Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2012, 12:26 PM   #1
black12lt
 
Drives: black 1lt 2012
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: auburn alabama
Posts: 178
Anobody famiar with audiocontrol

As the title says, I added a sub and amp to my non na system. In the past ive aleays used what I know now to be pos loc's. I really wanted a clean strong signal this time so I used a lc2i loc/line driver from audiocontrol. I want to uprade my speakers now and will need another amp and thinking about switching to the lc6i. Anyone familiar with it?
black12lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 02:49 PM   #2
Kevinshawnm
Biggz
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS L99 Rally Yellow
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, Indiana
Posts: 568
Audio Control use to make great products. I had a couple of EQT's in my 1st Camaro. "That statement might show my age"
Kevinshawnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:01 PM   #3
Decibel JJ
Car nut
 
Decibel JJ's Avatar
 
Drives: Tahoe Z71, Race cars
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 671
Audio control is pretty good. I've installed a lot of it over the years.

The Best LOC I've found though is the Audiolink PL2. It had the cleanest signal transfer. I would usually have the gain pots about 1/2 to 2/3 depending on the input level voltage.

I think I still have an old Epicenter laying around too .. Shows My age LOL
__________________
Quote: Don't you just hate it when Satan steals your ride and does all these weird ass mods to it?

R.I.P. Evan .. A true Friend
Decibel JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2012, 03:13 PM   #4
black12lt
 
Drives: black 1lt 2012
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: auburn alabama
Posts: 178
I'll have to look into the audiolink. I was pretty much sold on the lc6i until I read your post. Haha and you guys May be "old" but your still camaro owners.. so all isn't bad lol
black12lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:55 AM   #5
2010SSRSM6


 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: DFW area
Posts: 6,560
LC6i is a nice unit, but I found a DQL-8 with DDC for the same price. Check amazon and eBay out. Mine was from an audio store that was changing their display. Got it CHEAP.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
UNDER CONSTRUCTION......again......
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:30 AM   #6
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Freeport LPG Export
Posts: 3,836
I have a Audiocontrol Matrix 6 channel line driver if you're interested. I got it a couple months ago before I found out the BA head unit has a high voltage output. I only had it in the car about a week and took it out. Still new. Let me know, I can make it very affordable. I'm not going to need it.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 10:11 AM   #7
black12lt
 
Drives: black 1lt 2012
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: auburn alabama
Posts: 178
It just dawned on me that the lc2i has outputs for highs and a sub. Does this mean I can just buy a four channel amp for my infinity kappas, and just run new speaker wire from the speakers to the amp?? While still powering my mono sub amp?
black12lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:56 AM   #8
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Freeport LPG Export
Posts: 3,836
You can use one set of speakers and a sub with the lc2i. The Matrix 6 channel will run two sets of speakers, front and rear, and a sub.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 09:37 AM   #9
black12lt
 
Drives: black 1lt 2012
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: auburn alabama
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIweldace View Post
You can use one set of speakers and a sub with the lc2i. The Matrix 6 channel will run two sets of speakers, front and rear, and a sub.
What if I powered the components up front, and used the sub for lows and bass. I've never done it before, but this is my first coupe as well and the backseat doesn't get used. How do you think it will sound?
black12lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 01:28 AM   #10
CWI
Helping Build America
 
CWI's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS,LS3 2013 Duramax 3500HD
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Freeport LPG Export
Posts: 3,836
You would stil get a small amount of fil sound from the rears probably. Some people prefer no fill in the rear or no tweets in the rear. It's all personal preference. I like fill, to me it balances the sound so that it isn't as noticable where the sound is coming from. Ideally, your "soundstage" should be front and center, not sounding like the band is by your feet. Not sure how that can be accomplished without a decent investment on equipment.
__________________
Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "Holy shit, what a ride!"
CWI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:48 PM   #11
1fast10
Pearson
 
1fast10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1SS RS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Roseville
Posts: 24
I was hoping you might be able to help me. I have an lc6i and the JL Audio W6 12x2 stealthbox and a JX5001d amp. I pulled signal from my rear deck speaker but Im not sure if i used the signal wire. I mean this thing hits harder than Chuck liddel in his prime but im getting some humming noise when i remote start. Any thoghts
1fast10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:58 PM   #12
CrutchfieldBrooke
 
CrutchfieldBrooke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 1968 Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Norton, VA
Posts: 333
AudioControl makes great equipment and the LC6i is a good product when adding amps to your factory stereo, but you may also want to consider the AudioControl EQS. I know a lot of people that opt for this instead since it doubles as an equalizer and line driver.
CrutchfieldBrooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:15 PM   #13
jeepguy_1980

 
jeepguy_1980's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,311
You're better off not using an LOC and routing the signal from your HU directly to your amp.

This is how I did it with my non-BA setup.
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...1#post=4758811
jeepguy_1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 08:55 PM   #14
CrutchfieldBrooke
 
CrutchfieldBrooke's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, 1968 Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Norton, VA
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepguy_1980 View Post
You're better off not using an LOC and routing the signal from your HU directly to your amp.

This is how I did it with my non-BA setup.
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...1#post=4758811
I've heard systems with and without the use of a line output converter when keeping the stock head unit and there is typically an audible difference in the systems that use an LOC (assuming it is a high quality unit). Especially ones like some of the AudioControl pieces that double as a line driver to bump up the preamp voltage going into the amp. The speaker level inputs on most amps can't clean up the signal quite as well either.

I didn't check out your link to see if you were using the factory or aftermarket stereo, but thought the explanation might be of help to anyone reading this forum not familiar with the differences.
CrutchfieldBrooke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F/S AudioControl LC6i meschwenk Audio / Visual / Electronics/ Gauges / Nav 0 12-21-2011 07:31 PM
Audiocontrol LC2i, LC6i install - anybody done one? luxx989 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 1 12-06-2011 03:49 PM
Difference between AudioControl EQX Equalizer w/ Crossover vs JBL MS-8 Edscapade Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 9 05-02-2011 04:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.