Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2016, 03:52 PM   #211
GeoMx087
 
Drives: 2011 SS
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 12
I'm wondering if it makes a difference the level of fuel you have in your tank, after running a few tanks of high-octane only to be on the safe side.
GeoMx087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 03:26 PM   #212
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeoMx087 View Post
I'm wondering if it makes a difference the level of fuel you have in your tank, after running a few tanks of high-octane only to be on the safe side.
I would run 2-3 tanks of premium down as low as you can to make sure you get all the low grade stuff out before you do it.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 06:36 AM   #213
Kevin_Staub
 
Kevin_Staub's Avatar
 
Drives: 45th Anniversary 2SS V8 426hp 6.2l
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 16
Im not going to be the umpteenth person to ask how or why to do this or if it works. My question is... is there a faster way to clear the memory of the octane tables without letting it sit overnight? Maybe something with the battery or elsewhere? (please assume I have no tuner equipment and that Im just a plain driver)
__________________
Kevin_Staub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 09:21 AM   #214
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin_Staub View Post
Im not going to be the umpteenth person to ask how or why to do this or if it works. My question is... is there a faster way to clear the memory of the octane tables without letting it sit overnight? Maybe something with the battery or elsewhere? (please assume I have no tuner equipment and that Im just a plain driver)
Unfortunately, no. If there were we would recommend it.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2016, 03:47 PM   #215
orywig
 
Drives: 2007 Chevy TrailBlazer SS
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Rogersville, AL
Posts: 1
Thanks for the info! this is great!
orywig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 07:45 AM   #216
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by orywig View Post
Thanks for the info! this is great!
No problem.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 03:35 PM   #217
serows1
 
serows1's Avatar
 
Drives: Blue Ray 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Elyria
Posts: 261
I've looked through the entire thread and didn't find the answer and I apologize in advance if I missed it.

I disconnect the battery each winter when I store my 2013 2SS and was wondering if that is enough to reset it or do I still have to do the fuse pull?

Paul
serows1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 02:52 PM   #218
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by serows1 View Post
I've looked through the entire thread and didn't find the answer and I apologize in advance if I missed it.

I disconnect the battery each winter when I store my 2013 2SS and was wondering if that is enough to reset it or do I still have to do the fuse pull?

Paul
That will take care of it. As long as you are keeping premium in it you don't have to worry.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 03:25 PM   #219
MJanowich
Door ding magnet
 
MJanowich's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 2SS/RS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 281
I recently bought a GoPoint BT1 bluetooth ODB2 adapter. Is it possible to view which timing map is currently active and if so, which iPhone app can do it?

Years ago I had the low power issue and even had the car on a dyno to prove it. I didn't go back after I learned of the fuse pull to verify it worked, but I did a few 0-60 runs and they were quicker. It would be nice to check using the ODB2 app to know for sure which fuel map the car is using.
__________________

"When you're racing, it's life. Anything that happens before or after is just waiting."
MJanowich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2016, 05:18 PM   #220
Apex Motorsports
 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 25,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJanowich View Post
I recently bought a GoPoint BT1 bluetooth ODB2 adapter. Is it possible to view which timing map is currently active and if so, which iPhone app can do it?

Years ago I had the low power issue and even had the car on a dyno to prove it. I didn't go back after I learned of the fuse pull to verify it worked, but I did a few 0-60 runs and they were quicker. It would be nice to check using the ODB2 app to know for sure which fuel map the car is using.
Not sure to be honest. I haven't used any of the phone apps.
Apex Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 09:18 AM   #221
oldschoolkat
 
oldschoolkat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 SS Camaro
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 210
This worked 4 me!...faster crank at startup ...also its more reseponsive 😊 Thanks for sharing this tip.....bump

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
oldschoolkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 09:47 AM   #222
GodWentPunk
 
GodWentPunk's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 2SS White Convertible CE/INDY
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Lockport, IL
Posts: 486
I guess it's my turn next tonight...
GodWentPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 07:47 PM   #223
uvraise
 
uvraise's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 Camaro 2SS/RS Convertible
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 130
So, for giggles, I did this today while at work. I pulled the fuses at 6:30Am and reinstalled them at 2:30PM. I've been running 91+ octane for about a month along with my Range to deactivate AFM. I filled up this morning before work and had a 213 mile fuel range by the time I arrived at work.

When I restarted the car, it started stronger and quicker than what I was use to. The first thing I noticed was the fuel range, it had increased by 20 miles to 233!!! it's not much, but I'll take it. Also the throttle was more responsive and the shifting seemed smoother to me. I'm a believer! Thanks for the tip!
uvraise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 08:01 PM   #224
Homeless Man
Homeless Life Chose Me
 
Homeless Man's Avatar
 
Drives: LS3
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Streets of Philly
Posts: 3,640
I think most of this is placebo I highly doubt you would feel much of a difference from this. And doesn't the fuel range always say it increases after it's been sitting?
__________________
Pity a man in familiar places, who yet feels like a stranger.
Homeless Man is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
apex, fuse pull, high octane fuel

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.