Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)

Old 04-12-2017, 09:23 AM   #1
acammer
GPI Sales Consultant

Drives: 2011 Camaro 2SS SGM
Aftermarket Hurst Short throw and fast shift grinds (switch to MGW/other?)

Hey guys. Quick background - I've been driving stick cars for a couple decades now, from econo-beaters to an SVT Contour, to a T56 LT1 Camaro, built Saab 9 5 wagon, and a bunch of other stuff I probably forgot. I've never had problems grinding a fast upshift until I bought my 2011 SS. When I drove this on the test drive I pulled a 1-2 grind on my very first shift. The car had 16k miles on it, and an aftermarket (the 44% reduction) Hurst short throw.

I quickly learned that I couldn't rush the shifts on this car, and I was fine. I race the car on the dragstrip or in Mexico pretty routinely. It never grinds cold or when driving easy, but if I tried to crack off hard, fast, maximum effort shifts, or if the car was getting loose and my focus was on driving and not the 1-2 shift, it would grind and/or lockout second. Usually just grind. Even on the 2-3 if I was really quick, it would "crunch" that shift.

So, after doing some extensive research I concluded that the stock clutch master cylinder was not flowing sufficient volume at sufficient speed to release the clutch before grabbing my next gear. So, I picked up a Ideal Garage modified master cylinder, and installed that a few nights ago along with a remote reservoir. Carefully bleed the system, and went out for a test drive. It definitely would let me shift faster - but I can still get a grind if I went maximum effort.