Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LFX Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-28-2017, 08:16 AM   #1
Pete M
9 Year USMC Vet
 
Pete M's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1LT black on black
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Farmington, NC
Posts: 730
Interesting Article.

Read this today.
It says the LFX is E85 compatible.
Thoughts?

http://gmauthority.com/blog/gm/gm-engines/lfx/
__________________
A lot of stuff done so far to make it look better and be more fun to drive.....
Pete M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 09:29 AM   #2
gringo

 
gringo's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: U.S.
Posts: 1,088
The LFX in the Camaro is capable of running it once you get the E85 sensor and have a tune for it.
gringo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:30 PM   #3
Pete M
9 Year USMC Vet
 
Pete M's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1LT black on black
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Farmington, NC
Posts: 730
So I guess it's able to run E85 in some vehicles from the factory.
I know they sell the conversion kit and that we need a tune to run it.
Just thought it was an interesting article
Sure would be nice to be able to run it without having to buy the kids or get a tune
__________________
A lot of stuff done so far to make it look better and be more fun to drive.....
Pete M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 02:32 PM   #4
ChibiBlackSheep

 
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 1968 Camaro SS, 2000 MCSS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southeast, PA
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete M View Post
So I guess it's able to run E85 in some vehicles from the factory.
The Impala is flex fuel from the factory
__________________

2013 Camaro 1LS - Daily Driver
1968 Camaro SS - Show Car
2000 Monte Carlo SS - Paxton Novi Supercharged Project
2018 Regal TourX - Because we need at least ONE family car
ChibiBlackSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 04:39 PM   #5
Pete M
9 Year USMC Vet
 
Pete M's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1LT black on black
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Farmington, NC
Posts: 730
so I'm wondering if impala parts can be used to convert ours to flex..
would it be cheaper?
would it be necessary to tune it?
__________________
A lot of stuff done so far to make it look better and be more fun to drive.....
Pete M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 09:51 AM   #6
ChibiBlackSheep

 
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 1968 Camaro SS, 2000 MCSS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southeast, PA
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete M View Post
so I'm wondering if impala parts can be used to convert ours to flex..
would it be cheaper?
would it be necessary to tune it?
Wouldn't be cheaper, wouldn't be plug and play.

Yes your car needs to be tuned so that the table that uses the % of ethanol can be used. Will Overkill offers a good way to get it done.
__________________

2013 Camaro 1LS - Daily Driver
1968 Camaro SS - Show Car
2000 Monte Carlo SS - Paxton Novi Supercharged Project
2018 Regal TourX - Because we need at least ONE family car
ChibiBlackSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 12:42 PM   #7
Gossamer
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Convertible
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 92
i tried E15 in my Camaro for a tank, mileage dropped horribly even though it's supposedly it's higher octane. It wasn't worth the $2.30 I saved because the mileage loss was too great.

I also tried 93 octane and on a tank that was almost purely highway miles, it got about the same as any other full tank rolling down the highway. So the extra $12 for that fill was a waste

So unless your car is really tuned for higher octane fuels or E85 which still drops significantly in MPG due to lower BTU's, these fuels aren't worth much.

Back to good ole 87 for me.
Gossamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 02:29 PM   #8
vs_pete
 
Drives: VEII MY12 Sportwagon 3.6L LFX V6
Join Date: May 2014
Location: AUSSIE
Posts: 43
Aussie have E10/91/95/98/E85
My ride came with Flex Fuel.
I only run 95/98/E85 which I got tuned.
vs_pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 03:07 PM   #9
ChibiBlackSheep

 
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 1968 Camaro SS, 2000 MCSS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southeast, PA
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gossamer View Post
i tried E15 in my Camaro for a tank, mileage dropped horribly even though it's supposedly it's higher octane. It wasn't worth the $2.30 I saved because the mileage loss was too great.

I also tried 93 octane and on a tank that was almost purely highway miles, it got about the same as any other full tank rolling down the highway. So the extra $12 for that fill was a waste

So unless your car is really tuned for higher octane fuels or E85 which still drops significantly in MPG due to lower BTU's, these fuels aren't worth much.

Back to good ole 87 for me.
E15 is effectively higher octane, but does burn faster because it can push more fuel. Just like how 10% ethanol doesn't give you the same MPG as if you found 100% fuel. The effective stoich rate is lower, but your car doesn't adjust for it.

1 tank of 93 won't reset your fuel trims to take advantage of it. You need to run about 3 tanks through before your car would start to relearn and go back to pushing more timing.
__________________

2013 Camaro 1LS - Daily Driver
1968 Camaro SS - Show Car
2000 Monte Carlo SS - Paxton Novi Supercharged Project
2018 Regal TourX - Because we need at least ONE family car
ChibiBlackSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 03:58 PM   #10
Gossamer
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro Convertible
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChibiBlackSheep View Post
You need to run about 3 tanks through before your car would start to relearn and go back to pushing more timing.
My 08 impala is flex fuel and I've tracked virtually every fuel tank since I bought it new. Still with 'flex fuel capbility' it still drops off and I ran it for a while when real gas prices got super high.

As for the Camaro, why does it take several tanks to get the fuel trims to adjust?

With modern technology and knock sensors that instantly adjust the timing I would think it would be almost instantaneous?

Anyhow, I've not seen any data anywhere showing improved mileage or horsepower gain showing how high octane is better on a non tuned motor.

I'd love to see some data that shows benefits of higher octane fuels.

I agree, i'm surprised our 11.5 compression motors don't REQUIRE higher octane fuels but before I start putting it in I need to see that it will actually and properly adjust to it.
Gossamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 10:15 PM   #11
Pete M
9 Year USMC Vet
 
Pete M's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1LT black on black
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Farmington, NC
Posts: 730
I've noticed on highway trios that if I run 93 I get almost 2 more mpg.
Same road, Same 227 milies each way.
I was just curious about the E85 because I've seen the kit and know that Will does the tunes.
__________________
A lot of stuff done so far to make it look better and be more fun to drive.....
Pete M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2017, 10:22 PM   #12
gringo

 
gringo's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: U.S.
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChibiBlackSheep View Post
E15 is effectively higher octane, but does burn faster because it can push more fuel. Just like how 10% ethanol doesn't give you the same MPG as if you found 100% fuel. The effective stoich rate is lower, but your car doesn't adjust for it.

1 tank of 93 won't reset your fuel trims to take advantage of it. You need to run about 3 tanks through before your car would start to relearn and go back to pushing more timing.
What about the fuse pull or disconnecting the battery for a certain time period? Wouldn't that reset the ECU timing tables?

From my research on here, it seems 95 octane is the magic number where the computer doesn't pull back any timing. Don't know if that's actually true or not.
gringo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 09:29 AM   #13
ChibiBlackSheep

 
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 1LS, 1968 Camaro SS, 2000 MCSS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southeast, PA
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gossamer View Post
As for the Camaro, why does it take several tanks to get the fuel trims to adjust?

With modern technology and knock sensors that instantly adjust the timing I would think it would be almost instantaneous?
Because these cars are timed very aggressively stock. Which means they knock pretty badly too (stock I was seeing double-digit knock numbers). Once it knocks too much, it pulls timing, then when it still knocks it drops to the low octane table. Then it adjusts from there to get the knock down. Just because it's not knocking, doesn't mean it then automatically starts to try to get into the higher octane table again. It needs to be driven a while without knock before the car tries to readjust. 1 tank of fuel won't do that, it does take a little while.

I don't have hard dyno data, but my real-time MPG and my HPTuners shows the benefits of running 93 enough for me. I've also had to add more fueling, and remove some timing from the stock high octane table.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gringo View Post
What about the fuse pull or disconnecting the battery for a certain time period? Wouldn't that reset the ECU timing tables?

From my research on here, it seems 95 octane is the magic number where the computer doesn't pull back any timing. Don't know if that's actually true or not.
The fuse pull for some reason doesn't work on the v6, it holds the data. A battery reset should do the trick if you unplug it for an hour.
__________________

2013 Camaro 1LS - Daily Driver
1968 Camaro SS - Show Car
2000 Monte Carlo SS - Paxton Novi Supercharged Project
2018 Regal TourX - Because we need at least ONE family car
ChibiBlackSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 06:16 AM   #14
gringo

 
gringo's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: U.S.
Posts: 1,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChibiBlackSheep View Post
The fuse pull for some reason doesn't work on the v6, it holds the data. A battery reset should do the trick if you unplug it for an hour.
Thanks, that's good to know.
gringo is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.