Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDTW Custom Wheels & Tires
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2012, 12:19 PM   #43
jeffa
 
Drives: 2014 2LT/RS Ashen Gray Metallic
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 585
I have both a Metra kit and the Scosche kit.

I prefer the Scosche kit, as they really took the time to figure out how to run all the kit's wiring to allow the head unit to fit in the radio cavity. I had no problem in getting all of my head unit's wiring and RCA's tucked in the cavity and the unit fit without trying to jam it in, even with RCA cables connected to the unit for add on amplifiers in the trunk.

I could not for the life of me get the Metra kit to allow me to get all the wiring in along with the unit, so after 3 hours, I gave up.....not very well thought out on cable locations.

I had no fit issues with the Scosche kit...and Scosche's mounting brackets for the head unit are metal, not plastic like the Metra kit....more secure mounting in the dash.

All in all, I like the Scosche kit much better than the Metra.
jeffa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:45 PM   #44
Phantom.5SS
Hell yeah I'm Guilty.....
 
Phantom.5SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2-SS ABM NON-RS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colonie, NY
Posts: 1,233
@ DUPER: how does the USB connect for thumb drives???? is there enough cable to run it to the stock arm rest location??
In regard to the heated seats..are they On/Off or proportional like the stock selectors?

Nice write up.....I like the look better also.
__________________
Phantom.5SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:57 PM   #45
Duper
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS / RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom.5SS View Post
@ DUPER: how does the USB connect for thumb drives???? is there enough cable to run it to the stock arm rest location??
In regard to the heated seats..are they On/Off or proportional like the stock selectors?

Nice write up.....I like the look better also.
Yeah, my alpine has enough cable to take it all the way to the arm rest location. I would imaging all radio manufacturers have enough cable length to get to the armrest.

And there are two warmth levels for the heated seats just like stock. Push it once for full heat and again for half heat and then again to turn it off.
__________________
Duper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 03:25 PM   #46
Phantom.5SS
Hell yeah I'm Guilty.....
 
Phantom.5SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2-SS ABM NON-RS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colonie, NY
Posts: 1,233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duper View Post
Yeah, my alpine has enough cable to take it all the way to the arm rest location. I would imaging all radio manufacturers have enough cable length to get to the armrest.

And there are two warmth levels for the heated seats just like stock. Push it once for full heat and again for half heat and then again to turn it off.
Excellent...full feature and easy install....
Thank you , I m going to order now.
__________________
Phantom.5SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:33 PM   #47
Duper
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS / RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 299
The tone of the chimes and clicks were bothering me so i put a strip of duct tape over the speaker grill inside the kit and it sounds much more tolerable to me. Just a suggestion for anyone else who feels the same.
__________________
Duper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2012, 05:14 PM   #48
Medplus
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 14
Just got off the phone with Scosche technical service today. They are having issues with the Pioneer bluetooth units and the steering wheel controls. Bad news, no quick fit/setting today. The BUS unit is not adapting to these pioneer units with the built in bluetooth. The good news, it that they were very responsive and trying to fit the issue. I will say, the tech team there is excellent. Hopefully they can flash the units that are pioneer specific and send out new ones.





Quote:
Originally Posted by Rcfiddy1 View Post
I tried all the different radios in the car/settings on the Scosche but the volume don't work. I know the button is working because with different radio settings in scosche it would chage either presets or source if you have the wrong radio set. I can tell you with the Avicz130bt the volume does not work with Steering controls.

Last edited by Medplus; 01-30-2012 at 06:52 PM.
Medplus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 10:36 AM   #49
robotfighter
 
robotfighter's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2011 Camaro 2LS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 249
No problems with my Scosche kits and Kenwood DNX6980. Got a cheap backup camera on Amazon for like $13 and it looks great! Kenwood allows color matching of their instrument panel with the Camaro, so that was super cool. I agree that the chimes are dorky. And I dislike the startup logo. But there were no technical problems installing the kit - the installers at Al & Ed's Autosound were really impressed with it.
robotfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 01:44 AM   #50
Duper
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS / RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 299
I fixed those gaps I got... just took a little epoxy like I saw someone else use as reinforcement. So far, so good with the kit. The touchscreen looks sooo good at night. Waaay better look than the Metra kit.
__________________
Duper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 05:31 PM   #51
robotfighter
 
robotfighter's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2011 Camaro 2LS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 249
By the way, someone on the board mentioned that the On Star kit is now available from Scosche. I called and can verify that it's true. The thing that bugs me though, is that they say it's beebn available for the past 2 weeks! No mention of it on their site or anywhere else, though!
robotfighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 06:24 PM   #52
Caddyroger

 
Caddyroger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT Camaro LT2 RS auto shift
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington state
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by robotfighter View Post
By the way, someone on the board mentioned that the On Star kit is now available from Scosche. I called and can verify that it's true. The thing that bugs me though, is that they say it's beebn available for the past 2 weeks! No mention of it on their site or anywhere else, though!
I mention it in another thread. I called about a week and half ago and they said that did not have it. I called today and they said got it so I ordered it. I was told that I may get it Thursday or Friday. I will find out then if it correct part then. I feel it should have been included with the kit.
It should be on their web site by now.
__________________
Caddy
Caddyroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 04:40 AM   #53
JuanBAMF
 
JuanBAMF's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2012 1LS
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Miramar
Posts: 492
So just to clarify. Just like u said follow the instructions. I didn't I went to turn everything on and my ac controls didn't light up at all. Door locks and hazard buttons worked but ac screen wasn't illuminating. Someone said I had to download firmware? But then I read the whole turnin on procedure. I was scared sheetless thinking the kit was messed up but hopefully now I can get closure.
JuanBAMF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2012, 11:53 PM   #54
Drago77
Treasure Coast Camaro 5
 
Drago77's Avatar
 
Drives: SW 11' 2SS/RS LS3 Vert, Blk/Blk
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Posts: 4,553
Juan- that's odd.. I did my install yeasterday, powered up within seconds after initial install.. disconnected and hooked up again numerous times before final install -worked fine all occassions. I couldn't get the update to load properly, gonna call Scoshe Wed, but all is working right now as advertised.

Will say this though (to add to the OP's original evaluation...)

The screen display controls SUCK- the background is a grainy black on night mode, and ugle gray on day... why no solid black? Looks cheap...

Speaking of cheap... MY DAMN BUTTONS ARE STICKING... a LOT!!!!!! If they don't loosen soon, I'll warranty the unit. Unacceptable.

Not impressed. Looks good "Off" and seems to work, but seriously cheapens ths look of a $40k car....
Attached Images
 
Drago77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2013, 05:43 PM   #55
Djmoekli
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ottawa,ON
Posts: 26
how much does it cost to install this?
Djmoekli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2016, 10:44 AM   #56
mikeys
 
Drives: 2012 camaro
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: delaware
Posts: 2
tuck wires

how did you go about tucking the wires and and all the extra boxes
mikeys is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.