Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SDTW Custom Wheels & Tires
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2016, 10:32 PM   #1
Marlon1LS
 
Marlon1LS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 1LS w/L99/TR6060
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 238
Need a tuner that can access BCM

I'm coming up on the finishing connections on my GenV v6 to v8 swap. I'm looking for a tuner capable of matching vins and changing necessary tables for the v8 ECM (which is brand new and blank) to communicate with my v6 BCM. Re-pins have been done with help from Nighttowl of camaro5.

Marlon1LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 10:47 PM   #2
Dizzy82


 
Dizzy82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LT/RS A6 RJT SuperCharged
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 87114
Posts: 3,383
Good luck, I haven't seen a 5th Gen V6 to V8 successfully done before.
__________________
Power is worthless without control. The 2nd protects the 1st.
BMR sub frame brace, BMR tunnel brace, LSR sways, LSR CM ca & tl, Sphon ExD el, GM tower brace, Megan coil overs, Goodridge Stainless Steel Braided brake lines, PowerStop D/S rotors & pads, Doug Thorty Ceramic Shorties, Magnaflow x-pipe, MRT V2.0, KICKER PowerStage sub & amp, Infinity speakers & tweeters, Dynamat, Viteese Throttle Controller, Viteese Paddle Shifters, ACS T2 Splitter, ACS T2 Ports/Quad LED lights, VDI kit, Havoc diffuser, IPF ECU/TRANS tuned, IPF/KPE Supercharged. 364RWHP/297RWTQ
Dizzy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 10:53 PM   #3
Marlon1LS
 
Marlon1LS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 1LS w/L99/TR6060
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzy82 View Post
Good luck, I haven't seen a 5th Gen V6 to V8 successfully done before.


If all else fails I'll just do drive by wire haha
Marlon1LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 01:22 PM   #4
alice
 
alice's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro limited edition turbo
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: saint petersburg, florida
Posts: 373
I believe this can be done but I don't know of anyone who has successfully achieved it. Attached is some helpful information for you and your tuner that may help understand what you can do and not do. The BCM flow chart gives you an idea of the electrical architecture in the Camaro. Keep us posted.
Attached Images
   
alice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 02:21 PM   #5
Marlon1LS
 
Marlon1LS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 1LS w/L99/TR6060
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by alice View Post
I believe this can be done but I don't know of anyone who has successfully achieved it. Attached is some helpful information for you and your tuner that may help understand what you can do and not do. The BCM flow chart gives you an idea of the electrical architecture in the Camaro. Keep us posted.


Thanks greatly appreciated.
Marlon1LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 03:52 PM   #6
alice
 
alice's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro limited edition turbo
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: saint petersburg, florida
Posts: 373
These Camaros have very complex electrical systems in them and as you can see from the attachments, you have to be very careful when you try doing something unknown or bad things can happen. Find a very knowledgeable tuner who understands all the BCM's in the car and their functions before attempting to try something trial and error. If you have the ECM that came with the engine, a programmer should be able to Change the VIN to match the V6. If the ECM is new and blank, as you say, I am pretty sure you will have to load a stock V8 program into it, then VIN match. I don't believe you can load a V8 program through the V6 ODB2 port because the GM program server will identify the fact that you are loading the wrong program into a vehicle that was not produced with a V8 and the server will reject the attempt. You will probably be forced to load the V8 program into the ECM with a factory V8 Camaro, then install it in the V6 vehicle. I have already tried this and this is what happened to me. Maybe there are other ways around this but I am sharing this information with you for whatever it is worth. If you figure this out, post it for all of us. Beyond that point, the primary BCM may need to be programmed for the V8 but this is uncharted territory and you need a good programmer that knows what he is doing. Once you get communication and everything checks out, you will probably be the first to do this. Then, others can do swaps without fear of the unknown. Keep all of us posted. Everything I have stated here is what little knowledge I can contribute based on a similar transplant. I can certainly be wrong and I want to make that clear so as not to lead someone in the wrong direction. Swaps are in the infancy stages and it is a new learning process with all these control systems. Hope this helps.

Last edited by alice; 05-04-2016 at 04:12 PM. Reason: added info
alice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 12:36 PM   #7
jas121990
vroom vroom party starter
 
jas121990's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 6.2
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: chattanooga tn/trenton ga
Posts: 22
We can do it

Did yal ever figure this out I did the v6 to v8 swap also i can drive the car it runs alright but I can't get the bcm to work correctly also I put a bigger cam in the car and until the bcm works right it's not letting us do a relearn for the crank sensor. I'm looking for someone right not who has efi live they did a thing with Oz tuners and say they can tune a bcm but I still haven't found them

Quote:
Originally Posted by alice View Post
These Camaros have very complex electrical systems in them and as you can see from the attachments, you have to be very careful when you try doing something unknown or bad things can happen. Find a very knowledgeable tuner who understands all the BCM's in the car and their functions before attempting to try something trial and error. If you have the ECM that came with the engine, a programmer should be able to Change the VIN to match the V6. If the ECM is new and blank, as you say, I am pretty sure you will have to load a stock V8 program into it, then VIN match. I don't believe you can load a V8 program through the V6 ODB2 port because the GM program server will identify the fact that you are loading the wrong program into a vehicle that was not produced with a V8 and the server will reject the attempt. You will probably be forced to load the V8 program into the ECM with a factory V8 Camaro, then install it in the V6 vehicle. I have already tried this and this is what happened to me. Maybe there are other ways around this but I am sharing this information with you for whatever it is worth. If you figure this out, post it for all of us. Beyond that point, the primary BCM may need to be programmed for the V8 but this is uncharted territory and you need a good programmer that knows what he is doing. Once you get communication and everything checks out, you will probably be the first to do this. Then, others can do swaps without fear of the unknown. Keep all of us posted. Everything I have stated here is what little knowledge I can contribute based on a similar transplant. I can certainly be wrong and I want to make that clear so as not to lead someone in the wrong direction. Swaps are in the infancy stages and it is a new learning process with all these control systems. Hope this helps.
jas121990 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 12:42 PM   #8
jas121990
vroom vroom party starter
 
jas121990's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 6.2
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: chattanooga tn/trenton ga
Posts: 22
Also the bcm for the 2010 v6 and 2011 v8 had the same part number when I did the research the bcm will work for either vehicle I tried going thru GM but **** them. Now they say it's on the network and even little shop who do bcm flashs can't do it. I figured it was all about getting the right vin to look up the flash file but it didn't work either. This bcm will hold a flash from both v6 and v8 vins
I don't know what to do maybe buy a new bcm that's already flashed
jas121990 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.