Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 05-04-2015, 08:01 AM   #1
NJScorpio

Drives: 2018 Camaro 1LT Hyper Blue Metallic
Reduced Power/Check Engine/(VTC?)

So, since about November, I've been using my VTC with virtually no issues (just one or two right at the start when the temps dropped).

I've been using SP8 on my A6 for several months now. Today, I didn't let my car warm up as usual...which usual I longer than it takes for the revs to drop down and level off. When I pulled away, I got the REDUCED ENGINE POWER alert, and check engine light (on, not flashing).

I shut the car, turned it back on. Check engine light was still on, but driving felt normal (as far as I can tell). The reduced power was VERY noticeable.

So then, on my way toward a highway, I am able to stop/start again to try and clear the CEL, but it was still there.

On the highway, not under any abrupt or heavy throttle, I get the reduced power, as well as the Service Stabilitrack alert (along with all the dash lights). The first alert today, I was just starting off, probably still in 1st or 2nd. This was highway speeds.

I pull over, turn off/wait/turn on, and the CEL is still on but the other issues are gone. Power is back to normal.

I finish my ride to work, with the CEL on (not flashing) and power feeling normal.

Does this sound like the VTC related issue to you guys? I was going to uninstall mine and see how things go, but I love using it. Those who had this issue, did you have to disconnect the VTC to clear the CEL, or will it just clear with time (as I've had with other CELs in other cars).

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
Old 05-04-2015, 08:39 AM   #2
camguynj

Drives: '13 SS/RS LS3 BRM Cammed NPP
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJScorpio View Post