temporary
fix, spreading the rows apart. You will need a new connector eventually, as will I.



Just slightly move all the pins apart. This is a very old trick practiced by many
IT guys, from unplugging, and plugging in IDE, FLOPPY, and SCSI drives into the
interface, and they stop working because the contacts in the plug widen from
that use, and no longer make good contact. We simply spread the pins apart
a little, and the device would work again, then we knew we needed a new data
ribbon cable for the device.
AlanRubin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2021, 09:45 PM   #13
predatorftfw
 
Drives: 2010 2LT RS
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Kansas
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanRubin View Post
Rev the engine above 2500 RPM, it should throw the code for #6 injector circuit.

Mine would not throw the code till I revved it long enough.

I found the problem, finally. I should have gone with my gut feeling from the
very beginning rather than let someone poke into the X2 connector with test
leads, and try and clean the pins and plug with freeking PB Blaster...

It's the X2 connector at the ECU, the longer one.

Beforehand, I had all the injectors tested from the X2 connector, for shorts,
and resistance. They were all at 1.5 to 1.7 ohms, which is normal. I believe
the test pins spread the contacts inside the plug out farther, because the severity
of the misfires got worse immediately afterwards, and has misfires on cylinders
that never had them. So, I had an idea....

When the engine was running, I used my thumb and index finger to put torque on
it to the right, a twisting torque at the connector. The engine stumbled and
recovered with the misfire spreading to #3, #5, which I NEVER had an issue with.
I now had a misfire on, #5 and #6, but no longer #4. I did this by putting the
my thumb on the right bottom corner, and index finger on the top left corner,
and just applied some clockwise torque on the connector.

I then put a twist on it to the left, the engine stumbled, knocked, and got so
bad I had to shut the engine off. One time it shut down on it's own. I had misfires
on #2, #3, #5, and #6. It got all pissed off...

So, what I did was, I used a flat head screw-driver, and stuck it down between
the left row of pins. I carefully spread the pins apart from each other, but did not
go all the way down towards the X1 plug, I thought all the injector control lines
were up at the top. I plugged the header back in, and now only had ONE code,
for #6, I think it was P0206, and #5 was now firing, it had fuel.

I pulled the X2 connector again, and spread the pins at the 3 & 4 area. Plugged
X2 back in, and VOILA! The engine was now running! No misfires.

My ECU is loose in the bracket, it vibrates, and flops side to side on turns. That
must apply just enough torque to the X2 connector, with engine torque, that is
lightly twists the connector by the wire bundle going out to the motor, like a
tether.

So, as of now, it's running, and there are no codes.

FI pins on X2 are:
#6: 2 & 3
#3: 26 & 27
#5: 28 & 29
#4: 50 & 74
#1: 51 & 75
#2: 52 & 53


The rows of pins look like rows of IDE or SCSI pins. You put the flat head screw driver
in between the left row of pins, and gently swing the handle to side to side, to spread
the pins apart from each other. move down, again, move down, again. They
do not need to move away from each other more than 1mm.

The problem is loss of contact in X2 female receptacles. This is a temporary
fix, spreading the rows apart. You will need a new connector eventually, as will I.



Just slightly move all the pins apart. This is a very old trick practiced by many
IT guys, from unplugging, and plugging in IDE, FLOPPY, and SCSI drives into the
interface, and they stop working because the contacts in the plug widen from
that use, and no longer make good contact. We simply spread the pins apart
a little, and the device would work again, then we knew we needed a new data
ribbon cable for the device.
By rev it I assume you mean in park/neutral right?

I like where you're getting at with this. Intermittence probably caused by vibration or a jolt making it seem random. Though I've only seen the p0306 "possibility" once. Just runs like crap. Only true codes were EVAP related.

Will dig into the ecu tomorrow

That sounds like a expensive fix ��

Last edited by predatorftfw; 03-01-2021 at 10:05 PM.
predatorftfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2021, 05:09 AM   #14
AlanRubin
 
Drives: 2010 LS
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Pgh
Posts: 96
It has been intermittent, P062B abd P0304. It just got worse when I came to an
abrupt stop. The X1 and X2 wire bundles go straight back, and are a little tight.
Any engine torque, the wire bundle moves, and since that little but of twist on the
X2 header caused issues, I am to assume that wire bundle moving is doing the same
thing. IT also started to happen under hard acceleration, which is also engine
torque, which moves the wire bundle, tweaking the X2 header.





Yes, if you can hear and feel the misfire, rev to 2500 for about ten seconds, the CEL
should start to blink if it is a misfire. Mine would idle, and the CEL would not be on.
Once I revved the engine, then the CEL started blinking, and I got the code(s). The
last one, being an injector code for #6, not a misfire code. Once I spread all those
pins apart, it all went away. It's still on the rack at the shop, I need rear knuckles,
the UCA bushings in the knuckles are shot.
AlanRubin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.