Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8

Old 07-15-2011, 07:37 AM   #1
Tyler360

Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS/RS
Exclamation Questions on TC/SC, there negative affects on the engine, and power train warranty!!!

I have a few questions concerning forced induction, its negative affects on an engine, and ways to get around the warranty. But first I just want to say I am new here and i don't have a whole lot of experience/knowledge in the world of performance upgrades. In other words, i'm just getting into the hobby. Sorry if thats a bit off-topic but i find that sometimes it helps to know what you are dealing with.

Anyways, with that being said, the vehicle in question is a 100% stock 2011 Camaro 2SS, manual tranny, and a hurst short throw. My questions:

What engine parts risk being damaged when adding a supercharger to a 100% stock LS3? Would a turbo be any different? What other performance upgrades should be made when adding a turbo or supercharger?

Are there any loopholes in getting around the power train warranty? Such as installing a bolt-on turbo or supercharger and removing it if you have to take the vehicle in to make a warranty claim?

As far as the computer goes, can you reset it back to factory settings without leaving any trace of it having ever been modified? If not, would it be possible to buy another computer, use that one with the SC or TC, and then if you have problems, reinstall the original?