Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Old 04-12-2009, 11:24 AM   #1
Gone

Drives: Fast
Camaro SS Questions. 500-600hp possible on stock internals?

Hi guys I am thinking about a Camaro SS but have some questions on this car coming out. I am new to this forum and I figure from reading some of these threads you guys know this car inside and out would be less time consuming than trying to use the search as I am new to this car so any help would be appreciated.

6.2 Motor SS/RS 2SS

Is the RA forged?
What is the exact CR?
What RPM redline is this motor safely capable of in your opinion?
Anyone know the real stock RWHP/RWTQ numbers on this car yet?
On the manual & clutch how good is this trans, how much rwhp do you think it can handle (FI) and happen to know what the 1st gear ratio is?
On the rear end whats your opinion on the quality of it stock and again how much rwhp do you think it can handle in stock form with a girdle?

The reason for the questions if I were to get a Camaro which I am considering I would be looking to sc it (poss Techco sc) and not looking to make crazy high rwhp but would want to make aleast around 550-600rwhp if possible on stock internals and drive train if possible.

TIA
Gone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 11:31 AM   #2
vladkgb

Drives: 2000 Camaro SS Pewter
2008 "LS3" 6.2L V8 (LS3) Car 41007
Type: 6.2L Gen IV V8 Small Block
Displacement: 6162cc (376.0 ci)
Compression ratio: 10.7:1
Valve configuration: overhead valves (2 valves per cylinder)
Assembly site: St. Catharines, Ontario
Valve lifters: hydraulic roller
Firing order: 1 - 8 - 7 - 2 - 6 - 5 - 4 - 3
Bore x stroke: 103.25 x 92mm
Fuel system: sequential fuel injection
Fuel type: premium fuel recommended
Engine Orientation Longitudinal