Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-09-2021, 03:14 PM   #1
joecranium
 
joecranium's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
Misfires on cylinder 1

The problem began 3 months ago when I noticed a slightly rough idle at stop lights. Took the car to the same dealer I've used since 2003, with the same Master Technician that I've used for many, many years (he has been great). He said to start by using different gas which I have done. No improvement. Then about a month ago, a service stabilitrack message came on (which it has in the past as well) but also the check engine light came on this time. Back to the dealer. Master tech said he changed the spark plug and wire with a different cylinder, and that plug and wire to the number 1 cylinder. Still misfiring. Said it could be a lifter or about a $6,000 repair. At that, I began to consider a new Camaro. Of course, there is a shortage of cars right. now. I am the original owner of the 2010 Camaro, 2SS, RS, 6-speed. Any and all suggestions and/or advise is greatly appreciated! Thank you!
__________________
JoeCranium
joecranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 03:22 PM   #2
gtstorey

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2,L99, LSA SC
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,036
Did he give you the DTC that set off the check engine light.
gtstorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 03:23 PM   #3
ChibiBlackSheep

 
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS, 1968 SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southeast, PA
Posts: 2,004
Could also be a fuel injector on that cylinder... I would think if it was a lifter you'd be able to tell in 2 seconds just by hearing it.

I would try another shop and see what their opinion is if you aren't able to diagnose on your own.
__________________

2012 Camaro 2SS/RS | 1968 Camaro SS | 2018 Regal TourX
ChibiBlackSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 06:34 PM   #4
joecranium
 
joecranium's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
Yes, code P0300 and P0301 stored in ECM.
__________________
JoeCranium
joecranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 06:53 PM   #5
joecranium
 
joecranium's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
He performed an injector flow test and said within specification. I wonder if this was under load?
__________________
JoeCranium
joecranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 08:03 PM   #6
gtstorey

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2,L99, LSA SC
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,036
Did he swap coils?
gtstorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 08:28 PM   #7
joecranium
 
joecranium's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
He did swap out the coil.
__________________
JoeCranium

Last edited by joecranium; 09-10-2021 at 09:24 AM.
joecranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 09:28 PM   #8
Batmanntexas

 
Batmanntexas's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS (2SS)
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sanford, NC
Posts: 1,248
There are some good speed shops out there in Vegas. Go out near the race track and check out a couple.

$6000 for a lifter job is criminal.
__________________
745RWHP/634RWTQ on 93 @ 10psi
806/676 on E85 @ 10psi

COTW 9/8/14
Batmanntexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2021, 09:28 PM   #9
Camaro__ss
 
Drives: 2013 L99
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 167
You could compression test that cylinder and compare. That ought to tell if it is something bad
Camaro__ss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 09:27 AM   #10
joecranium
 
joecranium's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
He did report verbally that the compression was fine.
__________________
JoeCranium
joecranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 09:35 AM   #11
ChibiBlackSheep

 
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS, 1968 SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southeast, PA
Posts: 2,004
OK, so the car had a compression test, and the mechanic swapped stuff around to see if the code follows. You only mentioned that the P0300 and P0301 codes were stored. After the work was performed and the codes were reset, what code came back?

Is it still the P0300 and P0301? Is it just P0300?

I would pull the MAF and clean it, then pull the 2 fuel fuses. Did your mechanic run fuel pressure tests?
__________________

2012 Camaro 2SS/RS | 1968 Camaro SS | 2018 Regal TourX
ChibiBlackSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 10:03 AM   #12
joecranium
 
joecranium's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
He didn't say if any code came back. Also, he performed injector flow test and it was within specification.
__________________
JoeCranium
joecranium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 10:11 AM   #13
ChibiBlackSheep

 
ChibiBlackSheep's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS/RS, 1968 SS
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Southeast, PA
Posts: 2,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecranium View Post
He didn't say if any code came back. Also, he performed injector flow test and it was within specification.
Do you see a CEL, that would let you know if a code is there. Are you still seeing misfiring after the work performed and switching to different gas?

Are you running 93 octane?

Injector flow != fuel pressure. If your pump is starting to fail and not letting fuel flow at the right rate you can get random misfire codes (p0300)
__________________

2012 Camaro 2SS/RS | 1968 Camaro SS | 2018 Regal TourX
ChibiBlackSheep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 11:14 AM   #14
joecranium
 
joecranium's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 21
The CEL is no longer there. He reset it and it has not returned. Also, I have not gotten into the throttle hard. That's when it came on initially. Still seems like a slight misfire to me at idle since the rpms fluctuate a bit then. I have only used 93 octane gas for the life of the car.
__________________
JoeCranium

Last edited by joecranium; 09-10-2021 at 12:35 PM.
joecranium is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.