Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2013, 02:01 PM   #1
LSYouTiger
 
Drives: 2012 camaro 1LT
Join Date: May 2012
Location: USofA
Posts: 42
Transmission conversion

can you get a manual transmission for a 2012 camaro if it came with an automatic transmission?

My transmission is giving me trouble and i have a little over 20k miles on it. I have to bring it to the dealer to have them look. Best case, it needs to be replaced. Could they replace it with a manual transmission.
LSYouTiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 02:36 PM   #2
40years

 
40years's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 CAMARO 1SS Hyper Blue Met.
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 1,593
With enough money, anything is possible. In all reality and practicality, no.
__________________
proud member "club elite" # 89
40years is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:17 PM   #3
jrpxxii


 
jrpxxii's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS 427ci
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bowling Green, Ky
Posts: 3,355
Yes it can be done as I swapped mine from a manual to auto but you will never get GM to do the swap as if they replace your trans it will be exactly what you had if they cant fix what you have
__________________
jrpxxii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:21 PM   #4
strych9
I'll be back...
 
strych9's Avatar
 
Drives: Subaru, HD Road Glide Special
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 3,036
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSYouTiger View Post
can you get a manual transmission for a 2012 camaro if it came with an automatic transmission?

My transmission is giving me trouble and i have a little over 20k miles on it. I have to bring it to the dealer to have them look. Best case, it needs to be replaced. Could they replace it with a manual transmission.
It's not a practical swap.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrpxxii View Post
Yes it can be done as I swapped mine from a manual to auto but you will never get GM to do the swap as if they replace your trans it will be exactly what you had if they cant fix what you have
Much easier to swap from manual to auto than the other way around.
__________________
Bye bye, Bumblebee!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
strych9 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.