Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Old 06-29-2020, 12:51 PM   #1
Deputy347k9

Drives: 2014 Ashen Gray Convertible
What "WAX" would you recommend?

Within the last month I purchased two sets of 2014-2015 SS wheels, both set were painted. I had my powder coater give them a "make over". The color of the powder is called "Black Sapphire Too". High gloss and once in the sun light you can see a trace of the sapphire sparkle. Love the color. Center caps are OEM gloss black caps.

This morning I applied a coat of wax, both front and rear. Got thinking as to what would be the best wax or coating to use on the beautiful wheels?

Teach me something new please!

Larry
Attached Images

Old 06-29-2020, 05:58 PM   #2
KillboyPowerhead

Drives: 2015 Z/22
I'm not a detailing pro but I like Silver Wax's sealant; it's a sealant rather than a wax (basically a more durable wax, lasts much longer), and then you can apply your typical synthetic or natural wax on top of it (and then spray wax on top of that if you're so inclined). The sealant seems to work quite well and I get water beading off the paint even after 6 months (no waxing of any kind during those following 6 months - works great!). FYI you can also use the sealant on your windshield - it's like RainX on roids!
Overkill/Self Tuned; Mace Camshafts; K&N Typhoon Cold Air Intake; Ported 80mm Throttle Body/Intake Manifolds/Manifold Spacer; Solo Performance High-Flow Cats, Cat-back Exhaust; Vitesse Motorsports Throttle Controller; Elite Engineering E2 Catch Can; BC Racing BR Coilovers; JPSS Delrin Radius Rod Bushing Inserts, Sway Bars; Pegasus Aluminum Rear Cradle Bushings, Camber/Caster Plates; Z/28 Toe Links, Trailing Arms, Upper Control Arm Bushings, Rear Shock Mounts
KillboyPowerhead is offline   Reply With Quote