Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2019, 07:58 AM   #1
Thenwhat85
 
Drives: Chevy Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4
Power windows with no bcm

Hello i recently joined the forum to ask this question. Ive search all over the internet and can not get/find a answer. I have a 2010 that has been gutted of all wiring. Its a drag car only and has a bbc and pg in it. All the original glass is in the car and i want to get the drivers side window to work. I have the factory window regulator, door panel and switch. But i cant figure out how to wire this thing without the signal wire from the bcm. I fried the window switch already jumping wires around to try and trick the system.(new one on the the way) and i dont want to go about this on a trial and error method(could get expensive replacing parts) has anyone powered their windows without the module? Thanks for any help and sorry for the drag on question
Thenwhat85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 10:26 AM   #2
2SSRS@Gen5diy
 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: To many to list
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 15,611
It needs a BCM to work, or you have to mimic it.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 11:00 AM   #3
2SSRS@Gen5diy
 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: To many to list
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 15,611
Here is how it works, the switch has no way of powering the window motor, its a resister with two value settings, one for up and one for down, it ties in to the BCM on a lanbus, so when you push down that value is transmitted to the BCM, then the BCM tells a relay to put power on the wire that runs to the motor, if you push up the same happens but polarity is switched.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 06:45 AM   #4
Thenwhat85
 
Drives: Chevy Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4
Okay thankyou. So it seems trying to mimic is damn near impossible. Can i bypass it. Take the motor apart and hard wire it so to say. Eliminated the circuitry in the motor. Get a different switch or modify it to send power to the motor f ok r up and down function
Thenwhat85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 03:11 PM   #5
2SSRS@Gen5diy
 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: To many to list
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 15,611
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thenwhat85 View Post
Okay thankyou. So it seems trying to mimic is damn near impossible. Can i bypass it. Take the motor apart and hard wire it so to say. Eliminated the circuitry in the motor. Get a different switch or modify it to send power to the motor f ok r up and down function
That i do not know, do you have the COPO book that info may be there.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 05:28 PM   #6
Thenwhat85
 
Drives: Chevy Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4
No but i hear the copos keep the bcm. Dont know if thats true or not.
Thenwhat85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 07:56 PM   #7
LevonH
Chevy Enthusiast.
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro ZL1 Summit White
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Calgary Area, Alberta
Posts: 128
Scroll down and there is a left and right harness. You may need more but they have a contact number

https://www.copopartsdirect.com/shop/

COPO Direct.
__________________

Levon H. Bone Stock
LevonH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:28 AM   #8
Thenwhat85
 
Drives: Chevy Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4
Thanks but i already have the factory harness and window regulator. I will give then a call though
Thenwhat85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 08:36 PM   #9
MarkB71
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1
I'm not sure it's the solution you're looking for, but I made mine work by bypassing the window module in the motor, I hooked it up "old school" and set up a remote and relay system so I can bump them down to open and close the door.
MarkB71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 08:53 PM   #10
lemontwist
 
lemontwist's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 2SS/RS M6 totaled 12 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: mooresville nc
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkB71 View Post
I'm not sure it's the solution you're looking for, but I made mine work by bypassing the window module in the motor, I hooked it up "old school" and set up a remote and relay system so I can bump them down to open and close the door.
what he said do a old school switch with a relay it's not really that hard
this is what i used on my 96 worked like a champ it will make the change easier.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-list...&condition=all
lemontwist is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.