Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Emblempros
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Forced Induction - V8


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2015, 09:30 AM   #29
12TX2SS
 
12TX2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 2SS
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 110
I bought the magnuson camaro heat exch Don. Pump, wiring, h/e lines and intake are all i have left. But yes, i will probably mount it in the spot u are talking about. Is that where urs is? Ill be in Ft. Worth easter wknd at my folks. Id love to see ur car!
__________________
2012 2SS AGM, Roto Fab,Stainless power headers, Corsa ZL1 exhaust, LS3 conversion, Cam Motion 224/232 615/604 114+4, Wheatley Tuned, custom gloss black CCW Drag Pack
12TX2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 09:41 AM   #30
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,586
Pm me and I'll send you my number...

I have mine by the air intake since that area was occupied by my brake ducting. If you don't have that, or don't plan to have that, then on the cradle near the left front is a great place...


-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577

Last edited by hammdo; 03-23-2015 at 12:22 PM.
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:01 PM   #31
2010_camaro

 
2010_camaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florence, KY
Posts: 2,238
Should you use the IAT that's in the MAF or rewire it and use the one in the lid of the supercharger? I've asked ADM but didn't get a reply.
__________________
MODS 6.0 forged iron block, TH400, B&M shifter, DSS axles & driveshaft, Viking / BMR suspension, Full custom fuel system with cell, Twin 76mm teriyaki tornados on 24lbs.



https://www.instagram.com/whoopa_ss/
2010_camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:07 PM   #32
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,586
MAF, if you use the iat2, you would need to rewire it, and it would chage how the ecm sees your temps, thus changing timing and fuel flow.

ADM is at the Texas Mile so that may be why...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:12 PM   #33
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,586
BTW, I bought the ADM intake as it moves the MAF inside so it's not affected by engine bay heat.

Also, if you do use IAT2, I'd make it changeable so it can be tuned accordingly. I'd say using a bigger heat exchangers would be more helpful. ADM has been doing these awhile, and I'd trust what the recommend, I'm pretty sure they tried it...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:19 PM   #34
DiGiam
 
DiGiam's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 NFG SS A8
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Valdosta
Posts: 405
I'm really leaning towards this kit. How does the ecm see iat2 temps so it can back out timing when the blower gets heat soaked. If it only sees maf temps, it won't know when the iat2's are high causing dentonation? I only ask because I had an 01 cobra with the 03 cobra blower on it and we set it up to read iat2's so it would pull timing when soaked
DiGiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:20 PM   #35
ttshovel

 
ttshovel's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 camaro ss, 72 chevelle, 91camaro
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: findlay,oh
Posts: 1,958
I rewired mine to the blower lid! Do it!!!
__________________
12 camaro ss- 416LSX,TH400, 98mm GT55 turbo, M1 Fuel, cable drive fuel system, 17 injectors, holley dominator, 8.10 cert, backhalf, Ford 9", 33x17x16 tires, 1620rwhp
ttshovel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:24 PM   #36
DiGiam
 
DiGiam's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 NFG SS A8
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Valdosta
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttshovel View Post
I rewired mine to the blower lid! Do it!!!
That's what I was thinking. Wouldnt want to be running full timing with 150-160 degree iat2's
DiGiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:42 PM   #37
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiGiam View Post
I'm really leaning towards this kit. How does the ecm see iat2 temps so it can back out timing when the blower gets heat soaked. If it only sees maf temps, it won't know when the iat2's are high causing dentonation? I only ask because I had an 01 cobra with the 03 cobra blower on it and we set it up to read iat2's so it would pull timing when soaked
The ecm in a non ZL1 does not read the IAT2 temps. Thus, some may choose the IAT2 location vs the MAF IAT temps. I stuck with the MAF location as that was the recommendation of ADM... I figured they've done quite a few so I didn't want to change it...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:44 PM   #38
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,586
The MAF has 2 wires - I belive they are blue and tan. Those ref the temp. I know the Maggie does require you to cut those and rewire to their IAT sensor...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 09:48 PM   #39
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,586
I will say, the intercooler does a fantastic job of keeping the temps down. Heat soak after shutdown does heat up the SC and lid. However, once you start driving and the pump circulates the coolant, temps do go down again...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 10:09 PM   #40
DiGiam
 
DiGiam's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 NFG SS A8
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Valdosta
Posts: 405
I know the world is filled with what ifs but what happens when that coolant pump fails/quits. You will have sky high iat2's and no way of backing down timing. I'd hate to rely on my knock sensors to save my engine. I'm not knocking it. just trying to understand. You live in a hot climate like I do and I know 100 degree days and positive displacement blowers don't play well. I wouldn't think it would be that hard to tune it using iat2's. I come from a long line of fords so I might be wrong
__________________
2016 NFG 1SS A8. Pray ported intake manifold, Rotofab dry cai, kooks 2" catted longtubes, E85,
DiGiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 10:16 PM   #41
DiGiam
 
DiGiam's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 NFG SS A8
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Valdosta
Posts: 405
I keep saying iat2's but I'm meaning post intercooler temps in the lid.
__________________
2016 NFG 1SS A8. Pray ported intake manifold, Rotofab dry cai, kooks 2" catted longtubes, E85,
DiGiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 10:18 PM   #42
hammdo
'It's an experiment'
 
hammdo's Avatar
 
Drives: [COTW 2/09/15] '11 GPI LSA SC Z/LE
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 8,586
I'll let ADM speak to that, but, they've been doing these conversions for several years, including for those of us in Texas. I'm certain Andy knows. But, you can tune for the IAT2 temps...

-Don
__________________
747 RWHP 794 RWTQ
"Horsepower sells cars, torque wins races." - Enzo Ferrari
See My Build: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=385577
hammdo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.