Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Roto-Fab
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Other Generations > 4th Generation Camaros

Old 04-23-2017, 09:23 PM   #1
rcandiloro

Drives: 2018 ZLE
4th Gen Project - No experience, just diving in!

Hello folks........so I'm a total rookie when it comes to restoring a car. However, I've decided I want to just dive in and do it. I'm looking at purchasing a 1997 Camaro 30th anniversary edition car from my father in law (totally driveable but needs a LOT of work). I haven't actually bought the car from him yet. I thought I might throw it out there to you forum members, especially those that have restored cars to give me an idea of what lessons learned/known issues there are with the 97's? Just a couple of things to throw out there......first off "project" might not be the most accurate statement. I would like to get the car to as close to original condition as I can. Not interested in pumping up the motor. For the most part I'll be paying people to do the work on the car, especially the engine. He's a smoker so I already know I'll be putting in new upholstery front and back. Probably new floor mats/carpet too. The engine runs, but takes about 30 seconds to start and he hasn't done a great job keeping up with the maintenance. I think it has about 127k miles on it or so. My first big question is having the engine "restored" vs just buying a new motor and having it put in? I was planning to take the car to my local Chevy dealer and having them do a full used car inspection that they do to their own vehicles before putting it on the lot. The body is in good shape.....I was going to have it repainted and have new wheels put on it. While $ isn't necessarily an issue, I don't want to go crazy. My son is 13 so this was kind of going to be a car we'd work on together so he could drive it when he's 16. So my next question is what things I'd be able to do myself