Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2018, 11:08 PM   #1
SRTLOL
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Missouri
Posts: 71
Worse sound audio with PAK kit

So I installed a song xav100 double din head unit with the PAC kit. I have the Boston acoustic system and after the install it seems like the bass is gone and the audio quality has gone a little down hill. I used butt connectors to make the connections and I'm thinking about reading it. And ideas on where to start? It sounds more gritty and kinda lack luster compared to when I had the stock radio installed.
__________________
"A free people ought not only to be armed, but disciplined…” – George Washington

Last edited by SRTLOL; 05-30-2018 at 11:25 PM.
SRTLOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 11:17 PM   #2
43Camaro
 
43Camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 8/3/15] 2010 Camaro SS L99
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cali
Posts: 334
Same thing happened to me. Same PAK also, I gave up and just told myself to go back to stock or redo the entire system. I rewired and looked at everything with the same results. I believe it’s the PAK kit not the head unit..
__________________
A Little bit of power. ALL WORK DONE BY ME!

43Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:56 AM   #3
BAD DAB


 
BAD DAB's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Black & Silver
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 7,177
I was told that the factory BA amp does not work well with aftermarket head units. Running a aftermarket amp should solve the problem. Correct me if I'm wrong.
__________________


STAINLESS WORKS HEADERS-TUNED BY JANNETTY RACING-C.A.I. INTAKE-TAYLOR 409 WIRES-SOLO AXLE BACK EXHAUST-ELITE CATCH CAN
BAD DAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 11:07 AM   #4
Cheap Guy
 
Cheap Guy's Avatar
 
Drives: 1999 Camaro Z28
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 165
Try reading through this thread - it's kind of long but it will help you fix the problem.

https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showt...ht=aftermarket

Basically you should try swapping the connector from amped to non-amped.
__________________
My Little Mid-Life Crisis Cure!

First - 1997 Camaro 3800 Y87, M5, Green - Long Gone | Second - 1997 LT1 Z28, M6, Silver - Sold | Third - 1999 LS1 Z28, M6, Pewter, Almost Stock!
New - 2011 Camaro SS, M6, black, stock
Cheap Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 05:21 PM   #5
beak81champ
ILSQ
 
beak81champ's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Flatlands
Posts: 270
This ^^^
__________________
Way too many mods to list, and just getting started...
beak81champ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 07:26 PM   #6
TheFlyingBananaSS

 
TheFlyingBananaSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,064
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheap Guy View Post

Basically you should try swapping the connector from amped to non-amped.
NAILED IT!!!
__________________
TheFlyingBananaSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 07:46 PM   #7
snarky
ultracrepidarianism
 
snarky's Avatar
 
Drives: '14 1SS/RS/1LE/NPP '18 Accord Sport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: where folks drive like shit
Posts: 1,296
I only have the base speakers but when i hooked my iPhone USB into the mylink or whatever it is called I have what I'd call amazing sound. Very impressed. FM radio always sucked. XM was much better. But the USB set up is best of all. Serious bass. Makes the rearview mirror jiggle. Better than Apple CarPlay.
__________________
snarky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 08:10 PM   #8
43Camaro
 
43Camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 8/3/15] 2010 Camaro SS L99
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Cali
Posts: 334
Just fixed my problem. Change the plug..

Quote from link given above!!


Nevermind, I have FINALLY found the answer. I tried different things, none were working. As I was scratching my head looking at the PAC device, thinking something was wrong with it, I realized that one plug from the main harness (the factory sound plug) can fit into 2 different connector holes.

Sure enough, it was plugged in the wrong one... After redoing all the cables for 2 hours, I plugged everthing back and it works perfectly. In my defense, their schematic on the manual/guide is wrong; it does show the plug connected on the bottom left instead of the bottom right. However, what I had missed is that they are labelled. The amp functions exactly as it did before again, I'm very happy.



Now, I can't finish mounting the whole thing because trying the stereo 3 mins emptied my battery. It's like a never ending story!

Thank you all for all the help. I hope this can help someone else one day
__________________
A Little bit of power. ALL WORK DONE BY ME!

43Camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 06:44 AM   #9
Leo72793
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Jacksonville FL
Posts: 601
Quote:
Originally Posted by 43Camaro View Post
Just fixed my problem. Change the plug..

Quote from link given above!!


Nevermind, I have FINALLY found the answer. I tried different things, none were working. As I was scratching my head looking at the PAC device, thinking something was wrong with it, I realized that one plug from the main harness (the factory sound plug) can fit into 2 different connector holes.

Sure enough, it was plugged in the wrong one... After redoing all the cables for 2 hours, I plugged everthing back and it works perfectly. In my defense, their schematic on the manual/guide is wrong; it does show the plug connected on the bottom left instead of the bottom right. However, what I had missed is that they are labelled. The amp functions exactly as it did before again, I'm very happy.



Now, I can't finish mounting the whole thing because trying the stereo 3 mins emptied my battery. It's like a never ending story!

Thank you all for all the help. I hope this can help someone else one day

Was about to say check the plugs lol. Ive done 10 of these things and they all sound fantastic! ( with a decent head unit attached )
__________________
•2011 Camaro SS 2SS/RS A6
•MRR M017 1le Replica Wheels
•Vararam Ram Air Intake
•Speed Engineering Longtube Headers
•Magnaflow HF Cats
•Bo White PnP Stage 2 TB
•Xpipe w/ Res Delete and NPP Exhaust
•Tuned By Anonymous Calibrations
•Gen5DIY Mylink Conversion W/ Backup Cam
•Morel 3 way custom speakers, Morel Subwoofers
•Audio control LC-6.1200 6ch amp
•Helix DSP Pro
Leo72793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 10:05 AM   #10
SRTLOL
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Missouri
Posts: 71
Thanks for yp ur help guys! I'm going to try swapping the plug over to the non amp plug and see how that goes. Next if that doesn't work I will try switching the amps.
__________________
"A free people ought not only to be armed, but disciplined…” – George Washington
SRTLOL is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.