Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion

Old 03-20-2013, 05:30 PM   #1
Rapid Runner

Drives: 2012 Audi TT-RS
Cold gas saves you money?

Is there any truth to this...

I know bout the whole.. "if you see a tanker at the pump run!" thing.. bout pumping gas as its cold and pumping it slow???
Attached Images

Rapid Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 05:46 PM   #2
G-Oil Guy
Where am I?

Drives: Zoe the ZL1, 2012 Frontier
Ok..I work in the oil industry and refined and produced finished diesel.

On the whole, his facts about the temperature effects on liquids with low boiling temperatures is correct.

that being said, the temperature in the ground will not affect the level of vaporization of the gas while pumping. Same thing with the amount of gas inside your fuel tank upon filling. They don't differ that much and are most likely insulated.

Additionally, this stuff he states about pumps is why the fuel pumps are required to be certified every year (differs on state?) by the department of weights and measures. Also, he doesn't state (and I'm not quite sure) if the pumps are positive displacement pumps. If they are positive displacement, they dispense a fixed and an exact amount every time they move.

His claim about when the tanks are being filled probably does have some merit. But I'm betting those tanks have internal baffles or an area (often called a boot) to catch any water or solids that may enter the tank while being filled. Still, it can't hurt to let the tanks settle for about an hour filling to be safe.
Old 03-20-2013, 05:49 PM   #3
BloodRain
Account Suspended

Drives: 1LE
All fuels are volume corrected to 15c up here.
BloodRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 05:51 PM   #4
Rapid Runner

Drives: 2012 Audi TT-RS
Quote: