Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2018, 01:25 PM   #813
FockerNJ
 
FockerNJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25
I always wondered how so many people seemed to be having problems with the PAC kit. I have had the PAC kit with Pioneer AVH-4100NEX and it has worked flawlessly for about a year and a half, until now...lol.

I just noticed the Camaro logo stays on were the temp display normally is. It's even staying on with the car off. All temp controls and heated seat controls don't work either. Only the hazards and door locks. I read this whole thread at one point and don't remember seeing this problem. Anybody have anything like this happen?
FockerNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 01:37 PM   #814
45thCamaro


 
45thCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anniversary RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by FockerNJ View Post
I always wondered how so many people seemed to be having problems with the PAC kit. I have had the PAC kit with Pioneer AVH-4100NEX and it has worked flawlessly for about a year and a half, until now...lol.

I just noticed the Camaro logo stays on were the temp display normally is. It's even staying on with the car off. All temp controls and heated seat controls don't work either. Only the hazards and door locks. I read this whole thread at one point and don't remember seeing this problem. Anybody have anything like this happen?


Well that sucks considering Iím about a week into the install I donít drive my car very often but definitely not looking forward to hearing something like that
45thCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 02:43 PM   #815
FockerNJ
 
FockerNJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by 45thCamaro View Post
Well that sucks considering I’m about a week into the install I don’t drive my car very often but definitely not looking forward to hearing something like that
I called PAC and the guy said to install a bunch of firmware updates, but that didn't really sound right to me since it worked fine for so long without it. I unhooked the car battery cable and put it back and it everything seems fine now.


Update...I sat in the car for while listening to music and messed around with it for a while. It's back to normal.

Last edited by FockerNJ; 11-07-2018 at 04:32 PM. Reason: update
FockerNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 05:04 PM   #816
beak81champ
ILSQ
 
beak81champ's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Flatlands
Posts: 278
Mine lost all the lighting on the HVAC controls, and temp window, but the stereo still worked. I took off the negative battery cable for about 15 mins to “reset it.” Did the trick.

I have had an ongoing small issue though. My head unit (Kenwood DDX9903S) will pause for 5-10 seconds about 5 minutes after the unit comes on. After this few seconds, it picks up where the song left off, and doesn’t happen again until the next time the car is shut off and started up again. I’m not sure if it’s a car issue, head unit issue, or PAC kit issue...

Anyone else experience this?
__________________
Way too many mods to list, and just getting started...
beak81champ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 05:06 PM   #817
45thCamaro


 
45thCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anniversary RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,335
New Aftermarket head unit kit option

Quote:
Originally Posted by beak81champ View Post
Mine lost all the lighting on the HVAC controls, and temp window, but the stereo still worked. I took off the negative battery cable for about 15 mins to ďreset it.Ē Did the trick.

I have had an ongoing small issue though. My head unit (Kenwood DDX9903S) will pause for 5-10 seconds about 5 minutes after the unit comes on. After this few seconds, it picks up where the song left off, and doesnít happen again until the next time the car is shut off and started up again. Anyone else experience this?


That last part sounds like an issue with your radio I canít imagine the kit having to do with that

Edit: does your radio show the time stop or does a pause button come on? I was wondering if maybe it has to do with the call button or OnStar.

Last edited by 45thCamaro; 11-07-2018 at 09:37 PM.
45thCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 12:37 AM   #818
beak81champ
ILSQ
 
beak81champ's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Flatlands
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by 45thCamaro View Post
That last part sounds like an issue with your radio I canít imagine the kit having to do with that

Edit: does your radio show the time stop or does a pause button come on? I was wondering if maybe it has to do with the call button or OnStar.
Nope, there is nothing distinguishing from before it pauses to when it resumes. It does it on cdís and USB sticks. I never listen to the radio, so Iím not sure if it happens then. Iíll have to try all the sources and see if itís consistent throughout, or maybe just a software glitch in the HU. Thanks for the input, I appreciate it!
__________________
Way too many mods to list, and just getting started...
beak81champ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 08:02 AM   #819
craigd853
 
Drives: 2010 SS Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldCartridgeGamer View Post
Found this head unit replacement kit today and like how it retains some of the stock look. I dislike the Scosche and Metra kit. I am not a mylink fan either.

http://shopddmods-com.3dcartstores.c...aro_p_433.html

Anyone seen this one before? Any experience with it?
Quick stereo amp question for those that know. Any help would be greatly appreciated. My wife has a 2014 chevy SS camaro. She heard a loud pop when the stereo was on yesterday and now there is no sound coming out of the speakers. Head unit still works and volume controls still work but there is no sound. Is there a fuse for the amp thats mounted in the trunk? Does this sound like the amp went bad to anyone? Cant think of any other reason there would be no sound coming out of speakers when head unit is on and everything else is working. Thanks in advance for any help.
craigd853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 07:52 PM   #820
45thCamaro


 
45thCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anniversary RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by craigd853 View Post
Quick stereo amp question for those that know. Any help would be greatly appreciated. My wife has a 2014 chevy SS camaro. She heard a loud pop when the stereo was on yesterday and now there is no sound coming out of the speakers. Head unit still works and volume controls still work but there is no sound. Is there a fuse for the amp thats mounted in the trunk? Does this sound like the amp went bad to anyone? Cant think of any other reason there would be no sound coming out of speakers when head unit is on and everything else is working. Thanks in advance for any help.


Could be a fuse. Iím unsure if there is a fuse in the stock amp. I wonder what the chances are that the amp went.

Your talking about factory or aftermarket?
45thCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 07:53 PM   #821
45thCamaro


 
45thCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anniversary RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,335
Just wanted to update that I took my car out tonight, and I donít know how, but I now have Noise for the blinkers. Where itís coming from? I donít know...
45thCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 12:30 AM   #822
craigd853
 
Drives: 2010 SS Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MD
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by 45thCamaro View Post
Could be a fuse. Iím unsure if there is a fuse in the stock amp. I wonder what the chances are that the amp went.

Your talking about factory or aftermarket?
Yes, its the factory amp. Thanks for the reply I have seen pictures of the stock amp and it doesnt appear to have a fuse on it but am going to remove it this weekend and check all connections. Its my wifes car as I said earlier, I will put a volt meter on the power wire and see if i have power and if I do I will remove the one out of my 2010 camaro and see if that fixes the problem. Was just curious rather there was a fuse to check before I removed the amp for the response is all. Thanks again
craigd853 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 06:59 PM   #823
FirstCamaro23
 
FirstCamaro23's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1977 1LT Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 34
I installed the Pioneer AVH-4200NEX and the PAC RPK5-GM4101 about 8 months ago.

For the most part everything has been working fine. The only problem has been the lack of radio reception. I have significantly less reception than i did with the factory radio. I get half the FM stations i used to and no AM stations. I installed the amplified antenna that came with the PAC kit.

Has anyone had this issue or have any suggestions?
__________________
2010 1LT Cyber Gray Metallic - Automatic, Convenience and Connectivity, Boston Acoustic Sound

Order Placed - 2/27/10
1100 = Preliminary Order Accepted - 2/27/10
2000 = Accepted By GM - 5/5 FINALLY!!!!
2500 = Order Preferenced - 5/5
3300 = Order scheduled for production - 5/11 TPW = 5/17
3400 = Order Broadcast - 5/15
3800 = Order Produced - 5/21
4000 = Bayed for Shipment - 5/26
4200 = Shipped - 6/1
5000 = Delievered to Dealer 6/8
6000 = Picked Up by Customer 6/8 101 DAYS!!!
FirstCamaro23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 07:34 PM   #824
45thCamaro


 
45thCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro 45th Anniversary RS
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstCamaro23 View Post
I installed the Pioneer AVH-4200NEX and the PAC RPK5-GM4101 about 8 months ago.

For the most part everything has been working fine. The only problem has been the lack of radio reception. I have significantly less reception than i did with the factory radio. I get half the FM stations i used to and no AM stations. I installed the amplified antenna that came with the PAC kit.

Has anyone had this issue or have any suggestions?


I noticed the reception when I was installing and I thought it was because it was in my garage. I didnít try the radio when I drove it last.
45thCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 08:23 PM   #825
beak81champ
ILSQ
 
beak81champ's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Flatlands
Posts: 278
Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstCamaro23 View Post
I installed the Pioneer AVH-4200NEX and the PAC RPK5-GM4101 about 8 months ago.

For the most part everything has been working fine. The only problem has been the lack of radio reception. I have significantly less reception than i did with the factory radio. I get half the FM stations i used to and no AM stations. I installed the amplified antenna that came with the PAC kit.

Has anyone had this issue or have any suggestions?
I have a multi- channel radio station that I can see the towers from my house (about 5 miles away), and I canít pick up any stations clearly...
__________________
Way too many mods to list, and just getting started...
beak81champ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 01:25 AM   #826
FockerNJ
 
FockerNJ's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by FirstCamaro23 View Post
I installed the Pioneer AVH-4200NEX and the PAC RPK5-GM4101 about 8 months ago.

For the most part everything has been working fine. The only problem has been the lack of radio reception. I have significantly less reception than i did with the factory radio. I get half the FM stations i used to and no AM stations. I installed the amplified antenna that came with the PAC kit.

Has anyone had this issue or have any suggestions?
I have the AVH-4100NEX and have terrible reception too. I rarely listen to the radio, but it still annoys me that it doesn't work well.
FockerNJ is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.