Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JDP Motorsports
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2016, 11:39 AM   #1
Xndless
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Can't get my tires to break?

Yesterday I took my car out and it wasn't running as well as it usually does. I couldn't get my tires to break loose at all, and normally my tires can't stay planted.
They are pretty bald, but the road was extremely hot from the sun. Usually I can put it in 1st gear and floor it and the tires will spin, but all that was happening was my car was bogging down until it hit higher rpm.
A couple hours later my car felt a bit better, but it still wouldn't break the tires.

It's a 2013 2ss/rs
Xndless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 11:45 AM   #2
HOJO
 
HOJO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro SS/RS 1LE 1967 Camaro
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 521
Any chance you got some bad gas? If so your engine would be cutting timing, combo of low octane and and reduced timing = reduced power. Just a thought.
HOJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 11:48 AM   #3
Xndless
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Possibly. I only noticed it after my dad went and filled up my tank, and then I went to drive my car a few days later.

Is bad gas bad for it? Is it damaging the engine at all? or is it just going to make it run like crap until new gas in put in the tank?
Xndless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 12:06 PM   #4
keith.wilkinson.10
 
keith.wilkinson.10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IBM
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Moncks Corner SC
Posts: 204
If it's gas once you get all the bad gas out and get good gas in do the fuse pull, 5 and 20.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
keith.wilkinson.10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 12:17 PM   #5
SPCBA


 
Drives: pleather and Chiclets
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: a line somwhere
Posts: 4,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xndless View Post
Possibly. I only noticed it after my dad went and filled up my tank, and then I went to drive my car a few days later.

Is bad gas bad for it? Is it damaging the engine at all? or is it just going to make it run like crap until new gas in put in the tank?
Stock tune? Just run all shitty like. Don't let dad fill it up anymore
__________________
SPCBA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 12:29 PM   #6
Xndless
 
Drives: 2013 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPCBA View Post
Stock tune? Just run all shitty like. Don't let dad fill it up anymore
All stock. Glad my car isn't broken, thanks!
Xndless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 01:07 PM   #7
camarosspower


 
camarosspower's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Port Arthur, Tx
Posts: 2,306
He might've put 87 octane in it. You should add a octane booster drive it around a bit then do the fuse pull over night
camarosspower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 01:33 PM   #8
Gearheaded
 
Gearheaded's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 SS
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 371
I bet he put the wrong gas in it. Does he have the reciept for when he filled it up?
__________________
Toys:
2014 SS - TSP 235/239, CAI, LT's, 12.2 @ 115 ("SLOWLY" chipping away ET)
2000 Trans Am - Bolt-ons 13.0@110 (sold)
2009 YZF R1 - Race bike (road course)(totaled racing)
2008 YZF R6 - Race bike (road course)(still own)
Gearheaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2016, 02:02 PM   #9
mlee
--->
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2019 Crush ZLE
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 33,755
If he did put 87 in it you're fine and just running on the lower octane table. Run it all out and just fill up with 91 or 93 (depending on your location) Then pull the 5 and 20 fuse for a few hours and it will reset to the high octane table and you'll get some power back.

Otherwise... make sure you have all the nannies turned off. Traction control will cause the issue you are describing too.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.