Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Jason 98 TA
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Member Car Journals


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2018, 12:07 PM   #2241
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
LSA ProMeth Tune Test Cont.

So, here is the first range Mark and I changed:



Note its a bit 'lean' in the 8.7k Hz range -- this was up to 9.1k Hz so I added 2% to the MAF Calibration g/s to give it a bit more fueling.

Then, for the upper range that was a bit rich, I removed 2%:







Note the boost and the IAT2s!

No knock, 3° timing added, fuel rich, Duty Cycle better -- thus adjusting the MAF ;o)

NOTE: 1° temp increase in 900 RPMs! Temps will be better once I get the Lambda consistent...

You can see it was rich so I had to adjust the g/s in the MAF to account for the lean then rich changes.

I also added some additional items to the graph -- Mark noted I could get the Flex Fuel Timing added so I added that and the Fuel Pressure Requested and Estimated.

I may update the BAP just to have a bit more range for the fuel pressure.

Lots of info in the logs when you add them...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577

Last edited by hammdo; 09-05-2018 at 12:22 PM.
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 12:21 PM   #2242
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
LSA ProMeth Tune Test Cont.

Wanted to show the current MAF curve (above 11.55k Hz we didn't change since I don't get near that):



Getting there!

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 09:20 PM   #2243
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
LSA ProMeth Tune Test Cont.

Tweaking the MSD 2351, looked @ several post and decided to adjust the voltage to this:



Tweaked it to 19v @ 180kPa...

Gonna run another log session tonight to see how all of the recent adjustment help...

Picked up some info from Jeffery's post:

https://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=411012

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 12:29 AM   #2244
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
LSA ProMeth Tune Test Cont.

Next log -- dialing it in a bit closer!





May need to take a bit more out over 10k Hz... but dialing it in!

Gonna let Mark have a look and see if I missed anything...

Flow gauge comes in tomorrow -- can't wait to hook it up and verify the Meth flow...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 02:15 PM   #2245
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
Ok modified the tune after talking to Mark.

8.55k Hz to 8.7k Hz - added 1%.

9.3k Hz to 10.2k Hz - removed 3%.

That should dial it in..

I'm also ordering an nGauge. With this I can data log while driving /racing and switch tunes for road course and street...

Will add that to my dual gauge a pillar pod!

Have to see how that works with aeroforce...

Pretty sure you can't data-log while another item is on the port (@ least not with Aero-Force and the HP Tuners Laptop -- I don't believe OBD2 supports that type of 'serial' operation).

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577

Last edited by hammdo; 09-06-2018 at 03:51 PM.
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 04:12 PM   #2246
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
LSA ProMeth install Cont.

AEM Flow gauge came in!

Contacted AEM about the default fittings installed — they are for the nylon hose — be careful as these have blue loctite on them and can crack the plastic flow meter!

Also the LED issue — Matt at AEM said turn off self diag mode and test it...

That will be the next item!

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2018, 06:29 PM   #2247
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
nGauge

Got the nGauge from Dave @ DSX (DynoSteve dropped them -- issues?). So, I'm expecting those have been resolved by now and will utilize this gauge.

Lots of nice features so I'm 'hopeful' everything has finally been addressed...

Edit:

How to from HP Tuners:

Quote:
Here is the process:

1. Use the nGauge to read the stock file (this way, your customer always has a means of returning to stock, with or without you).
2. If the car is local, use VCM Suite for all R&D. Take a read of the stock file with VCM Suite, create your tunes and then go ahead and leave whichever tune in the vehicle you want. The nGauge does not care.
3. Take your final calibration (s), and open them in VCM Suite. From the .hpt file, go to File > Export > to e-motion. This will create .ENC files (think of it in the loose analogy of converting a word document to PDF). The nGauge needs .ENC tuned files. You simply drag and drop those onto the CUSTOM FILES folder on the nGauge (micro SD card), and your customer will be able to go between stock and tuned at will. We once tested how many custom files will fit in the folder and we stopped at 20. It's enough =o)
And:

Quote:
If the vehicle is already licensed to your interface, and it was not licensed with an unlimited license (in other words, actual credits were purchased), you are good to go.
In other words, if you consumed 2 credits and direct flashed a customers car 2 years ago and they come back in, you can simply re-export that file to the nGauge with no more credits consumed.
You can also create additional calibrations for them with no more credits consumed.

You can actually check this on any .HPT file. When looking at an HPT file, if you are able to choose File > Export > To-E-motion and save a .enc file, you are good to go.
That simply needs to be dropped into the custom files folder on the nGauge.

If you don't see that option, you are either dealing with a license issue or an unsupported vehicle.
For vehicles that have unlimited licenses, there is a build coming up that will allow you to purchase credits for nGauge tuning, This avoids the scenario where you would need a separate interface for applications for which you hold an unlimited license.
http://e-motionproducts.com/products/nGauge.html
http://e-motionproducts.com/updates/...uge_Manual.pdf
https://www.morepowertuning.com/ngauge-tech-support
https://www.morepowertuning.com/down...rmware-web.pdf


-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577

Last edited by hammdo; 09-06-2018 at 07:06 PM.
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 08:03 PM   #2248
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
LSA ProMeth Install Test Cont.

Prepping the Flow Gauge from AEM!

Once of the big things to keep in mind -- the unit is plastic and they used blue loctite!

You have to 'heat' the fittings in order to 'not' break the plastic, then SLOWLY remove the fittings -- doing a little at a time:





Note the residue:







Slow and steady, both are now off:



Now, I needed to add a 1/4 NPT to 1/8 NPT reducer so I could install the AN 4 fitting (make sure you note the flow direction!):



Test fit:



Now Teflon taped and ready to install on the check valve (the red fitting is towards the an hose and the flow is to the check valve):



This is where I need to 'install' the flow meter -- I'll need to remove the 1/4 NPT to AN 4 fitting and then, install the flow meter unit:



-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 10:08 PM   #2249
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 15,022
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
You got some damned fine quality pieces parts going on in here.... and you bought your crescent wrench at Circle K..... What in the Wide Wide World of Sports is Going on in here....

As for all that tuning (foreign language) stuff going on up there, thats all way over my head.... I'll stick to driving.....
Attached Images
 
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 10:53 PM   #2250
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
Lowes, ACE, Harbor Freight, O’Reillys, Auto Zone within 5 miles of the house — its an addiction being a former ASE certified tech ;o) - SnapOn is way too much now!

Summit is 30 minutes away feeding it even more!

Like a programmer (which I am now), it’s fun to learn all of this! I do like Math (not Meth - although, I do drive with it ;o).

It’s all fun!

Can’t wait to see you cracking records again!

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577

Last edited by hammdo; 09-07-2018 at 11:04 PM.
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 09:10 PM   #2251
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
LSA ProMeth Install Test Cont.

Continued on setting up the flow meter -- was able to find a good location for the fluid gauge Rodney included in the kit:







So now that I know this is a good location, I started on the flow meter -- started getting things ready -- slow and stead and then 'crack' -- yep the flow meter cracked while I was putting on the an fitting -- very little pressure use -- just happens sometimes.

The flow meter is removable and replaceable:



LUCKILY, I have a Summit REAL CLOSE so I was able to get one TODAY:



Not cheap but, they have them in stock so, what does that tell you (yes, they break!).

Here is how you assemble this (the harness is on its own and can be bought too -- note the harness gasket):







So since it took very little pressure to really snap one, I decided to create a bracket and use adel clamps to soak up vibrations.

Here is how I'm building up the flow meter:



I added green dots for the proper orientation:



Bracket and Adel Clamps:



I'm also going to keep this away from heat too.

I don't care how careful you are, sometimes its just gonna break...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577

Last edited by hammdo; 09-25-2018 at 09:32 PM.
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 11:22 PM   #2252
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
LSA ProMeth Install Test Cont.

Well, life got in the way but now that is over, I've started up again.

Doing the bracket:









Also the nGauge came in:











SD Card location:



Will try and get this wrapped up this weekend and test (if it ever stops raining -- damn, I feel like I'm in Seattle...)

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 11:46 PM   #2253
SSE 4 2SS
Boosted Moderator
 
SSE 4 2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Bone Stock LS3
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kyle Tx
Posts: 15,022
Send a message via AIM to SSE 4 2SS Send a message via Yahoo to SSE 4 2SS
Nice work on the flow meter install... is it just informational or is it tied into a safety system like a low octane table or reduced power setting. Call me curious...
__________________
If the car feels like it is on rails, you are probably driving too slow. -Ross Bentley

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall.
Torque is how far you take the wall with you.

“If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough.” Mario Andretti

If you can turn, you ain't going fast enough...
SSE 4 2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 12:27 AM   #2254
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 7,416
Info only — I have a very safe tune for meth — and it takes a while for 4 gallons to be used.
Road racing it’s for cooling only so it runs rich (.65 Lambda)...

Since I run E85 octane is there so I’m safe.

With the nGauge, I can swap tunes easier too.

FYI, I only adjusted the meth tune at WOT. Still need to test a bit but so far Meth tank is still near the top!

I have more math fun coming...

SAE CF for horsepower in HP Tuners ;o)

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.