Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions

Old 03-11-2016, 11:19 PM   #1
genuineduke

Drives: 2015 Camaro 2LS
MRT V2 Exhaust Issues

So I got my MRT V2 Exhaust installed today, but I have 3 questions for you guys(Sorry I'm a rookie for mod).

1. Seems that the exhaust is not long enough to stick out(or the muffler shop cut the pipe short), and the plastic above the tip gets extremely hot after driving. Will this be an issue? Will the plastic material become out of shape?

2. The drone at 1800~2500rpm is like crazy, muffler shop says it will get better several days later, is that true?

3. The exhaust get misaligned after driving, muffler shop says this is normal, and I need to re-align one week later, is that true?

Thank you for your answers!

genuineduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 11:29 PM   #2
Mr. Stacy
El Duderino

Drives: 2011 2LTRS Convertible
No reason to be too short, unless they screwed up. If it dosent stick out of the diffuser by at least an 3/4 inch, take it back and make them fix it. Might find your rear end on fire while cruising down the interstate.

The drone will improve after break-in, but will still be prominent in that rpm range. A good way to reduce that would be with a MagnaFlow X pipe in place of your OEM "H" pipe. A CAI also helps with overall sound enjoyment.

Was it welded? It shouldn't be moving around if it was welded.

Sounds like you need to take it back and have them install it correctly.
Old 03-11-2016, 11:33 PM   #3
Welker2
Ret AF, cancer survivor

Drives: 2013 Camaro 2SS/RS & 2006 Corvette