Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics > Engine | Exhaust | Bolt-On | Drivetrain Modifications


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-2019, 06:44 PM   #1
Andeker
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 6
NPP question?

I recently purchased a lightly used 2013 ZL1. In my haste to sound cool I instantly pulled the fuse for the flaps. I have since decided I my want "quiet" on occasion and purchased the mild2wild switch. Before installing I put the fuse in just to check things. I started the car and was instantly confused. If I'm not mistaken momentarily after startup the flaps should close, but they stay open.

Am I wrong that the flaps are supposed to be closed at idle? When vehicle off actuators movable by hand. Are there any other common ways the previous owner May have defeated them? Most obvious mod is rotofab intake, so possibly has a tune. Could a tune turn off app?

Thanks in advance.
Andeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 09:38 PM   #2
ZMEnow

 
Drives: ZL1, 2013, tri-coat-red, manual
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andeker View Post
I recently purchased a lightly used 2013 ZL1. In my haste to sound cool I instantly pulled the fuse for the flaps. I have since decided I my want "quiet" on occasion and purchased the mild2wild switch. Before installing I put the fuse in just to check things. I started the car and was instantly confused. If I'm not mistaken momentarily after startup the flaps should close, but they stay open.

Am I wrong that the flaps are supposed to be closed at idle? When vehicle off actuators movable by hand. Are there any other common ways the previous owner May have defeated them? Most obvious mod is rotofab intake, so possibly has a tune. Could a tune turn off app?

Thanks in advance.
They are open on cold starts until warm up.
ZMEnow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 09:41 PM   #3
DrkPhx

 
DrkPhx's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Triple Black ZL1 / 2006 TB SS
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MN
Posts: 2,232
Flaps are vacuum actuated and open at idle, close at part throttle and open at WOT. I have an exhaust controller that gives 2 options; closed at all times or factory settings. It's nice if you have headers to give a stealthier sound.
DrkPhx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 08:56 AM   #4
Crash76
Team 913
 
Drives: '14 ZL1, '12 GMC Terrain
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA, Central CA
Posts: 1,075
I have a three way controller, open, closed, and stock
Crash76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 04:10 PM   #5
raisingarizona
 
Drives: Acura MDX
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andeker View Post
I recently purchased a lightly used 2013 ZL1. In my haste to sound cool I instantly pulled the fuse for the flaps. I have since decided I my want "quiet" on occasion and purchased the mild2wild switch. Before installing I put the fuse in just to check things. I started the car and was instantly confused. If I'm not mistaken momentarily after startup the flaps should close, but they stay open.

Am I wrong that the flaps are supposed to be closed at idle? When vehicle off actuators movable by hand. Are there any other common ways the previous owner May have defeated them? Most obvious mod is rotofab intake, so possibly has a tune. Could a tune turn off app?

Thanks in advance.
Only the Forza controller will provide an always closed option.
raisingarizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2019, 07:23 PM   #6
RobZL1
fo'shizZL1
 
RobZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ATL
Posts: 707
Quote:
Originally Posted by raisingarizona View Post
Only the Forza controller will provide an always closed option.
That's not entirely true. It might be the only one you can purchase as a kit that does that, but you can also replace the relay and wire a 3-position switch to provide the always closed, always open, or stock options. The always closed position is great for cold starts in the morning and leaving the neighborhood.
__________________
2014 Red Hot #1503 | TBD SAE | RotoFab | 28% OD | GP Tuning 2.5 Cam | 2" TSP LT's | JMS BAP | ID850 | TR7IX | MSD Wires | APEX Catch Can | Metco Breather | Monster LT1-S Triple | C&R HEX | RotoFab Res | Racing Brake Rotors | Self-Tuned w/ HPT
RobZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 06:46 AM   #7
FasNuf
 
FasNuf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 515
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobZL1 View Post
That's not entirely true. It might be the only one you can purchase as a kit that does that, but you can also replace the relay and wire a 3-position switch to provide the always closed, always open, or stock options. The always closed position is great for cold starts in the morning and leaving the neighborhood.
Can you PM me details on this relay?
FasNuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 08:37 AM   #8
RobZL1
fo'shizZL1
 
RobZL1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: ATL
Posts: 707
I forgot that a relay is not required. You can do it that way, but all that's really needed is a 3-way switch that splices into one blue/yellow ground wire to control switch to ground. See this thread, posts 9, 12, and 14, and most importantly #79 and #134-139, 148, 151, 152, 160:

https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=318683

The rest of the thread past #79 is pretty good, too. Shows where people have installed their switches. I like post #129, but mine was installed in the center console box by the original owner, like shown in #156. Works great, although I think I'm about to throw a SW catback on there to get a deeper tone.
__________________
2014 Red Hot #1503 | TBD SAE | RotoFab | 28% OD | GP Tuning 2.5 Cam | 2" TSP LT's | JMS BAP | ID850 | TR7IX | MSD Wires | APEX Catch Can | Metco Breather | Monster LT1-S Triple | C&R HEX | RotoFab Res | Racing Brake Rotors | Self-Tuned w/ HPT
RobZL1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 11:31 PM   #9
FasNuf
 
FasNuf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro ZL1
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Salem Oregon
Posts: 515
You can check out my video. You don't have to wire it as complicated. It only takes 3 wires and they dont need to be very thick either. You switching a ground signal to the ECM is all.
FasNuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 08:07 PM   #10
Smitty CC
 
Smitty CC's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 ZL1
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 166
I have a 2 way rocker switch in the console which is tough to get at. I get all the way open or stock setup mode.
Smitty CC is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.