Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-2021, 06:03 PM   #1
Valkyrie14
Valkyrie14
 
Valkyrie14's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevrolet Camaro SS
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Posts: 682
Raising allowable fuel pressure on HP Tuners

I installed a dual pump and 100# injectors last March. I had it tuned and the tune is good. I was looking at my parameters the other day and I saw that my max fuel pressure was set at 58. SoÖwhy?

Canít I take it up to 100 theoretically? And if so, can I just change that part of my tune without throwing everything else off?

I am not a tuner, I have had three tuners and spent about 1200 on them combined. I donít want to drop another 300-400 to make what seems like a minor adjustment.
__________________
2014 SS LS3/LSA Supercharger, AGP Dual Pump, ID 1050 injectors, Pegasus solid rear cradle bushings, LT Headers, Roto-Fab CAI, Elite E2 catch can, E85 corn fed, 160 Thermostat, Tick Clutch Master Cylinder, HP Tuners, JL Audio system.
Valkyrie14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 06:51 PM   #2
larry_g
 
larry_g's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1SS/1LE
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 636
58 is stock psi and seems to work well with most injectors. I think it just puts them in the sweet spot for injector duty cycles and pump output.

Even my system that doesn't use the FPCM to control pressure still has a a base setting of 60 psi. It then uses a 1:1 fuel pressure regulator to increase pressure as boost increases so that the pressure differential across the injectors remains constant. A change in pressure settings would require a new tune.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
__________________
Daily Driven, 756 WHP 633 WTQ, Whipple 2.9 @ 10lbs Boost, Flex Fuel Tune by Blevins Tuning, LSA SBE, 3.75 GripTec, ATI LS3 Damper, AFR 260cc Mongoose, ARP Studs, Yella Terra Ultralites, Johnson 2110R, BTR PDS Stage 3, Melling 10355, Improved Racing Baffle, ID1050X, DSX Triple Fuel Pump, RotoFab CAI, Stainless Works 1-7/8" LTH to 3" Speed Eng w/ X-pipe to NPP, Powermaster 9509 XS, Detroit Speed Motor Mounts, MGW, Monster LT1-S, ZL1 Calipers, DBA Rotors & Pads, Bilstein B6 Struts & Shocks, BMR 1.25" Drop Springs & Adj Rear Bar, Pegasus Solid Bushings, Z/28 Wheels, other misc parts.
larry_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 07:06 PM   #3
Valkyrie14
Valkyrie14
 
Valkyrie14's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevrolet Camaro SS
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by larry_g View Post
58 is stock psi and seems to work well with most injectors. I think it just puts them in the sweet spot for injector duty cycles and pump output.

Even my system that doesn't use the FPCM to control pressure still has a a base setting of 60 psi. It then uses a 1:1 fuel pressure regulator to increase pressure as boost increases so that the pressure differential across the injectors remains constant. A change in pressure settings would require a new tune.

Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
So the setting isnít actually limiting the fuel pump?
__________________
2014 SS LS3/LSA Supercharger, AGP Dual Pump, ID 1050 injectors, Pegasus solid rear cradle bushings, LT Headers, Roto-Fab CAI, Elite E2 catch can, E85 corn fed, 160 Thermostat, Tick Clutch Master Cylinder, HP Tuners, JL Audio system.
Valkyrie14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 07:28 PM   #4
larry_g
 
larry_g's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1SS/1LE
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie14 View Post
So the setting isnít actually limiting the fuel pump?
It depends on how your system is set up, on mine that setting has no impact. I only use the FPCM to monitor fuel pressure for logging and the safeties that will kill power to the pumps in case of an accident.



Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
__________________
Daily Driven, 756 WHP 633 WTQ, Whipple 2.9 @ 10lbs Boost, Flex Fuel Tune by Blevins Tuning, LSA SBE, 3.75 GripTec, ATI LS3 Damper, AFR 260cc Mongoose, ARP Studs, Yella Terra Ultralites, Johnson 2110R, BTR PDS Stage 3, Melling 10355, Improved Racing Baffle, ID1050X, DSX Triple Fuel Pump, RotoFab CAI, Stainless Works 1-7/8" LTH to 3" Speed Eng w/ X-pipe to NPP, Powermaster 9509 XS, Detroit Speed Motor Mounts, MGW, Monster LT1-S, ZL1 Calipers, DBA Rotors & Pads, Bilstein B6 Struts & Shocks, BMR 1.25" Drop Springs & Adj Rear Bar, Pegasus Solid Bushings, Z/28 Wheels, other misc parts.
larry_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 07:38 PM   #5
Valkyrie14
Valkyrie14
 
Valkyrie14's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevrolet Camaro SS
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by larry_g View Post
It depends on how your system is set up, on mine that setting has no impact. I only use the FPCM to monitor fuel pressure for logging and the safeties that will kill power to the pumps in case of an accident.



Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
I moved my FP sensor to the FP regulator and ran wires back to the original location of the FP sensor. So I believe the FPCM is still engaged. I just want to make sure I am getting most out of my system.
__________________
2014 SS LS3/LSA Supercharger, AGP Dual Pump, ID 1050 injectors, Pegasus solid rear cradle bushings, LT Headers, Roto-Fab CAI, Elite E2 catch can, E85 corn fed, 160 Thermostat, Tick Clutch Master Cylinder, HP Tuners, JL Audio system.
Valkyrie14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 07:49 PM   #6
larry_g
 
larry_g's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 1SS/1LE
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie14 View Post
I moved my FP sensor to the FP regulator and ran wires back to the original location of the FP sensor. So I believe the FPCM is still engaged. I just want to make sure I am getting most out of my system.
Unless you are running out of fuel or maxing out injector duty cycle, there really isn't an advantage to increasing pressure.

For example, before I upgraded my fuel system, my tuner had to increase the injector duty cycle to compensate for running out of pump. Fortunately I had big enough injectors to handle it but it was a bandaid fix at best. That's why I upgraded. I now have a fuel system that can handle more than twice my current power level.


Sent from my Pixel 5 using Tapatalk
__________________
Daily Driven, 756 WHP 633 WTQ, Whipple 2.9 @ 10lbs Boost, Flex Fuel Tune by Blevins Tuning, LSA SBE, 3.75 GripTec, ATI LS3 Damper, AFR 260cc Mongoose, ARP Studs, Yella Terra Ultralites, Johnson 2110R, BTR PDS Stage 3, Melling 10355, Improved Racing Baffle, ID1050X, DSX Triple Fuel Pump, RotoFab CAI, Stainless Works 1-7/8" LTH to 3" Speed Eng w/ X-pipe to NPP, Powermaster 9509 XS, Detroit Speed Motor Mounts, MGW, Monster LT1-S, ZL1 Calipers, DBA Rotors & Pads, Bilstein B6 Struts & Shocks, BMR 1.25" Drop Springs & Adj Rear Bar, Pegasus Solid Bushings, Z/28 Wheels, other misc parts.
larry_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 08:39 PM   #7
G8One2
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 493
The fuel pump itself has an internal regulator that won't let it go past 58 psi. You'd need a ZL1 pump or better to run higher pressures. I currently have a ZL1 pump installed and running 60 psi at the rail. I could run up to 65 psi if I wanted.
G8One2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 09:28 PM   #8
Valkyrie14
Valkyrie14
 
Valkyrie14's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevrolet Camaro SS
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by G8One2 View Post
The fuel pump itself has an internal regulator that won't let it go past 58 psi. You'd need a ZL1 pump or better to run higher pressures. I currently have a ZL1 pump installed and running 60 psi at the rail. I could run up to 65 psi if I wanted.
I have a AGP dual pump.
__________________
2014 SS LS3/LSA Supercharger, AGP Dual Pump, ID 1050 injectors, Pegasus solid rear cradle bushings, LT Headers, Roto-Fab CAI, Elite E2 catch can, E85 corn fed, 160 Thermostat, Tick Clutch Master Cylinder, HP Tuners, JL Audio system.
Valkyrie14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 10:08 PM   #9
G8One2
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 493
You may need to copy over the ZL1 parameters in the FPCM. Then make changes to desired pressure, low flow, high flow and default pressures under the fuel tab.
G8One2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 10:19 PM   #10
Valkyrie14
Valkyrie14
 
Valkyrie14's Avatar
 
Drives: Chevrolet Camaro SS
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by G8One2 View Post
You may need to copy over the ZL1 parameters in the FPCM. Then make changes to desired pressure, low flow, high flow and default pressures under the fuel tab.
Thanks, I will check that out.
__________________
2014 SS LS3/LSA Supercharger, AGP Dual Pump, ID 1050 injectors, Pegasus solid rear cradle bushings, LT Headers, Roto-Fab CAI, Elite E2 catch can, E85 corn fed, 160 Thermostat, Tick Clutch Master Cylinder, HP Tuners, JL Audio system.
Valkyrie14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2021, 10:22 AM   #11
gtstorey

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2,L99, LSA SC
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 1,038
The pump curve won't necessarily let you change it to any psi. A major change like 100 psi probably wouldn't be possible and at least would put the pump way off it's best efficiency point.

This is for pumps in general, so more of a warning to be careful. I haven't seen the pump curves for any of the fuel pumps available.
gtstorey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2021, 09:57 AM   #12
eLeSthree

 
Drives: 2011 Camaro SS 6sp
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Drivers Seat
Posts: 1,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie14 View Post
I have a AGP dual pump.
The FSCM (fpcm) isn't controlling fuel pressure if you have a mechanical fuel pressure regulator.
__________________
TMS Dart 427 FED M311s, ESS Tuning G4 Blower, DSX Tuning Triples and FF, FIC1300, Mcleod RXT 1200HD, 1030whp 925wtq.
eLeSthree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2021, 05:15 PM   #13
prod
 
prod's Avatar
 
Drives: HHR
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: GTA ON CA
Posts: 448
Why are you wanting higher pressure? I would be looking at correct fuel volume, which is what tuners determine using AF ratio. Not enough volume makes it go lean assuming the injector duty cycle is reasonable.
prod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2021, 09:07 AM   #14
G8One2
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 493
Higher pressures make your injectors flow more, if your fuel pump can keep up. I've got mine running 60psi at the rail. My injectors are 65lb/hr at 38psi and 80lb/hr at 60psi. No, I dont really need that much flow, but I needed more flow for E85 and I want to eventually do more mods. Wanted to make sure I never max out my duty cycle on the injectors.
G8One2 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.