Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 07-06-2020, 05:12 PM   #1
linkmon99

Drives: 2012 Camaro SS Convertible
2012 SS - Straight Pipes, Adding CAI and then Tune?

Hi all! I've been an avid browser of this forum since I purchased my Camaro last summer, but this is my first time making a post.
I realize there are similar threads out there but I wanted some advice on the specific setup I might go for:

So I have a 2012 Camaro SS Convertible I purchased about a year ago. In December I did a muffler delete and I love it (simply removed mufflers, installed pipe in their place).
However, I'm now considering getting this:
https://www.coldairinductions.com/sh...ntake-black-2/

After installing that, I'm thinking about bringing it to a shop to get it tuned to unleash max performance (and also to disable the AFM that comes stock with the cars).

I was just looking for some opinions, feedback, and/or suggestions on this route, thank you!
linkmon99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 02:09 PM   #2
GodWentPunk

Drives: 2015 2SS White Convertible CE/INDY
There are some internet tuners on the board... you send them your current tune, they get it all ready and you then upload it. My guess going to a local tuner will maximize your tune but if you're basically stock, the tuners on the board will help. I had RDP do mine and I'm satisfied for what I got (for the price).

I did a muffler delete too on my L99 but not until I had LTH/HFC and X-pipe did my car first sound like a muscle car.

joe...
Old 07-07-2020, 02:58 PM   #3
kburlar

Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkmon99 View Post
Hi all! I've been an avid browser of this forum since I purchased my Camaro last summer, but this is my first time making a post.