Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2019, 06:37 AM   #141
camguynj


 
camguynj's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 SS/RS LS3 NPP BRM
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayjellyfish212 View Post
This works great! Wish I did it few years ago! Stinks you can’t just tune the hill assist out and have to swap the sensors to delete the hill assist but I’m happy as hell that junk is now gone!
Yea, in a LS3 with HSA and CAGS gone and with a flip key you feel you’re in charge behind the wheel and not a computer. Now if only there was a throttle body linkage mod !
camguynj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2019, 12:13 PM   #142
Jayjellyfish212

 
Jayjellyfish212's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1LE
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 2,052
Quote:
Originally Posted by camguynj View Post
Yea, in a LS3 with HSA and CAGS gone and with a flip key you feel youíre in charge behind the wheel and not a computer. Now if only there was a throttle body linkage mod !
No doubt!
__________________
Car mods: never enough!
Jayjellyfish212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 02:21 AM   #143
demonspeed
Not Afraid Of The Wall
 
demonspeed's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaros
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneCynic View Post
Well, I installed this sensor in my new 2015 1LE, and now the DIC says "service stabillitrack" and it shows traction control, stabiltrack and such lit up on the dash like they are disabled..

Is there a fuse pull or something associated with this swap to make things function normally again? If not, the thought of taking that whole console apart again to swap back to the original sensor is not thrilling me at the moment..
Sorry to bring this thread up - especially responding to a five year old post - but I had to comment that I am having this exact same issue in my 2013. Swapped the new one in, stabilitrak message and all traction systems off (but it was nice without HSA, lol). Swapped the original back in and it was back to normal.

I feel better that there was someone else out there that had the same issue, but it is obviously a very rare occurrence. Iím considering trying another sensor to see if the same thing happens or not. Anyone else happen to have experienced the stabilitrak issue at all the past five years besides myself and LoneCynic?
__________________
2013 1LE
BTR|Rotofab|Kooks|Monster|MGW|Hotchkis|Hendrix|UMI
demonspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 05:47 AM   #144
camguynj


 
camguynj's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 SS/RS LS3 NPP BRM
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,058
Was HSA always bypassed when stablitrak and traction control where on ?
camguynj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 06:59 AM   #145
demonspeed
Not Afraid Of The Wall
 
demonspeed's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaros
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by camguynj View Post
Was HSA always bypassed when stablitrak and traction control where on ?
HSA was never bypassed simultaneously with Stabilitrak working correctly. I swapped the automatic sensor in, fired it up for the first time, and Service Stabilitrak came on immediately.
__________________
2013 1LE
BTR|Rotofab|Kooks|Monster|MGW|Hotchkis|Hendrix|UMI
demonspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 07:28 AM   #146
camguynj


 
camguynj's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 SS/RS LS3 NPP BRM
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonspeed View Post
HSA was never bypassed simultaneously with Stabilitrak working correctly. I swapped the automatic sensor in, fired it up for the first time, and Service Stabilitrak came on immediately.
Hmmm, wouldn’t think the sensor was bad. Couple of thoughts ...check the sensor part nbr to make sure it’s the correct one, was it installed on level surface?
camguynj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 09:52 AM   #147
demonspeed
Not Afraid Of The Wall
 
demonspeed's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaros
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by camguynj View Post
Hmmm, wouldnít think the sensor was bad. Couple of thoughts ...check the sensor part nbr to make sure itís the correct one, was it installed on level surface?
You know... sometimes the most difficult solution to figure out is the one most obvious. I hadnít actually looked at the sensor to verify the part number before I installed it. Of course itís not the right part number I just reached out to the seller to see if theyíd swap it out. Iím going to blame this on covid.

Thanks for reminding me to check the obvious
__________________
2013 1LE
BTR|Rotofab|Kooks|Monster|MGW|Hotchkis|Hendrix|UMI
demonspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2020, 01:47 PM   #148
camguynj


 
camguynj's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 SS/RS LS3 NPP BRM
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 3,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by demonspeed View Post
You know... sometimes the most difficult solution to figure out is the one most obvious. I hadnít actually looked at the sensor to verify the part number before I installed it. Of course itís not the right part number I just reached out to the seller to see if theyíd swap it out. Iím going to blame this on covid.

Thanks for reminding me to check the obvious
We've all been there. At least you're an expert now on the install
camguynj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 10:27 AM   #149
demonspeed
Not Afraid Of The Wall
 
demonspeed's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaros
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,788
For the record, the module I received that did not work for my SS is actually for a ZL1. I’m just posting this should anyone else run into the same issue in the future (or a ZL1 person wants to get rid of their HSA - this is the one they need).
Attached Images
 
__________________
2013 1LE
BTR|Rotofab|Kooks|Monster|MGW|Hotchkis|Hendrix|UMI
demonspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2020, 07:15 PM   #150
theflea42
#938 of 1524
 
Drives: 2013 Hot Wheels Edition Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 122
That's good to know that the ZL1 part won't work on a regular SS model.

I'm glad I swapped that module on my car, that hill start assist junk drove me bananas!
theflea42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2020, 07:57 PM   #151
terry_b

 
terry_b's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hudson, MA
Posts: 1,360
Send a message via MSN to terry_b
It's crazy how much impact the smallest mods can have. Between replacing this sensor and installing the skip-shift eliminator you make such a huge difference in driveability.

(Of course, these are both fixes to bullshit features we all wish weren't there.)


Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
__________________
terry_b is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.